Southeastern Grocers Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Southeastern Grocers Reviews

Updated 12 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 155 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
44%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Southeastern Grocers CEO Anthony Hucker
Anthony Hucker
31 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Average Part-Time Position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Deli in Orlando, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Southeastern Grocers part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very flexible scheduling, Autonomous decision making

    Cons

    Extremely corporate management style, little trust in employees over food waste, attempt to avoid hands-on training with online videos

    Advice to Management

    Train employees with hands-on experience rather than stress online video training

    Southeastern Grocers2019-06-12
  2. "Advancement Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Grocery Associate in New Orleans, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Southeastern Grocers part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    *Always Busy *Team Environment *Customer Interactions *Promotions

    Cons

    *Part-Time Starting Pay is Okay if You're Young

    Advice to Management

    Management has been great. I appreciate them praising and appreciating my hard work.

    Southeastern Grocers2019-06-03
  3. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Merchandising Manager in Ocala, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Southeastern Grocers full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Reasonable wage for salary managment, rebuilding company, bonuses

    Cons

    Store associates far under paid compared to competitors, rebuilding company, bonuses are dependent on certain targets. Can get moved to another store and end up driving an hour one way to work for a total 12 hr day. Fluctuating hours - can work 6a-4p one day 2p-12a the next then 9-7, 10-8, 11-9 or 8-6. No consistency causing lots of lost time with your family and or friends.

    Southeastern Grocers2019-06-03
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Having problems with supervisor."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier in Royal Palm Beach, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Southeastern Grocers part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    My family been shopping 21 years there.

    Cons

    Work ethics are very bad with new personal.

    Advice to Management

    Management in cashiers position should remove bank or cash draw when employee go to a lunch break in stead of putting another employee on that register.

    Southeastern Grocers2019-04-25
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pricing Analyst in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Southeastern Grocers full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Work life balance, lots of free food, and very nice people.

    Cons

    Each department runs differently so the company tends to compete with itself and not see the big picture.

    Advice to Management

    Treat categories different based off their roles. Don't give one-size fits all targets.

    Southeastern Grocers2019-04-22
  6. "Decent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Southeastern Grocers full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Casual work environment, friendly people.

    Cons

    Salary is below market rates. Management turnover is high.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your associates.

    Southeastern Grocers2019-04-22
  7. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Southeastern Grocers

      Pros

      Great emphasis on some sanitation programs

      Cons

      No customer service No hours to implement sanitation requirements Date issues throughout locations had program but no hours to execute program Always changing programs spending money that are gone in 3 months Poor management Workout facilities

      Advice to Management

      Get an identity and stick to it! Quit being a ship blown around by every changing wind.

      Southeastern Grocers2019-04-15
    • Helpful (2)

      "The good, the bad, the moldy"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Meat Cutter 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Southeastern Grocers full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Willing to train you Flexible hours Good coworkers

      Cons

      Where do I begin? I was a full time meat cutter for SEG for about two and half years. I worked at one of the busiest stores in one of the busiest districts. The core issue with seg is that they, as the old phrase goes, strain at a gnat and swallow a camel. The company obsessed over miniscule and they overlook glaring issues. Here's an example, I worked for a very old seg store that had a paint issue in the meat department....

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Number one, don't be verbally abusive. Yelling never gets anything solved. Two stop cutting hours, trying to save money by squeezing as much out of a few people as you can is not ethical. Finally, if there is a health issue like paint chips or mold, don't laugh and overlook it.

      Southeastern Grocers2019-04-02
    • Helpful (1)

      "Highest Turnover"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Southeastern Grocers full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      The co-workers are like family. They all care about each other and want the best for each other.

      Cons

      Highest turnover in a department I have ever seen. Everyone is currently looking for new jobs. Dishonesty within management. No real transparency. No way to get promoted unless you are a “brown noser” and in the click with the Sr VP, who is sexist and makes negative comments about women who have children. Negative atmosphere and unstable company. Benefits are horrendous. Work life balance is hardly regarded. HR cannot...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Please treat your employees with dignity and respect. Look at departments with high turnover and look at the person running those departments. Highly educated, professional and intelligent people are running out as fast as they possibly can for a reason.

      Southeastern Grocers2019-04-16
    • "BiLo"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Deli/Bakery Associate in Greenville, SC
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Southeastern Grocers full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Works very well with personal problems. Willing to cross train in other areas.

      Cons

      Hard to get a set shift. Extremely difficult to get a pay increase.

      Advice to Management

      Other places are willing to pay more for our employees so it would be more beneficial to give raises based on time and performance.

      Southeastern Grocers2019-02-21
    Found 155 reviews