Square Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Square Reviews

Updated 15 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
77%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Square Founder & CEO Jack Dorsey
Jack Dorsey
376 Ratings
Pros
  • "High emphasis on work life balance and a culture within the talent org of trying new things like supporting remote recruiters/managers(in 46 reviews)

  • "Open, transparent, low ego work environment(in 28 reviews)

Cons
  • "Typical growing pains of a new office(in 28 reviews)

  • "Just starting 401k matching so the program is not as developed as some others yet (but will get there)(in 20 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - OTR/L, CHT 

    I have been working at Square full-time

    Pros

    Great place to work, it’s fantastic!

    Cons

    Can feel a bit chilly sometimes

    Square2020-01-16
  2. "Best job I've ever had."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cash Specialty Team 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The People The starting pay The opportunities to grow The culture

    Cons

    For me nothing. I'm truly happy to be a part of this company and I look forward to retiring from here.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing and build on it.

    Square2020-01-13
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great work life balance, low pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consignment Inventory Analyst 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great office, amazing breakfast and lunch, young/lively coworkers, work life balance

    Cons

    Extremely low pay for silicon valley standards. The sentiment seemed the same across all teams, not just sales. This causes very high attrition among good employees. Good ones leave, bad ones stay

    Advice to Management

    pay up to the standards of your neighboring tech companies in the valley

    Square2020-01-07
  4. "Great time to join Square UK team - exciting growth ahead!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Dynamic team--everyone in the office is incredibly hardworking and talented - Better than average pay and benefits for local job market - Great opportunities to take ownership in an entry-level role - Quickly growing market means there's lots of room for growth, progression, and cross-functional exposure - Transparent company culture

    Cons

    - Sometimes daily work can feel distant from the product and mission since Square is not available in Ireland yet - The primary office locations in the US means there can be some time delays for cross-functional work (this is improving though!)

    Square2020-01-03
  5. "Worth the time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Square full-time

    Pros

    Incredible coworkers. Great challenges and fascinating industry. Innovation, especially in Cashapp

    Cons

    company went through a lot of reorg-s recently.

    Square2019-12-27
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Not As Great As I'd Hoped"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Success Advocate in Lake St Louis, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Square full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits from day one.

    Cons

    Low pay and bad hours to start.

    Square2020-01-06
  7. Helpful (1)

    "If you're non-technical, this is not the company you think it is"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Success Advocate in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Square full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Golden handcuffs - free food, great benefits, 401(k) matching, etc. I never left work later than 6:30.

    Cons

    CS org was totally mismanaged. It was dissolved in NYC and SF. Internal mobility is a joke. In NYC office, teams are siloed and there's a palpable "pre-IPO" vs "post-IPO" employee split.

    Square2020-01-07
  8. "Amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Customer Success Advocate in Portland, OR

    I have been working at Square full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great perks, inclusive, benefits, growing company, organized

    Cons

    Since it's such a fast growing company things can get a bit messy

    Square2019-12-17
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Worst company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Lake St Louis, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Square full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    free breakfast and okay benefits

    Cons

    Working for Square (cash app) was the worst job I have ever had. The leads sit around and do nothing to help the people they are supposed to manage. There is ZERO transparency throughout the entire company. Super toxic and stressful environment to work in. Upper management is terrible and it's basically high school all over again.

    Advice to Management

    upper management needs a makeover. treat your employees better

    Square2020-01-15
  10. "Account executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Account Executive 

    I have been working at Square full-time

    Pros

    Great work environment, good work life balance

    Cons

    Could be more competitive with pay

    Square2019-11-28
Found 504 reviews