SoftwareONE Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

SoftwareONE Reviews

Updated 5 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 382 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
78%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
SoftwareONE CEO Dieter Schlosser
Dieter Schlosser
29 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "SWO Bangalore office is in heart of traffic jam :((in 10 reviews)

  • "There is alot of potential here in GSDC, but somehow management believes in choosen few(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - SAM Specialist in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SoftwareONE full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good high level corporate vision and direction. Inspiring leaders.

    Cons

    Still becoming established, some ambiguity in best practices and processes.

    Advice to Management

    continue to give employees freedom.

    SoftwareONE2016-05-02
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SoftwareONE full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    flexibility, put the hours in

    Cons

    the internal systems are antiquated

    SoftwareONE2019-07-08
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Consider somewhere else"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SoftwareONE full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Salary is good, at market rates. Colleagues are awesome people to work with. CEO is professional and a great leader for the company.

    Cons

    Management don’t listen to staff. Excessive pressure placed on staff to perform, even though they are doing well. Staff are constantly overworked. Management only interested in the dollars, not the people. EBITDA the most important thing for the company. High turnover and no support for staff to grow and develop. Constant back-stabbing and gossip from management. Which is very sad as they should know better. They... get told to do something to fix the situation but it is completely ignored.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your people and your customers. Stop talking about staff behind their backs. Your constant gossip is demoralising and unprofessional.

    SoftwareONE2019-07-28
  4. Helpful (7)

    "Toxic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at SoftwareONE full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fruit bowl on Monday morning

    Cons

    Toxic environment, loads of BDM's left and continue to leave ... older BDM's are unmotivated, new BDM's left within a few months of starting. People are constantly moaning about the leadership

    Advice to Management

    Accept the fact that people leave because they want change and are unhappy. Sydney, you need to fundamentally change, and that probably starts with CEO and his 'managers'

    SoftwareONE2019-06-19
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Bad culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SoftwareONE

    Pros

    Can not think of anything good apart probably it might be a good start for a first job after graduate from school.

    Cons

    Favoritism causing no equal opportunity, no career growth, bad management; core value only namesake, turn and churn. Zero learning. No proper onboarding process and training.

    SoftwareONE2017-10-05

    SoftwareONE Response

    October 30, 2017Global Head of HR

    Dear Colleague - I appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback however it is obviously concerning you feel this way. I hope you would be able to contact me directly to discuss further in confidence - john.mayes@softwareone.com - we are a performance driven company with ...

    Show More
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Great Company but can change working for a new manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Manager in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SoftwareONE full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Enjoyed working with the company since starting but has changed with new local MD. Great people but leaving fast due to above. Good company looking to differentiate and move with the times. Other benefits but not worth having to put up with changing jobs due to new MD. My ratings are based on today and have been tried to be conservative and would have been higher 8 months ago. People like the COO are experienced... and invested in the business and have an open door policy, the local MD has the same open door policy but there is no point talking to him as it would fall on deaf ears. Don't let this review impact your decision working for the company as a whole it is a good place to work, just not in Australia right now, just ask the question how long has the MD been there.

    Show More

    Cons

    New MD Micromanages. Makes you feel worthless. Takes the my way or the highway thought process. Not a people person and talks behind others backs. Lacks leadership qualities and the external market is going to find it hard to find talent as it is now well known it is not an employer of choice which it once was. Lot of good people leaving weekly and not being replaced.

    Advice to Management

    Review the employee satisfaction survey and what the people are saying. Morale is at a low that I have never encountered at any organization. Bring it back to 5 star rating before it is too late. Supposed to be a people first organization but EBITA seems to take priority but with the wrong people it is a moot point as it will not be achieved. Australia has changed to the point now that everyone is now entertaining... new opportunities.

    Show More
    SoftwareONE2017-05-08

    SoftwareONE Response

    May 19, 2017Global Head of HR

    Dear Colleague - thank you for taking the time to write this feedback. If you are open to it, I would appreciate connecting directly confidentially so I can understand your views in more detail. We are about to publish the results from our annual employee engagement survey and ...

    Show More
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Some perks but no soul"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SAM Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at SoftwareONE full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great environment for Sales people

    Cons

    immature in terms of service delivery

    SoftwareONE2016-04-04
  8. Helpful (2)

    "You shall not pass!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at SoftwareONE for more than a year

    Pros

    Frequent flyer miles available if you want them. Relocation packages also available. Good if you just want to pick up a pay check. Work/life can be good if you can tolerate the occasional micromanagement.

    Cons

    Terrible management styles and overall culture with ever increasing middle management. No idea how to execute on strategy. Many of the verticals are dysfunctional.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in real talent in the management areas, empower them properly, and set realistic targets. High targets need proper talent in all areas across the business.

    SoftwareONE2016-04-19
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Incredible company! Culture is unique, people keep me here, and opportunities are endless!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Leader 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SoftwareONE full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I have been at SoftwareONE for almost 12 years in a number of roles. I can't say enough amazing things about this company. They have taken care of me as I grow my career in the time I have been here, they are picky about bringing on talent as the people are the most important aspect of the company. What brings everything together is the fact that the industry is growing like crazy, and SoftwareONE has managed to... stay ahead of the curve, leading edge in many areas, and a thought leader in the software management category. The vision the leadership team creates and drives change around is something I am very proud to say I am influencing and to be apart of.

    Show More

    Cons

    Not many here, the only thing I would say, is if you want to be on a rocket ship that moves very fast, you join. If speed and agility are not your strengths SWO is not right for you. Sometimes our speed can be perceived as a downside, but if you don't move fast in this industry you fall behind, so I don't perceive it as a Con.

    Advice to Management

    Continue doing what you're doing, and remember the heart of our culture and what was created when our founding members created SoftwareONE.

    SoftwareONE2019-09-05
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Incredible Culture, Unlimited Opportunity and an Entrepreneurial Spirit!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SoftwareONE full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    SoftwareONE is an incredible place to build a career. The culture at SWO was unlike any other I'd experienced in my near 20 year career in Technology sales. SWO encourages their employees to embrace an entrepreneurial spirit in an effort to grow their business and they support their sales people tremendously in the field with an amplitude of resources to supplement the Account Executives' efforts. My 7+ years at SWO... were some of the best years of my life and I'm truly grateful for the opportunity afforded me there. If not for a desire to explore a different "avenue" in my career, I could've seen myself retiring at SWO - Competitive Comp. Plan - Incredibly Supportive Leadership Team - Great Benefits/Insurance Plans - Best-in-class work/life balance - Unlimited opportunity to travel, explore new parts of the business and re-locate if that is something you desire - Constantly re-investing in the business to deliver a better brand behind each salesperson

    Show More

    Cons

    I'm not sure it is a "con", per se, but SWO employees should expect to perform. SWO is a performance-based organization and, while they allow you to attack the business how you want to, they also expect performance and constant growth which should be expected given it's a sales organization

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing. Continue to invest in the business, continue to evangelize an entrepreneurial spirit and, as you grow, don't forget the culture that has made SWO such an incredible place to work.

    SoftwareONE2019-09-04
Found 382 reviews