Squiz Employee Reviews about "senior management"

Updated Jul 7, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 12 of over 168 reviews

3.5
62%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Squiz Founder and Board Chair  John-Paul Syriatowicz (no image)
John-Paul Syriatowicz
10 Ratings
Pros
  • "The biggest pro at Squiz are the people that we are lucky enough to work alongside(in 21 reviews)

  • "Great people, very collaborative culture(in 17 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "old tech stack (Squiz is still in the Web 2(in 23 reviews)

  • "Slow decision making by senior management(in 12 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "senior management"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      What a great team, but senior management must step up

      May 14, 2020 - Senior Systems Support Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The culture at Squiz is supportive, vibrant, fun. I enjoyed coming to work each day to be with co-workers who became friends. We constantly challenged ourselves - everyone is very skilled and inspiring to be around. The Squiz DNA is apparent in everything that they do. I had opportunities to extend my skill set, and to travel interstate. I learnt a lot technically and also extended my "soft skills" a lot on this job. I became a mentor and trained new staff in our products, and I became very good at supporting customers over the phone, often being asked for by name by recurring customers. A complete turn-around to where I was before working at Squiz, I grew a lot thanks to this job. My immediate management was the best - technically savvy as well as good leaders. How often does it happen in IT that you can ask your boss for technical advice on how to do things, or have banter over the merits of encryption algorithms, or ways to enhance database queries? I really appreciated that. Also I really appreciated that I could rely on middle-management elsewhere in Squiz to have our backs (particularly in Melbourne), to Fight For Better, and to stop the BS, not be a DH, and help me to Find a Way (the Squiz Values don't pass Glassdoor's language censorship, which I find quite charming, and a strong Pro for Squiz, actually). Thanks to those Values being followed by team members, I was able to connect with anyone in the company for help on our customer's issues, and although my office was remote, we were constantly in the loop, and central to the day-to-day operations of the company.

      Cons

      Senior Management was not transparent, and it is difficult to discern the reasons behind a lot of the choices and directions taken, both technically and for the business. We were delayed for a long time with strategic infrastructure upgrades. Caused by a single individual with a lot of power and backing from the senior management. This cost the company a lot of extra work, risk, and money. After that individual left we were finally able to get on with the long overdue tasks. Still paying down technical debt because of this.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful

      Squiz Response

      Head of People & Culture

      Thank you for your honest feedback. Our people are what make us who we are and I am glad that your experience of your colleagues was embodied with DNA, that you had such a great manager and grew in your time. We are making big changes and transformation as an organisation as we're committed to ensuring our customers and we can navigate the future. There is always room for improvement and we're constantly reviewing how we do things to improve the way we operate and transparency for our people. The restructure has us working globally rather than regionally and we're witnessing improvement in how people work together. We do welcome insights to help us continually improve as an organisation.

    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Read reviews before considering..

      Jun 29, 2021 - Sales in Sydney
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Decent base salaries, especially considering the expectations around output/work.

      Cons

      Squiz review; If you’re reading this it’s because you’re considering employment with Squiz. Firstly, you’re already a step ahead of most for doing your research. I’d highly suggest spending some time reading the reviews here, looking for common themes/trends, as this is the best way of deciphering biased or ill intended posts from those who are sharing their real experiences for the benefit of others. What you must know; - The business is largely split into commerical and services (the result of being a digital agency for 20+ years who have recently decided to try their hand at SaaS). The experiences between the two will differ greatly. My points are related predominantly to the commerical side. There are some good people in services, however even they are beginning to feel the consequences of the culture. - Staff turnover - is overwhelmingly high e.g longest serving employee in APAC sales team has been there 6 months. Senior management/recruitment will try and convince you that this was a necessary step from transitioning towards saas. Dive deeper, reach out to ex employees, ask for stats around turnover etc. - With the significant staff turnover, brings about constant change in direction/strategy/leadership. Things will change abruptly with little notice, consideration, planning, justification and most importantly, data. - Accountability and transparency do not exist in the business. Very few people come into the office or do much work at all (widely known and discussed) which sounds good as you’ve got almost complete autonomy, until you realise this leads to very poor performance and morale. - Fairly directly related to the points above, the culture is one of uncertainty, frustration and inaction. Almost all people in the commerical side of the business are actively looking elsewhere. One of the only things keeping them there is the fact that they’re quite easily able to do little to no work for a fairly reasonable salary. - The product isn’t at all where it needs to be in the market. It’s very expensive, labour intensive and only offers some value to specific industries it’s been built for. This mainly impacts those in sales, as commissions are non existent and in turn leads to little to no job security. Given the length of this review, you’d expect I’ve highlighted every issue, however unfortunately these are only the major issues I’ve decided to share and it’s only scratching the surface. If you’ve read this far, I hope at the very least it helps guide your questions in the interview process. Unfortunately some of you reading this may be in a position where they need employment and would be tempted to accept a role at Squiz, despite the discussed concerns. If that is the case I empathise with you but also urge you to consider the follow on consequences if the role doesn’t work out as intended. You may find that you’re better off waiting for a role that doesn’t have a high likelihood of putting you in a worse position than you’re in now. Best of luck and I hope this review was of some value.

