Sofina Foods Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Sofina Foods Reviews

Updated 10 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 33 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
60%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Sofina Foods CEO Michael Latifi
Michael Latifi
14 Ratings
  1. "Good Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sofina Foods full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Worked at Sofina for a couple of years. Pay, benefits were good.

    Cons

    too many meetings and uptight culture wasn't for me.

    Sofina Foods2019-07-10
  2. "High Paying Sweat Shop"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in Markham, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sofina Foods full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pays higher than industry average, decent benefits

    Cons

    treats workers like sweatshop employees for example no nternet access to ALL employees unless director level or above. If this is a way for them to make sure people don't surf the net and are at work every minute of every day do not know its 2019 and and 99% of people can waste time by being on their phone????

    Advice to Management

    stop treating your staff like factory laborers who don't have any option but to work for you

    Sofina Foods2019-04-02
  3. "Quality assurance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Sofina Foods

    Pros

    Coworkers are nice and helpful

    Cons

    Hours are long and pay sucks

    Sofina Foods2019-02-20
  4. "Sofina"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sofina Foods full-time

    Pros

    Convenient Easy Good pay Good people

    Cons

    Mandated overtime Extremely long hours

    Sofina Foods2019-02-10
  5. "Warehouse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Sofina Foods full-time

    Pros

    Easy work not overly pushy on getting thing done

    Cons

    All about the profit dont care about the workers

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your team

    Sofina Foods2019-01-22
  6. "Butcher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sofina Foods full-time

    Pros

    Lots of hours. Very fast paced environment. A place ti gain valuable work experience.

    Cons

    The union needs to be disbanded, it's not needed there.

    Sofina Foods2018-11-17
  7. "Read this before you work for Sofina."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sofina Foods full-time

    Pros

    People are helpful and friendly.

    Cons

    One of the higher ups didn't gave a chance for me to improve what I lack.

    Advice to Management

    Shuffle your people and remove those who are working for long years especially on management. You needed new people who know how to treat people well and gives chances, not looking on how incapable the employee is on some areas.

    Sofina Foods2018-11-17
  8. "Good company with amazing people!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Contract in Burlington, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sofina Foods for less than a year

    Pros

    Sofina is made of great, hardworking, and friendly people. Everyone works hard and help each other to build a good culture and amazing company. Delicious coffee (Lavazza, one of our brands). The hours and flexibility. Growth opportunity.

    Cons

    The odour inside the plant is not the best, but the people are so amazing it becomes easier.

    Sofina Foods2018-10-04
  9. "Great challenge / experience in a start-up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Manager in Perth, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sofina Foods full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Canadian owned; privately owned; supportive environment; team environment; good benefit/pension plans;

    Cons

    Old type vacation; policies that don't work the same for every plant;

    Advice to Management

    More flexible with policy development at each location; review vacation allowance & bring up to speed;

    Sofina Foods2018-09-28
  10. "Labourer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sofina Foods full-time

    Pros

    Good wages and benefits. They have a union which is very helpful.

    Cons

    Can be long hours. a fast pace environment.

    Sofina Foods2018-06-16
Found 33 reviews