Squiz Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Squiz Reviews

Updated 18 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
59%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Squiz CEO John-Paul Syriatowicz (no image)
John-Paul Syriatowicz
31 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Good Company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Squiz

    Pros

    It great working for a company who embraces the importance of enjoying each other's company as much as thier skills. There's food and recreation but what's more appealing is that everyone seems to get along well and this makes collaboration a natural behaviour. Management also seem to have a genuine care for people's wellbeing with some nice incentives in place to encourage looking after our health. There are also... good growth opportunities for people with talent.

    Show More

    Cons

    Can get pretty busy/ stressful sometimes if too many projects happen at once.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing it.

    Squiz2016-04-19
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Good Career Prospects"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Implementation Specialist in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Squiz full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good team. Everyone there is added value. There is no dead weight. Multiple teams— Funnelback, SugarCRM etc. Squiz is a hive of activity. Free snacks and beers on Friday Sydney Frontend Meetings are meetings where a topic is chosen, and discussed. Good place to bounce ideas around. Like a very quick "meet up" Varied projects which can be good/bad. After all it's an agency. Your own laptop. Either mac or pc.... I've grew very attached to mine Tons of space for hot desks. Pickup your lappy and then sit next to your collaboration partner Shower and bike-racks if that's your thing. You can go for a run at lunchtime (1hour) too if you wish, and some Squizers do that. Codewise: there's really good Grunt/Gulp boilerplate to get you working. CMS: If you're use WordPress before, there are *some* parallels. Everything fine tuned with parent-child relationships inside the system, and can be overridden too. Agency style work. It can be fast paced, and you're accountable for every minute of your time. However, because of the clients (mainly government funded entities) there are huge chunks of allocated time to work. There are no "small" cheap-ass clients. Squiz standards are enforced (WCAG)

    Show More

    Cons

    Matrix CRM: It's not really open source, you won't be able to install it off the web. Antiquated workflows.There's a hell of a lot of copying and pasting chunks of procedural jQuery code into text areas. It's all too easy to introduce bugs production sites. Not all clients have dev environments. Refactoring can be like defusing a bomb. Then there's a caching layer on some sites which prevent you from seeing... changes. There are repos for work, but because there is no gatekeeper (lead dev to check your work) there's a lot of stray branches around. You can only *assume* production is using master. General coding: You can't tinker with the system, you're stuck with its APIs (both good and bad). You'll be using an esoteric tag system to manage views, which takes quite some time to get your head around. ( to Squiz's credit they give you 4 — 6 weeks for this ). TDD and unit testing, is seen as little value, so if you like to be assured that your code works, you probably won't have time to write your tests. Workstyle: You'll be interrupted quite a bit. Requests come up all the time. I wasn't trained on Jira ( have used it before ) and information is scattered sometimes. This is the nature of agency work, so this is expected. Some project managers, are obviously better than others. Meticulous detail to timesheets and your scheduling. If you're not used to it, you soon will be. No code reviews. No peer programming. If your js works, then fine. But as you're working by yourself and you won't know you're doing it wrong.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Peer programming would be a good idea on some projects Introduce unit testing on all js code. It makes your coders better. It was brought up in discussion, only to be shot down as a client only requirement. Clients of course won't see the value of tests, however the next programmer sleuthing the code will!

    Squiz2016-04-20
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Squiz is the best place I have ever worked!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Squiz full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people Great technologies and projects Flexibility when needed Lots of snacks and treats to keep you going during the day

    Cons

    Genuinely can't think of any

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work

    Squiz2016-03-02
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Fantastic Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Squiz full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some of the best reasons to work at Squiz include a professional, high-performing workplace culture, autonomy and flexibility to succeed in your role and make it your own, supportive and helpful managers and career opportunities for advancement. Having been with Squiz for almost a year, I have been given opportunities to learn and grow both professional and personally, and have enjoyed building relationships... across the organisation with consummate professionals who are interested in helping Squiz customers get the best outcome possible. Teams are outfitted with the latest technologies, have access to full kitchen facilities and are able to take advantage of employee health programs, amongst other benefits.

    Show More

    Cons

    My role involves a fair bit of travel, but I knew that going in. My manager was open and hones with me about their expectations for the role, and the travel involved. I understand travel is a common part of the responsibilities for many Squizzers. Also, being an organisation on the leading edge of digital transformation projects and opportunities with large clients, it can feel like change is a constant state,... which might be exciting for some, painful for others.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Continue to find and recruit the best, brightest and most experienced people you can find, as they will be instrumental in Squiz's continued growth not only in Australia, but around the world.

