Slack Reviews

Updated Aug 1, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 601 of over 651 reviews

4.7
94%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Slack Chief Executive Officer Stewart Butterfield
Stewart Butterfield
511 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work life balance is not just talked about but demonstrated here(in 84 reviews)

  • "Great culture - there has not been a single day where I wished I was working elsewhere(in 29 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Working through the growing pains of a startup(in 37 reviews)

  • "This level of scaling in a distributed work environment might not be for everyone(in 14 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year
      Featured Review

      A group of brilliant, warm and empathetic humans 🚀

      Oct 19, 2020 - Manager – Technical Architect in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Culture encourages people to naturally be themselves, it stopped being classified as work for me a long time ago and more of a place my brain goes to think about people collaborate. Work life balance is not just talked about but demonstrated here. Work hard and go home was painted on the wall of my office and it's respected and adhered to. I had a life event and my manager simply said, "go and do what you need to do, your family comes first".

      Cons

      It is a big responsibility to handle the collaboration of the size of customers we have, it is not necessary a negative but something to remember from time to time.

      Continue reading
      12 people found this review helpful

      Slack Response

      Slack

      Thanks for your review! It’s great to hear that you feel work/life balance is a priority at Slack. The health and well-being of our employees is very important to us and we’re glad to hear that you feel supported. We hear you on the responsibility front and we’re thankful to you for taking it on! -Slack

    2. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great benefits, and great team.

      Jul 28, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great and transparent leadership. Excellent benefits. Competitive salary.

      Cons

      As Slack has grown, transparency has decreased, which is a shame IMO.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Love the company

      Jun 16, 2021 - Head of Sales in Sydney
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      People and product are world class

      Cons

      Growing very fast, hard to keep up

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Slack Response

      Thanks for this review :) We are thrilled that you love working at Slack!

    4. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great place to work

      May 6, 2021 - Customer Support 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Having worked here for a number of years I immensely value our internal culture that improves my quality of life and values work/life balance.

      Cons

      Not many to think of.

      2 people found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Best company I have ever worked for

      Apr 18, 2021 - Account Executive in Melbourne
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Great leadership - Work life balance - Investment into employees

      Cons

      - Really is no cons working here

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Slack Response

      Wow! We are thrilled that Slack is the best company you have ever worked for and can't thank you enough for your positive feedback. It makes our day! -Slack

    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Inside matches the outside

      Sep 15, 2020 - Senior Software Engineer in Melbourne
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      * What they say on the outside, they do on the inside * Actual empathy and caring for employees * Fast growing company * Care about their product and its effects on people, not just $$$ * Lots of good quality folks to work with * Always looking to improve employee experience - be place to do your best work

      Cons

      * Still a very San Francisco based company in operation (but improving) * Close to, but not yet profitable at time of writing * A bit senior+ level heavy. Need to encourage and develop & support more below senior roles.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great company

      Sep 11, 2020 - Regional Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Super smart and the kindest of humans to work alongside make my working life so pleasant. Slack works the way you would expect a company to work in 2020, fast, productive, value driven, passionate and undeniable belief in the product.

      Cons

      Slack is growing super fast and work output is high. This level of scaling in a distributed work environment might not be for everyone.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Feel belonged working at Slack

      Aug 25, 2020 - Customer Success 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Missions , Values are very promising Great brand, good leaders and talented individuals who are genuinely making a difference to our customers Great benefits and a Supportive culture

      Cons

      None so far! Been a good experience.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Slack treats its employees like family.

      Jun 24, 2020 - Customer Experience Agent in Melbourne
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Incredible talent, hard-working and passionate people. Full transparency at every level, incredible communication skills between employees and management. Excellent perks, flexible working hours. Slack treats its employees like family.

      Cons

      I don't want to ever leave.

      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Professional

      Jun 2, 2020 - Customer Experience in Melbourne
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They invest in their employees

      Cons

      None that come to mind

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 601 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Slack Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Slack? Share Your Experiences

    Slack logo
    or