Southeastern Grocers Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Southeastern Grocers Reviews

Updated 11 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 166 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
40%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
Southeastern Grocers CEO Anthony Hucker
Anthony Hucker
36 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Avoid this place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Center Store Associate in Douglas, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Southeastern Grocers part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working in Dairy and Frozen meant being alone away from drama

    Cons

    Too many to count... If you work hard you're rewarded with a stagnant pay raise and more work Management is notoriously bad

    Advice to Management

    Stop playing favorites and go get a minimum wage job because y'all are dumb

    Southeastern Grocers2019-08-11
  2. "Seeking real estate closer/paralegal position after graduation and to relocate to be with family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant in Lake Worth, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Southeastern Grocers part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    flexible schedule that allowed me to work around my school schedule while earning my bachelors degree.

    Cons

    Salary is lower than former paralegal jobs, however, it was necessary to complete degree

    Advice to Management

    No advice as they are all wonderful and dedicated to employee experience and customer service while offering the highest quality of merchandise.

    Southeastern Grocers2019-07-20
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Friendly, team-focussed environment on the small scale; Lack of communication, transparency on the large scale"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Category Coordinator 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Southeastern Grocers full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Working with my specific department team is great, we understand each other well and there are many ways which we support each other daily. From what I understand, this type of team-comraderie is throughout the company. There is a willingness on the part of next-level managers to listen to input from lower employees. Feedback, input, listening, and overall communication is good on the team level.

    Cons

    The company as a whole does not seem overly interested in investing in their employees and instead puts up appearances of caring. Poor starting benefits, no transparency on pay for different positions, very limited ways for employees to provide feedback. Executive level team does not understand the positions of those that they are supposed to be leading. No internal promotions, people have to jump from department to department...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Focus less on events as a form of employee appreciation. Employees want to be appreciated through salary, time off, and flexible work schedules. Managers should be sure they understand why issues happen before making recommendations for solutions. Improve bottom-up communication so that everyone in different departments feel like their voice actually matters, not just that you say it matters.

    Southeastern Grocers2019-07-30
  4. "Deli-Bakery Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Deli/Bakery Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Southeastern Grocers full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Chances to work your creativity!

    Cons

    Always open on the holidays, except for Christmas Day.

    Southeastern Grocers2019-07-01
  5. "Average Part-Time Position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Deli in Orlando, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Southeastern Grocers part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very flexible scheduling, Autonomous decision making

    Cons

    Extremely corporate management style, little trust in employees over food waste, attempt to avoid hands-on training with online videos

    Advice to Management

    Train employees with hands-on experience rather than stress online video training

    Southeastern Grocers2019-06-12
  6. "Advancement Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Grocery Associate in New Orleans, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Southeastern Grocers part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    *Always Busy *Team Environment *Customer Interactions *Promotions

    Cons

    *Part-Time Starting Pay is Okay if You're Young

    Advice to Management

    Management has been great. I appreciate them praising and appreciating my hard work.

    Southeastern Grocers2019-06-03
  7. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Merchandising Manager in Ocala, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Southeastern Grocers full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Reasonable wage for salary managment, rebuilding company, bonuses

    Cons

    Store associates far under paid compared to competitors, rebuilding company, bonuses are dependent on certain targets. Can get moved to another store and end up driving an hour one way to work for a total 12 hr day. Fluctuating hours - can work 6a-4p one day 2p-12a the next then 9-7, 10-8, 11-9 or 8-6. No consistency causing lots of lost time with your family and or friends.

    Southeastern Grocers2019-06-03
  8. "Cashier Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Middleburg, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Southeastern Grocers part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The customers are awesome and make the job absolutely worth it. Flexible hours and medical benefits for part time employees.

    Cons

    Management fails to implement fairness among ALL Cashier's alike, in other words, HIGHLY SHOWS FAVORITISM! Some of the customer service supervisors are allowed to be extremely RUDE AS HELL and abnoxious when addressing you in front of customers or other associates, doesn't really matter who is listening!!! They are allowed to belittle you even when asking permission to use the restroom. What is fair for one employee...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Unless management enjoys a HIGH turnover rate and bad reviews it might help to take inventory of all current employees, which includes, customer service supervisors and how they treat new employees. In my long career I have never worked in a more clickish, cold and unfriendly environment. I came here with high hopes and expectations and have nothing but sadness and disappointment. I'm so appalled.

    Southeastern Grocers2019-07-05
  9. "Terrible Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Information Technology Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Southeastern Grocers full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay was decent. Was close to home.

    Cons

    Very cliqueish. If you weren't part of the in crowd they sidelined you quickly. IT dept. is housed in an ancient building in a not so good part of town. Comms between the "old" and "new" building were lackluster at best. IT dept. required to work despite having a hurricane coming at us.

    Southeastern Grocers2019-07-03
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Having problems with supervisor."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier in Royal Palm Beach, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Southeastern Grocers part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    My family been shopping 21 years there.

    Cons

    Work ethics are very bad with new personal.

    Advice to Management

    Management in cashiers position should remove bank or cash draw when employee go to a lunch break in stead of putting another employee on that register.

    Southeastern Grocers2019-04-25
Found 166 reviews