Softcat Employee Reviews about "basic salary"

Updated 24 Jun 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
83%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Softcat CEO Graeme Watt
Graeme Watt
84 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Highly competitive role so long hours are required(in 17 reviews)

  • "Low basic salary (accompanied by high un capped commission(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "basic salary"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Marlow, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softcat full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Rewarding, challenging, valued as an employee, self controlled

    Cons

    Low basic salary, and systems are out dated

    Softcat Response

    June 25, 2020Recruitment Manager

    Thanks for your review, we really appreciate it. Softcat are focused on ensuring our employees have the right tools to do their job, and are currently spearheading a technology transformation project on some of our core IT systems, so we hope to be in a great place with these over the near future Thanks Rachel Cowell

  2. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softcat full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great commission structure very good

    Cons

    Basic salary not great but commission good

    Continue reading

    Softcat Response

    July 12, 2019Recruitment Manager

    Thanks for your review, we're glad you're enjoying it here! We're really proud of having one of the most competitive commission schemes in the industry as we think it's important to reward the hard work our sales teams put in! Thanks Rachel Cowell Recruitment Manager


  3. "Great Culture, Great Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Specialist in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softcat full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Values employees welfare, happiness and motivation Plenty of trips, incentives, funding for team nights out as well as for things like Yoga, 5 a side, massages etc... Flexible working Family friendly Free breakfast every day Hight uncapped commission

    Cons

    Low basic salary (accompanied by high un capped commission!!) for sales employees Internal IT systems need investment, which is happening but slowly Career progression difficult as it is a relatively flat hierarchy

    Continue reading

    Softcat Response

    June 12, 2019Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We really want to take care of our employees and ensure they are rewarded for their hardwork, so we'll continue to provide health and well being treats and fun incentives. We're aware of some of our IT issues and we are addressing it as we're keen to ensure everyone can be effective as possible in their role. Thanks Rachel Cowell Recruitment Manager

  4. "Hard work but great earning potential"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softcat full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Straightforward progression to management - Excellent earning potential - One of the leading companies in reseller market - Lots of incentives and perks

    Cons

    - Classic sales pressure to hit targets - Very competitive - Low basic salary

    Continue reading

    Softcat Response

    April 8, 2019Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for sharing your experience of working at Softcat. We are really glad that you've taken advantage of the great perks we have here, ranging from incentive trips, Team days away, quarterly lunches with Directors, which we do to ensure we give recognition to our employees for their hard work. Really glad you have been here to see the business progress and to celebrate in it's continued growth :)

  5. "Account Manager"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Account Manager in Manchester City Centre, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Softcat for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company atmosphere and culture Great social events + parties Good graduate job as it gives you exposure to a wide variety of technology vendors and industries Excellent way to earn a large amount of money at a young age Company is expanding so there is always opportunities to move roles if you prove yourself

    Cons

    Poor basic salary for a graduate job, but you don't to Account Management for the basic you do it for the earning potential

    Softcat Response

    June 4, 2018Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to review your experience of working at Softcat. We're really pleased that you enjoyed the company culture and believe that it's a great way to start your graduate career, as we also agree! Rachel Cowell - Recruitment Manager

  6. "Account executive"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Account Executive in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softcat for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Company to work for. Really cares and values its employees. plenty of opportunity and progression available. Cold calling is cold calling, however worth while for the uncapped commission structure.

    Cons

    Average basic salary, but the un-capped commission makes up for this.

    Softcat Response

    April 18, 2018Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to review working at Softcat, we do appreciate it! We're really chuffed that you feel it's a really great place to work, that's our ultimate aim! We understand, like you mentioned that the Account Exec role is focused on building your own accounts, which requires cold calling, and we're ensuring that we're being transparent about that when candidates talk to us about the role so we know it's the right fit for them. Un-capped commission for us is a biggie, as it's pretty competitive in the market, you are your own boss! Thanks again! Rachel

  7. "Great company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Softcat full-time

    Pros

    Good earning potentials, great culture, nice people

    Cons

    basic salary too low

    Continue reading

    Softcat Response

    April 17, 2018Recruitment Manager

    Thanks for your review, it's good to hear that you enjoyed your time working at Softcat. We're keen to ensure that we keep competitive, so remuneration is something we will continue to look in to. Thanks Rachel

  8. "Great place straight out of uni"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Account Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Softcat for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Learn how to cold call Great culture Some formal sales training Uncapped commission

    Cons

    Terrible Basic salary for London new starts Slightly un-PC office culture Problem with pay after I left

    Continue reading

    Softcat Response

    October 24, 2017

    Thank you for your review. As you will be aware Softcat are constantly looking at new ways to improve, and gain feedback on the working environment, role and culture. If you would be interested in speaking with me directly to run through your comments, it would be very much appreciated. If so please contact me by email, LilliePe@Softcat.com . Kindest regards Lillie Perkins HR and Graduate Recruitment Manager

  9. Helpful (2)

    "Very up and down"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Softcat full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good commission when you hit target. They put on a lot of events etc and look after their staff fairly well.

    Cons

    Accounts are pretty stagnant and because of the success of others before you its hard to succeed, especially straight away. They put on a lot of events to essentially glam up the job. Basic salary could be much better.

  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great as a straight out of uni job"

    4.0
     

    I worked at Softcat

    Pros

    Fun people top work with and internal treats such as free luch

    Cons

    low basic salary, cut throat - you will ber asked to leave it you miss a target

Found 15 reviews