Spencer Gifts Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Spencer Gifts Reviews

Updated Nov 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
49%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
Spencer Gifts CEO Steven Silverstein
Steven Silverstein
377 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Low pay for management positions, groups of teenagers and college students flooding to the back of the store(in 66 reviews)

  • "Upper management positions rarely opened up for advancement(in 54 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company to work for, but high pressure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Spencer Gifts full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great to employees, decent pay, monthly bonus opportunities, great environment, 30% discount on products, constantly running contests with monetary prizes for all employees

    Cons

    High pressure, a lot of tasking but not enough staff hours available, high theft without many LP deterrents in place

    Advice to Management

    Give the staff for hours so that the teams can efficiently run the store. Make sure your DMs are not talking down to SM’s.

    Spencer Gifts2019-11-06
  2. "Assistant Buyer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Buyer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Spencer Gifts full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    3 weeks vacation Wear whatever you want Parking spot after 40+ years of working there Relaxed employees Summer Fridays

    Cons

    Terrible 401k plan Using your vacation can be frowned upon sometimes No training program

    Advice to Management

    Please do better with diversity within the company. Employees should be paid their worth

    Spencer Gifts2019-11-19
  3. "Okay place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 

    I have been working at Spencer Gifts part-time

    Pros

    Relaxed environment, good chance to connect with guests

    Cons

    Have to be “on the floor” at all times even when the store is not busy

    Spencer Gifts2019-11-15
  4. "Fun job with the right staff !"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 
    Recommends

    I worked at Spencer Gifts part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Increase in pay Fun empolyees Wear what you want

    Cons

    Lack of staff Low pay

    Advice to Management

    Pay more !

    Spencer Gifts2019-11-06
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Difficult In Management Position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Sioux Falls, SD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Spencer Gifts full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - 30% employee discount - Good Music - Casual Dress Code

    Cons

    - High Turnover - Small Group Of Employees, this makes it very hard to take any sick or vacation time, as only one or two people can cover your time off. - Outside of promotions there arent many opportunities for raises

    Advice to Management

    Know that you will have a difficult time with getting time off, and that it is hard to get any kind of raise, even if you are there for years.

    Spencer Gifts2019-11-03
  6. "Assistant Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Albany, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Spencer Gifts full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people, the cool environment and merchandise with a good discount. Worth it to be a Sales Associate, but nothing more.

    Cons

    Shoplifting is scary there, HQ and DSMs don't care about you, everyone is in it for themselves and ready to stab you in the back.

    Advice to Management

    Patterns are there for a reason, the store manager can only do as much as their boss and etc. Don't tell people they're going to get promoted and then give them a lame answer or try to avoid the conversation why it never ended up happening.

    Spencer Gifts2019-11-03
  7. "Assistant Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Downey, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Spencer Gifts full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They offer paid sick time and paid vacation time. Basically that's all the pros you get.

    Cons

    From personal experience in my district not the very best. I worked at 2 different locations my transfer was in hopes of career advancement yet all I found was a never ending pit for a store. The pay is no were near competitive. Come in starting wage was on the low side however I was able to squeeze .75 more cents out at start. I already knew this was pretty low for such a high position and many responsibilities but... I figured I could negotiate some kind of raise later on . Obviously that wasn't the case after a whole year put into this company the only raise I got was .25 and the worst part is finding out that I'm being paid less than a starting part time employee at a different location by a whole dollar!! This is also why I find that a lot of these stores managers or management are constantly leaving the company it's like a revolving door. The wages are no were near competitive like I stated and that's why I also find that it was so hard to fill management postions just because they could find a better paying job somewhere else.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Know your worth and expectations. Don't grab at the first sight of opportunity when there is something way better you can grab. Negotiate negotiate negotiate I can't stress this enough.

    Spencer Gifts2019-10-28
  8. "You will find better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Spencer Gifts full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The music and the discounts

    Cons

    Too many to list but the pay is the worst

    Advice to Management

    Pay better. Treat people better. Don't trust your DMs to be honest or truthful.

    Spencer Gifts2019-11-18
  9. "Shady"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Supervisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Spencer Gifts part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fun work environment. Discount. Opportunities to work with Spirit Halloween seasonally.

    Cons

    Managers had friendships outside of work making things very unfair while working. If you were a sales associate you got maybe 12-20 hours a week.

    Spencer Gifts2019-11-12
  10. "Great place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Temporary Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Spencer Gifts part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It has a very friendly work environment.

    Cons

    Not enough to do sometimes.

    Spencer Gifts2019-10-03
Found 765 reviews