Softcat Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated 18 Apr 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
83%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Softcat CEO Graeme Watt
Graeme Watt
84 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Highly competitive role so long hours are required(in 17 reviews)

  • "Low basic salary (accompanied by high un capped commission(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "long hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Competitive but opportunity to succeed"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softcat full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great management and fun atmosphere

    Cons

    Long hours expected to do well

    Continue reading

    Softcat Response

    May 5, 2020Recruitment Manager

    Thanks for sharing your feedback, it's really appreciated. We wish you the best for a successful career with us! Thanks Rachel Cowell

  2. "."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Manchester, England
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Softcat full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    In control of your own success, laid back atmosphere

    Cons

    Long hours if you want to succeed, first 6 months is hell.

    Softcat Response

    April 2, 2020Recruitment Manager

    Thanks for sharing your experience with us, and wish you every success in your future role. We appreciate that Sales isn't for everyone and there is definitely a requirement at the start to build up your business from scratch and to have that determination and resilience to get to a point where you have your customer base built up to trade with. We're really transparent with new starters about the fact it can be tough at the start, but keeping motivated and driven to succeed can definitely lead to exciting and great things Thanks Rachel Cowell


  3. "Account Manager"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Corporate Merchandiser 

    I worked at Softcat full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great atmosphere and support. Good commission structure.

    Cons

    Tough, cold sales role. Long hours expected.

    Softcat Response

    January 27, 2020Recruitment Manager

    Thanks for your review, it's appreciated. We're really glad that your experience has been so positive and that you took advantage of the support and guidance we offered. We wish you well in your future role Thanks Rachel Cowell Recruitment Manager

  4. "Internal account manager"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Softcat full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good social life and support

    Cons

    Long hours, lots of cold calling

    Softcat Response

    September 10, 2019Recruitment Manager

    Thanks for sharing your feedback with us, it's appreciated. With the hours and cold calling, that is an element of the role as it's about how we build business with our clients, and this can sometimes mean working the hours that suits the customer and getting the opportunity to speak with them. We do offer the chance to work slightly different hours to allow some flex on start/finish times which can suit someone that has customers that prefer calls early in the morning or later in the day too. Thanks Rachel Cowell

  5. "Review"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Marlow, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Softcat full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company to work for. Great Team Culture. Hard work and results is recognised and rewarded. Opportunity to learn so much about the IT industry,

    Cons

    Highly competitive role so long hours are required

    Continue reading

    Softcat Response

    September 12, 2019Recruitment Manager

    Thanks for sharing your feedback with us, we appreciate it! We're really glad that you enjoyed your time here, and we're keen that you get as much out of the job as possible, and offer those learning opportunities to understand all the new tech. Good luck with future roles! Thanks Rachel Cowell

  6. "Work hard play hard it seems"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Consultant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softcat full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Rewarded pretty well. Lots of exposure.

    Cons

    Long hours. Not much room for promotion

    Softcat Response

    August 12, 2019Recruitment Manager

    Thanks for sharing your review and we appreciate you taking the time to give your feedback. We do strive to give employees as much opportunity to progress whether that be vertically or laterally where possible, so it is sad to hear that you don't feel those opportunities are open to you. We do run career ownership workshops to ensure that employees know what options there are and how they can take their careers further, even when there isn't an obvious promotional opportunity open within the current team. Thanks Rachel Cowell Recruitment Manager

  7. Helpful (2)

    "Its a good company if you have the right accounts"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softcat full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Social life - lots of nights out Incentives - loads of trips to be won Commission package - if you hit the target but they can be excessive perks

    Cons

    If you don't fit in you won't get anywhere Old boy management look after their own Long hours and very basic pay

    Continue reading

    Softcat Response

    May 30, 2019Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for sharing your comments with us, we appreciate it! Softcat is proud of it's fun culture, and that's why we use 'Fun' as one of our core values. As a sales business we do try and ensure that our employees are incentivised appropriately though we're always open to looking at different ways to do this. Thanks Rachel Cowell - Recruitment Manager

  8. "Amazing place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softcat full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fun office culture Lots of opportunity for progression High earning potential Lots of support/training

    Cons

    Long hours - you get out what you put in!

    Softcat Response

    February 14, 2019Recruitment Manager

    Thanks so much for giving a review on Glassdoor, we appreciate your view and we're really proud of our company and ensuring that though we're growing, we're still ensuring it's a fun place to be and you get the support to do even better!

  9. Helpful (3)

    "Tough role, but good prospects"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softcat full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You'll learn a lot about your sales, business development and the will to win! Never been exposed to commercial B2B sales, but jumped right in. I've been here for about a year and although it’s a tough job, it’s an unbelievable company to work and the rewards you get from the work you put in are worth it to say the least!

    Cons

    No other way to put it, but it can be tough, long hours, challenging targets and competitive colleagues.

    Continue reading

    Softcat Response

    February 14, 2019Recruitment Manager

    Thanks so much for sharing your review with us, and we're so glad to hear that you've enjoyed your time here so far, that's what working is all about! The nature of sales can be competitive but we pride ourselves on working with eachother and being competitive externally rather than internally

  10. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softcat full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Softcat provide you with a great platform to learn from. The team in London is great. On going training.

    Cons

    Long hours A sometimes stressful industry

    Softcat Response

    February 14, 2019Recruitment Manager

    Thanks for your review and really glad you're taking advantage of our training, we definitely have lots of opportunities to learn and grow.

Found 17 reviews