Squiz Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Squiz Reviews

Updated Jul 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 82 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
65%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
John-Paul Syriatowicz
28 Ratings
  1. Helpful (10)

    "This company is getting worse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Squiz full-time

    Pros

    Some of the people are great.

    Cons

    Since I got hired, Squiz was never a great company to work for. Squiz is trying to look "cool" but is failing miserably! Squiz is unfair towards its employees: salaries, treatment to people. Some people can "bludge" all day talking about shoes or whatever their life is about, without having to show existence of work. While in the meantime, production people are pushed to do as much billable hours because as they explain...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    For the good ones, keep it that way. For the bad ones, you are lucky that you get along with the right people… Unprofessional.

    Squiz2016-01-26

    Squiz Response

    February 4, 2016National Marketing Manager

    Thank you for the feedback. I listen to all feedback, no matter the forum, and I have taken your comments under consideration. Without specifics here its hard to action much but I can say that my aim is definitely for everyone to enjoy their time at Squiz and actively contribute to ...

    Show More
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Amazing Company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Brisbane
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Squiz

    Pros

    Flexible working arrangements, loads of career growth opportunities, amazing culture and people, fridge full of food for breakfast, lunch and snacks, Friday drinks, social events and staff parties.

    Cons

    You are forced to use a Mac, they don't supply PCs. :(

    Advice to Management

    Give your staff the option of either using a Mac or a PC like every other Tech company does, you will not only attract more employees but also keep them longer. ;)

    Squiz2015-12-09
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Rewarding Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Squiz full-time

    Pros

    Fast growing company with lots of opportunity to work on new exciting projects. Great culture and a fun place to work with great social activities.There is a good team culture with a great can do attitude especially in the NSW team where I work. There is a good open door policy to Senior Management

    Cons

    The work is hard and there are deadlines, but realistically this is the same in all companies, especially successful ones.

    Advice to Management

    The Management needs to focus on greater joint working / learning between the regions both in Australia and Globally

    Squiz2015-12-09
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Fantastic hardworking people, flexible environment, and as rewarding as you make it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Canberra
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Squiz full-time

    Pros

    I get to work with creative problem solvers who want everyday to be better. Where ideas are always heard (and in many cases implemented) and there are a lot of opportunities for people who are passionate about making good things happen, for Squiz, and the customer.

    Cons

    The company is going through a few growing pains as it morphs into a bigger company because of recent technology and talent acquisitions, so it's natural to expect some teething issues until everyone figures it all out. Unfortunately those that can't figure it out tend to leave, which includes a few good people too.

    Advice to Management

    My manager is awesome

    Squiz2015-12-09
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work at a company that's going places"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends

      I have been working at Squiz for more than a year

      Pros

      Great people to work with in a friendly atmosphere. It is refreshing to work with people who really care about the brand and the customers.

      Cons

      Some employee perks now and again would be good.

      Squiz2015-12-09
    • Helpful (1)

      "Good company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at Squiz

      Pros

      Good company to work for though they are not as family friendly as they say they are. Company is growing and lots of opportunity if you are willing to seek it out and work hard - but they are not always clear/ obvious and largely depends on relationships (not achievement). Relaxed work environment, friendly team

      Cons

      Salaries are not high and they push for every billable hour

      Advice to Management

      Take care of your staff and they will stay and above and beyond.

      Squiz2015-11-08
    • Helpful (2)

      "Good place to work, growing fast lots of opportunity"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Squiz full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Great leadership with a strong vision. Lots of scope for teams to control execution. Super smart technical people who are driving innovation. Strong belief in being able to achieve anything. Good quality customers with a growing corporate exposure.

      Cons

      Periods of lots of work but trying to actively recruit to overcome.

      Advice to Management

      Keep letting the teams control the execution and fostering innovation.

      Squiz2015-09-03
    • "Happy to be here"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Implementer in Sydney
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Squiz

      Pros

      Flexible working arrangements, opportunities to do wat i want, and rewarded

      Cons

      None i can think of. Glassdoor wants me to write at least 20 words duh ;(

      Advice to Management

      None

      Squiz2015-09-01
    • Helpful (4)

      "Lots of potential, leadership struggling with growth"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Melbourne
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Squiz for more than 3 years

      Pros

      There are some really talented technical people to learn from. Current CMS product manager is great - real customer focus even when working with internal teams. NZ team is whip smart. Polish team is growing really well. Australia is trying to get away from slower government client base (great news for a digital company). UK holding on. Some great managers at middle management, willing to help other teams....

      Show More

      Cons

      Suffering from small company syndrome - all decisions centralised into a very small team which slows things down, and good people leave. Designs are getting really tired. Some Team leaders promoted based on technical skill with no people skills at all. Leadership takes no accountability. Results in staff stress and high turn over. Production teams are working harder not smarter - no investment in technology...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Actually commit to the people who work hard for you and who contribute great ideas. Create a clear long term goal for the company and then a plan to achieve it with the input of your staff. Speed up innovation. This could be a great company if the Managing Directors are willing to trust their staff.

      Squiz2015-05-19
    • Helpful (1)

      "Wide range of interesting projects and challenges"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Systems Administrator in Hobart
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Squiz full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      * There's a lot of scope for creativity and problem solving * Great team environment, amazing colleagues * Top tier clients in government, enterprise and education space * Decent remuneration * Growing focus on employee satisfaction * Amazing CEO * Flat management structure, anyone can talk to upper management

      Cons

      * Very busy, lots of tight deadlines * A big emphasis on timesheets * Tendency to pander to fussy clients

      Advice to Management

      You're doing a good job. Remember that staff satisfaction is as important as client satisfaction and sometimes the answer can be "no."

      Squiz2015-03-30
    Found 82 reviews