Square Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Square Reviews

Updated 19 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 465 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
82%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Square CEO Jack Dorsey
Jack Dorsey
353 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Typical growing pains of a new office(in 28 reviews)

  • "Just starting 401k matching so the program is not as developed as some others yet (but will get there)(in 20 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Excellent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Privacy in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, cool offices, fast pace, interesting work

    Cons

    I don't have any cons to share

    Square2019-09-19
  2. "Square Support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support Representative in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits are great as well as the culture

    Cons

    phones and schedule as well as work life balance

    Advice to Management

    n/A

    Square2019-09-12
  3. "Great company culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Square has a great company culture - they really believe in creating a comfortable environment for their employees to thrive in. Great perks!

    Cons

    Pay is extremely low for industry standard

    Advice to Management

    You have to pay for talent!

    Square2019-09-05
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Too many problems without clear accommodations."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success Advocate in Saint Louis, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Accepting of all personality types. Lots of room for advancement.

    Cons

    The standards you're held will change without any compensation for the increased tasks. Constantly being graded on your ability to give bad news.

    Advice to Management

    Address your employees on what happens in their day to day instead of coming in to talk about grand ideas for the company. Employees are not your board members and, aren't interested in the new features you plan to implement. They want to know what is expected of them and, what concerns you have tried to mitigate before you make a decision.

    Square2019-09-16
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Decrease in Transparency"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Account Manager in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits and great people

    Cons

    Lack of transparency, growing bureaucracy

    Advice to Management

    Be more proactive rather than reactive, trust your employees and communicate with them, be as transparent as possible

    Square2019-09-12
  6. "One of the best recruiting teams I've ever worked with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Recruiter in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Tons of collaboration and support for one another with a focus on doing the right thing rather than just trying to fluff your hiring numbers. Generally really great hiring managers who really care about being involved with the hiring process from sourcing all the way to closing. There's definitely some stand out hiring managers and some more apathetic ones, but our overall recruiting model rewards managers who are... more involved. As Square has grown we've needed to adapt and change our interview processes for specialized skill-sets and there's been more support for these kinds of changes than there has been blockers (across engineering and talent). High emphasis on work life balance and a culture within the talent org of trying new things like supporting remote recruiters/managers.

    Show More

    Cons

    As we've grown so rapidly, there's definitely a lot of things that are being done reactively and so there's a bit of pain in dealing with broken things as they are getting fixed. ie how often our comp bands get updated (this is gotten better!)

    Advice to Management

    Keep listening to the teams and even though there's an endless amount of things to fix, find opportunities to be proactive on future problems.

    Square2019-08-28
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success Manager in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Culture, benefits, competitive salaries, nice office space

    Cons

    No clear growth paths, lots of ambiguity due to the company being fairly new

    Square2019-08-19
  8. "economic empowerment + fintech innovation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There is a lot of room for innovation and depending on your team/org, bottom up initiatives are well supported.

    Cons

    There are a lot of changes (org, product related) as the company going through a transformation from being a mid-size company to a large one

    Advice to Management

    figure out ways how to foster more innovation across Sellers

    Square2019-08-16
  9. "Analyst position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Seller Risk Analyst 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great culture and environment to work in

    Cons

    Career progression lacks a bit as well as transparency

    Square2019-08-30
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Lack of transparency and hypocrisy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success Advocate in Saint Louis, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits, free breakfast and lunch every day, compared to other places, great place to work as a minority.

    Cons

    No transparency. At all. In the last two days, square (Cash App) has fired 55 people for reasons that they aren't even fully disclosing. They claim that these people were not following proper protocol, but none of these people knew that the protocol they were following was incorrect. As another advocate, I am unaware that what these advocates did wrong was wrong, as it has never in the past been made clear to us... that this was wrong. Leadership, who turned a blind eye to alleged "rule breaking" is not being held accountable. None of us are even sure we have job security. At this point, the only thing that is clear is that though Square claims to be employee focused and to have our backs, it is like every other corporate company out there and views its employees as disposable.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Don't make people feel like they're cared about when you're willing to fire them at the drop of a hat. Your hypocrisy speaks volumes. Fix yourself and then fix the people under your leadership. Fire the leads who aren't doing their jobs rather than the advocates who are their victims. The lack of humanity you have shown in the past two days, while pretending to be people-focused is disgusting. Shame on you.

    Square2019-09-11
Found 465 reviews