      Continue reading
      17 people found this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Save yourself the career regression and avoid this complex dinosaur

      May 20, 2021 - Marketing 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - A diverse, interesting group of people to work with - Before the COVID redundancies in April 2020, the culture was fantastic. Since then it became an extremely depressing place to work

      Cons

      Where to start. - Extremely slow decision making by senior management, making it nearly impossible to launch a marketing campaign - Senior management lacks an understanding of marketing fundamentals. They invested in a very capable marketing team but left us to rot with zero marketing budget to work with, cutting us off at the knees at every attempt to grow the business. A very frustrating cycle if you want to make a difference and grow - For a "digital" company, there is no understanding of the importance of digital advertising to drive leads or content to drive awareness - Overly complex structure and processes for no reason - Very uncertain future when looking at the growth of the company - Sexist and discriminative behaviour went unnoticed - New addition to senior leadership was a very poor decision, resulting in several people leaving. Started a rude, blame game culture - The vast majority of the UK office was kept on furlough for months with no communication, only to be sacked all of a sudden when they could have spent months looking for jobs - The sales team is set up for failure with no training on how to sell many, complex products to different industries and departments. As the marketing engine was unsupported there was literally nothing for sales to work with - The product team are making impressive progress, but compared to our competitors it's 5 years too late Avoid Squiz if you're a driven marketing or sales professional. Once you leave Squiz for another tech company, you actually understand (or remember) what it's like to work in an innovative, data-driven and high-growth organisation.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful

      Squiz Response

      Head of People & Culture

      Thank you for providing us with your perspective. We do really value the feedback from our people both past and present; and take this into consideration, along with other factors. To anyone in the organisation, please do reach out and speak to us if there is anything you want us to hear about or anything that you feel is going unnoticed. I personally want to address the sexist and discriminatory behaviour you call out and from my perspective I am disappointed if that has been your experience. We do not condone such behaviours, have policies in place for that very reason, and anything that I have been made aware of, I believe has been dealt with swiftly and appropriately to the situation. There is always room for improvement and we are committed to simplifying and better decision-making as well as getting a clearer view of our strategy to share across the organisation and track progress. Sales and Marketing are vital to this business and this is a focal point for us. I know that for our marketing people they have experienced challenges. We have recently realigned our sales structure under clear regional leads and are ensuring our marketing is truly partnered with regular connection points as we push towards our goals. I believe that as we progress our plans the experience for anyone in the future will be a better one. Thanks, Helen

    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Squiz has no idea how to win new business, they backed the wrong horse.

      Jul 30, 2020 - Sales in Sydney
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice offices, some quality staff

      Cons

      Success internally is based on things other than performance. If you speak the truth, you are likely to be frowned upon if it is not what senior management want to hear. It looks all shiny from the outside, but really there is a lot of politics playing out.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful

      Squiz Response

      Head of People & Culture

      We welcome and take feedback seriously as we want to make this a great place to work. Like everyone, we don't always get it right but we do respond and put things in place when it makes sense. We're committed to this being a place where our people can do their best work, and a choice for our customers because we make a difference, and being authentic is an important part of this.

    5. 1.0
      Current Employee

      Run

      Apr 14, 2017 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      An amazing group of peers

      Cons

      Senior management only in it for the buck

      12 people found this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Graduate Program

      Aug 15, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in Melbourne
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Good start for a technically minded web developer - Casual environment, snacks, Friday beers - Received training in their CMS, Squiz Matrix

      Cons

      Severe lack of respect towards the three graduates who undertook the program. Almost 2 months of UNPAID work, during which we weren't told any remuneration details about the "implementer" role that we were expected to move into (implementer glassdoor salary is 58k). The position description was then changed to "Graduate Implementer" which offered 39k excluding superannuation (I'd make more working at Coles). Senior management kept making cruel jokes related to us not getting payed. Felt like my degree and previous experience meant nothing.

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful

      Squiz Response

      I’m disappointed to hear you felt disrespected. To date, I’ve only had positive feedback from graduates I’ve spoken to so I was not aware there was an issue that needed attention. I’ll investigate the respect comment as a matter of priority. Your suggestion of more transparency around salary progression opportunities is a good one. I’ve spoken to our head of HR, and we’ve agreed to make sure we discuss possible career pathways (including salary indications) with prospective graduates before they accept a position into the program.

    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Good People, