Softcat Reviews

Updated 4 Aug 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
83%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Softcat CEO Graeme Watt
Graeme Watt
84 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Highly competitive role so long hours are required(in 17 reviews)

  • "Low basic salary (accompanied by high un capped commission(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Admin should be treated better"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Support 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Softcat full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There are a lot of perks with working at Softcat, even being in admin, such as admin day, 4pm beers, nights out and team lunches but a lot of it is aimed around drinking and a lot of the bigger company incentives are aimed at sales or the more popular admin people.

    Cons

    After over 3 years of working in admin for Softcat I wasn’t awarded the end of year bonus when I left, even though I worked the full financial year and up to the last week of the first quarter of the next financial year, which was unbelievably disappointing when there was no decent enough reason for this in my eyes. I took this up with the CEO of the company and was just told that I wouldn’t be rewarded this as they would then have to give it to every other admin person who had left since the end of financial year, not the most inspiring chat. This unfortunately left me with a bad impression after 3 years of working with Softcat and many happy, fun memories there. I believe admin, across all areas, should have a higher base salary as I was only rewarded a £1,000 base salary increase after 3 promotions within the company in the same department. If I was in sales and was promoted even once, I would imagine the base salary increase is much more than £1,000.

    Continue reading

    Softcat Response

    June 27, 2018Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for your review, we appreciate your time writing to us. Sales Support are valued members of our business and we’re sorry that you didn’t feel that way when you were here. We have always had a policy of paying the annual bonus to people who have both worked the financial year and are still employees at the pay date, this is common practise. We are always working hard to continuously improve as an orgainsation and take your feedback on board. Thanks Rachel Cowell - Recruitment Manager

  2. "The best company I have worked for."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Marlow, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softcat full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Care for their Employees. Work Hard Play Hard. Praise and reward employees when earned. Great attitude to diversity and bettering the company.

    Cons

    The sales role can consume your life


  3. "Account Management Review"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softcat full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Lots of Fun - Great People to work with - Confidence builder - Learn to back yourself

    Cons

    - Poor base - All about money

    Continue reading
  4. "Great company to build a career at"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Director in Marlow, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softcat full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I've worked at Softcat for over 10 years and have loved every minute of it. Management are engaged and keen to improve wherever they can and open to constructive criticism. Lots of opportunities to progress within management as well, and incredible earning potential in Sales.

    Cons

    Sales is always a tough job and a lot is asked of you, however this is made clear from the start.

    Softcat Response

    July 1, 2020Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for leaving a review for us, and we thank you for the contribution you've made over the last 10 years, that's great to see you've enjoyed it so much. Thanks Rachel Cowell

  5. "Has it's benefits"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Analyst in Marlow, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softcat full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Good Culture - Lots of parties to show the company cares - Lots of benefits - Lots of events for different matters (LGBTQ, BLM, British Army etc.)

    Cons

    - Salary is low across the board in services division, extremely hard to try and get a raise. - Too much work for small teams with team members knowing more about the products than managers - Teams hire people who aren't fit for the job.

    Continue reading

    Softcat Response

    July 1, 2020Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for sharing your review with us and that you are enjoying our culture and the networking groups we have formed to support our employees. On the point of the interview process, we are actually in the middle of reviewing how we interview, ensuring the practices are up to date and relevant for the skills we're assessing. There does seem to be some concerns you've raised however around salary and workload so I would suggest reaching out to your line manager to have that conversation and raise any issues. I am also happy to speak if you'd like to reach out to us and talk in more detail, my email is rachelco@softcat.com Thanks Rachel Cowell

  6. "Everything I wanted"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Director in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Softcat full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    * Exposure to front line sales and accountability from day 1. * Evidence of commitment to development throughout the business with a number of directors and managers having progressed having joined through the graduate program * Fantastic culture and having fun is actively encouraged * flexible working * fantastic earnings

    Cons

    * can feel like the nature of the business is restrictive at times. Some people struggle with accounts etc. but the brightest talent always finds a way * for the size of the company it can feel like they're winging it at times. I personally find this quite genuine and it creates an openness towards improvement throughout the business

    Continue reading

    Softcat Response

    June 15, 2020Recruitment Manager

    Thanks for sharing your views, we really appreciate it and so great to hear that you have been with us for a long time and continue to be successful. We're always looking at ways to be more agile as we grow and will take on board the feedback you've provided. Thanks Rachel Cowell

  7. "Great place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Marlow, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softcat full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Rewarding, challenging, valued as an employee, self controlled

    Cons

    Low basic salary, and systems are out dated

    Softcat Response

    June 25, 2020Recruitment Manager

    Thanks for your review, we really appreciate it. Softcat are focused on ensuring our employees have the right tools to do their job, and are currently spearheading a technology transformation project on some of our core IT systems, so we hope to be in a great place with these over the near future Thanks Rachel Cowell

  8. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Network and Security Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Softcat full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great atmosphere and team spirit

    Cons

    You need to put the effort in

    Softcat Response

    June 1, 2020Recruitment Manager

    Thanks for sharing your review, really great to see! Hope you continue to enjoy your time with us :) Thanks Rachel Cowell

  9. "Good uni stepping stone, but very little long term career prospects"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Bristol, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softcat full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Casual atmosphere, generally good perks the C level management i think really want to push the company in the right direction particularly after Graeme Watt coming in.

    Cons

    All the sales are based on how much profit you can add on to software so lots of the account managers fizz out after a 2-3 years when they get caught having to up their margins to meet their targets by customers who take their business elsewhere.

    Softcat Response

    June 8, 2020Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for sharing your review with us, we really appreciate the time taken in providing this. We are disappointed that you have referenced not recommending us as an employer, and appreciate there are always things a company can do to improve so we'd really welcome your feedback. Do get in touch with me directly on rachelco@softcat.com if you'd like to discuss this further, and see if we can address any of these concerns Thanks Rachel Cowell

  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Internal Recruiter in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softcat full-time

    Pros

    The people The general office vibe The freedom and confidence given to you by Managers/Team Leader Feel good factor as the company continues to strive and progress

    Cons

    The Manchester office is a little outside the centre, but they do shuttle buses from the train station anyway.

    Softcat Response

    June 1, 2020Recruitment Manager

    Thanks so much for sharing your experience with us and that you're enjoying working for Softcat. Thanks Rachel Cowell

Found 233 reviews