Skyscanner Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Skyscanner Reviews

Updated 12 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
70%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Skyscanner CEO Bryan Dove  (no image)
Bryan Dove
47 Ratings
Pros
  • "Agile, work-life balance, growth opportunities(in 29 reviews)

  • "There are many inspiring and great leaderships to learn from, flexible working environment as they put trust in each people to be productive(in 19 reviews)

Cons
  • "Some squads don't even need to exist at this point(in 11 reviews)

  • "No way for career progression even if you are doing your job well, as knowing the right people is the only way forward(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great culture, modern practices"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Skyscanner full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There is transparency, flexibility and mutual respect amongst the people I meet. The office is great, and issues with work blockers or IT are both addressed really promptly.

    Cons

    There is quite a bit of ambiguity in terms of what is required to get advancement, but that is I suppose both a good and a bad thing.

    Skyscanner2015-12-02
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Not a good company if you want to progress in your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Skyscanner full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible hour, work from home, work from home country and different company offices, relatively low levels of stress

    Cons

    Career progression is impossible unless you're not Brit working at the HQ or with many friends in the organization. Unfortunately, many managers have no people management skills at all.

    Advice to Management

    Hire real managers with people management skills, not just engineering

    Skyscanner2019-10-12
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great company, good people."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineering Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Skyscanner full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    * Friendly, intelligent colleagues who really work together to get things done. * Lots of change, always a new challenge to to work on. * Good work-life balance and flexible working hours. Skyscanner respects employees.

    Cons

    * The rate of change can be quick, which may not suit everyone.

    Skyscanner2019-09-26
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Best place I've ever worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Skyscanner full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Company is transparent with us on strategy and revenue - Work/life balance is second-to-none, remote working/working from abroad and flexible hours are the best I've experienced anywhere - Even though we're getting big, it's still relatively flat and easy to make an impact

    Cons

    - Tribe structure setup isn't great, especially for mobile engineers who are concentrated mostly in a single tribe but with others spread around the busines - We're getting better at delivering quickly but progress can feel slow at times

    Advice to Management

    - Set mobile engineers up for success with a cross-tribe chapter rather than a half-hearted single tribe

    Skyscanner2019-09-25
  5. "Good place for grads"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Skyscanner full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good onboarding process - easy to get integrated into team

    Cons

    Going for lunch and all cafes & shops are full of students

    Skyscanner2019-09-26
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Travel meets strong engineering"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering Manager in Budapest
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Skyscanner full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Ability to change: Leadership reacts seriously to employee feedback and drives change. I've seen broken processes dropped, bad decisions reversed, salary bands fixed. Strong and approachable technical leadership: Experts are within a chat message away no matter if it's Android, Kafka, Kubernetes, you name it. Same for leadership and management. Also you can use their network. Working on a successful... large-scale B2C travel service: Personally I love (sustainable) travel and the industry keeps amazing me. Lightweight processes, minimal waste of time: Auto-approvals for travel, teams decide their own processes, easy budgeting, rotations across teams and sites.

    Show More

    Cons

    Slow recruitment process on some sites. Lack of accountability. I'm not missing punishment but making sure that when something goes wrong we take responsibility and fix it. A weak, not lovable brand as of now (2019). Not too much open source work, lack of visibility on conferences, blogs.

    Advice to Management

    Empower people on all levels to take risks. It's a stable business that can afford radical changes.

    Skyscanner2019-09-13
  7. "Great Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Skyscanner full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great learning culture, autonomy and help from Senior leadership team.

    Cons

    Can be more transparent on future plans

    Skyscanner2019-09-09
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Remains staggeringly ambitious"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commercial in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Skyscanner full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I've worked in Skyscanner for several years and it amazes me how ambitious the company is. Very little complacency, big ideas and a culture second to none. I've never worked somewhere where the culture is so profoundly important.

    Cons

    Big ideas brings big complexity, which causes stresses and strains

    Skyscanner2019-09-04
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Really enjoying work at Skyscanner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Engineering Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Skyscanner full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Has given me a number of opportunities to continue learn & grow alongside similarly motivated and enthusiastic colleagues. I feel my managers have listened to my feedback over my first 12 months and that is appreciated.

    Cons

    Continued growth brings organisational and technical debt and things that worked yesterday may not work today. Not really a con - just flagging that there is a degree of ongoing change.

    Advice to Management

    Keep listening, keep supporting / encouraging and keep developing opportunities to learn and grow. Thanks.

    Skyscanner2019-08-23
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Enterprise thinking is causing engineering rot"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Skyscanner full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    1. Great work life balance 2. Striving hard for diversity

    Cons

    1. No clear way to grow 2. Too much enterprise thinking 3. Too much change ( every 6 month ) when it comes to Goals 4. Some squads don't even need to exist at this point

    Skyscanner2019-09-27
Found 197 reviews