Southeastern Grocers Reviews

Updated 5 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
52%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
Southeastern Grocers President and CEO Anthony Hucker
Anthony Hucker
39 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "People-First Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Southeastern Grocers full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They care about their associates and pay competitively.

    Cons

    Grocery retail is a dynamic and fast-paced industry

    Continue reading
    Southeastern Grocers2020-05-05
  2. "Fair Workplace"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front End Associate/Cashier in New Port Richey, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Southeastern Grocers part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Coworkers were a Joy and were excellent help when needed.

    Cons

    Not the greatest location as customers could lead to some episodes occurring within the establishment.

    Southeastern Grocers2020-02-28
  3. "always improving"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fresh Associate in Palm Coast, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Southeastern Grocers full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    good people that care for others

    Cons

    low pay for the work expected

    Continue reading
    Southeastern Grocers2020-02-19
  4. "Training to be a meat cutter"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Meat Cutter Apprentice 

    I have been working at Southeastern Grocers part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Get at least full time hours and training resources are good

    Cons

    Pay definitely could be better especially when told you would get raise and paid for mileage

    Continue reading
    Southeastern Grocers2020-02-11
  5. "Category Analyst"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Category Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Southeastern Grocers full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Culture and work environment are great.

    Cons

    The pay is the only con that I can think of.

    Southeastern Grocers2020-01-13
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Not a destination place"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Product Manager in Jacksonville, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Southeastern Grocers full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice people overall. Nice HQ if you're at the Prominence location (Edgewood is a dump).

    Cons

    Thin teams with little experience and lack of direction. Tons of layoffs and turnover. Not much consideration for the details, most strategy is made up as they go along. They frown on innovation and define it by 2010 standards. No data supported direction at all.

    Continue reading
    Southeastern Grocers2020-01-21
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Horrible Experience but good food"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Information Security Architect in Jacksonville, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Southeastern Grocers full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Cafeteria on site, free samples of food, huge Thanksgiving party, lots of friendly people all over the organization.

    Cons

    A retail company that is focused on the business, not security. Management was horrible, HR was worse--absolutely looking out for the company, not the employees. Multiple layoffs, company struggling in market with massive problems in shipping and logistics and that wasn't even my department!

    Southeastern Grocers2019-12-17
  8. "Beware"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pharmacy Manager in Palmetto, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Southeastern Grocers full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent schedule for 2 week cycle

    Cons

    Top management is incompetent. Too many resources are spent on marketing and not enough on payroll. Too few people to do the jobs assigned. Middle management is unconcerned about realistic experienced associates.

    Continue reading
    Southeastern Grocers2019-12-27
  9. Helpful (1)

    "The worst job I’ve had"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graphic Designer 

    I worked at Southeastern Grocers full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The office is nice

    Cons

    Everything, awful work life balance and high stress. Within a few weeks of working there I had to work from 8:30am to 3am because of their poor planning.

    Southeastern Grocers2019-12-24
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Doesn't Keep it R.E.A.L"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Scapegoat in Jacksonville, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Southeastern Grocers full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice facility. Interesting peers. Good work/life balance

    Cons

    They insist on being last at everything. There isn't a bold leader in the building. We're asked to be R E A L but when we are we're discouraged for talking out of turn. My VP was the most disingenuous person I have worked with in my career.

    Continue reading
    Southeastern Grocers2019-11-19
Found 172 reviews