Square Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Square Reviews

Updated 10 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 448 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
83%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Square CEO Jack Dorsey
Jack Dorsey
343 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Typical growing pains of a new office(in 28 reviews)

  • "Just starting 401k matching so the program is not as developed as some others yet (but will get there)(in 20 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Success Advocate in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Square full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fast paced work place with room to grow.

    Cons

    The industry is changes a lot so some department see a lot of work force changes.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing a great job!

    Square2019-07-10
  2. "great mid-size company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineering Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great mission! Fintech space is very exciting! A lot of innovation is happening. Engineering talent is strong

    Cons

    Cloud migration is taking forever

    Square2019-07-03
  3. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Ho Chi Minh City
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Square full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good bonus and friends together

    Cons

    not focus on HR & high turnover

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Square2019-06-27
  4. Helpful (2)

    "come for the opportunity to impact, stay for the amazing people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Sourcer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It's easy to connect with the mission that drives all of our product decision-making. As long as you're not a terrible person, you should be able to connect with our purpose of economic empowerment. We're all about helping our customers start, run, and grow their businesses. We operate on a win-win model, meaning that when our customers win, we win as well. Our growth history speaks for itself, and we expect to continue...

    Show More

    Cons

    We're not as large as some of the bigger companies out there, so we don't have all of the resources that the larger tech companies have. For this reason, we base a lot of our pay on stock and expected growth of stock. We don't have yearly cash bonuses either.

    Advice to Management

    Keep listening to your employees/customers and doing the right thing!

    Square2019-06-19
  5. "Great experience working at square"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good benefits great office experience,

    Cons

    square is good , but your career will grow.more if you re in SF

    Square2019-06-25
  6. "Fast paste"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst - Strategy and Operations 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Opportunity to experience the startup mindset of moving fast but also have the luxury to partner with lots of cross functional partners

    Cons

    Speed of execution is one of a key to success here imo

    Square2019-06-22
  7. Helpful (1)

    "come for the mission, stay for the tech challenges!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    If you are mission driven, then you would enjoy this company and it's mission of Economic Empowerment. Lots of interesting business problems to solve. These problems often translate into complex engineering challenges. Square also has scale both in terms of product and org. Most recently a lot of groups started the long journey of cloud migration.

    Cons

    Overall technical direction of the company is often missing and it's left to teams to get aligned. While this meritocratic approach can lead to best team's solution wins situations, this is not always the case. Technical decision making is often slow as a result of this approach.

    Square2019-06-11
  8. "Great Culture and Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Square full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The best people you will meet Company mission is great Meaningful work

    Cons

    Work life balance is rough as there is a lot to do

    Advice to Management

    Continue to groom your long term employees

    Square2019-06-10
  9. "Be on the right Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Excellent company mission - Truly smart people - Office in SF is amazing - Fun and hardworking environment

    Cons

    - Pay is quite a bit lower than AE roles at other companies, stock helps but pay is still lower than industry average - The team you are on is everything at Square. Some teams are amazing, have great culture and work as a whole unit. Others (like the one I was on) can be very passive aggressive, overly competitive, and downright unethical at times. - Company is not yet set up to grow at the pace it is growing. Square...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You want to double down on the US Market instead of going international, very foolish, others will soon capture the international market share, which is worth so much more than the US.

    Square2019-06-20
  10. "Poor work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Embedded Software Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    feeding you well and pay for gym membership

    Cons

    poor work life balance in long term

    Square2019-06-04
Found 448 reviews