    Squiz2016-01-28
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Amazing place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Squiz full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great people doing really clever and valuable stuff. The company has gone through a big transformation over the last few years but I feel like it's a better, even more impressive place as a result. I think the owners really care about the staff and clients and I think they've been smart to keep on adapting because this is a fast moving industry. Squiz isn't a very well known name in the market but I have a... feeling it is going to become much more famous over the next couple of years.

    Show More

    Cons

    There is always a lot to do, but if you don't mind being busy then that's cool. Lots of change can be a problem for some people but they tend not to last too long. If you dislike change, Squiz probably isn't the right place for you.

    Advice to Management

    Start an employee share scheme. Squiz could be the next Atlassian and you'll attract and help keep great staff if they can get some shares.

    Squiz2016-01-12
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Amazing team, interesting work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Squiz full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Squiz is my first company in Australia and I was very surprised to see beer, wine and coke in the fridge and ping-pong / pool table in the rest area. I thought all these "perks" will be a distraction and negatively affect productivity. Was glad to be proven wrong. People at Squiz, at least those I had an honour to work closely with are amazing. They are great professionals and keep a proper work/fun balance. I’ve... learnt a lot during my time in Squiz and keep learning every day. You are never bored in Squiz: there are always interesting projects to work on or issues to solve. The good thing, no matter what you are working on - you are not alone, there is someone who can help even if they are busy. I’ve made good friends and professional contacts here.

    Show More

    Cons

    Sometimes work load is a bit too high but I see it as just one of the challenges. Also, office environment is very modern/contemporary but with no sound insulation. There are neighbours upstairs who are noisy at times and it can be distracting when you try to concentrate. Noise cancelling headphones help during those moments.

    Squiz2016-01-07
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Great place to work with heaps of opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Squiz full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Squiz is a great place to work. Everyone on the team is very friendly and helpful. Some of the projects the guys are working on are massive. I had never worked on projects of that caliber before, so it was a bit intimidating at first. But as mentioned above, everyone is very helpful which makes it easy to get up to speed even with complex projects and technologies.

    Cons

    The workload can be a bit high at times, but nothing crazy either. That's the price to pay for having a chance to work by high standards I guess.

    Advice to Management

    The global communication could be better some times.

    Squiz2016-01-06
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Amazing company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Web Developer in Canberra
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Squiz full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I love working with honest-to-god top guns in multiple fields. CEO is a visionary with his finger on the pulse of the industry and listens to each and every idea. Decision making and the direction of the company is completely transparent. There are core people who stick around not just for the next pay check, but for the culture and innovation the company actively fosters. Bad apples tend to fall quite... quickly since the company actively seeks to hire and keep those with the right DNA.

    Show More

    Cons

    Sections of Squiz, particularly regional offices, tend to act a bit silo'd which the company has a long standing policy to try and counter.

    Advice to Management

    Keep working on breaking down those silos and fostering new ideas

    Squiz2015-12-09
  9. Helpful (10)

    "This company is getting worse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Squiz full-time

    Pros

    Some of the people are great.

    Cons

    Since I got hired, Squiz was never a great company to work for. Squiz is trying to look "cool" but is failing miserably! Squiz is unfair towards its employees: salaries, treatment to people. Some people can "bludge" all day talking about shoes or whatever their life is about, without having to show existence of work. While in the meantime, production people are pushed to do as much billable hours because as they... explain to us, our salaries depends on billable hours (that is logic). But maybe don't hire people that do nothing all day? Salaries: the BIG issue. Squiz does not pay what the industry is paying! The salary review depends on how good you are at negotiating (or how much guts you have) and how good you get along with certain people. Another sad move from Squiz: desperately trying to hide how bad the company is managed, and how poorly they treat their employees! Just look at Glassdoor reviews: the only few good reviews were published on the same day: 9th of December 2015… How strange! Looking from inside, Squiz is struggling so bad to hire good people… They interview, but as soon as they send the offer, the candidate turn it down. Good luck if you get hired, it is getting worse...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    For the good ones, keep it that way. For the bad ones, you are lucky that you get along with the right people… Unprofessional.

    Squiz2016-01-26
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Amazing Company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Brisbane
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Squiz

    Pros

    Flexible working arrangements, loads of career growth opportunities, amazing culture and people, fridge full of food for breakfast, lunch and snacks, Friday drinks, social events and staff parties.

    Cons

    You are forced to use a Mac, they don't supply PCs. :(

    Advice to Management

    Give your staff the option of either using a Mac or a PC like every other Tech company does, you will not only attract more employees but also keep them longer. ;)

    Squiz2015-12-09
Found 90 reviews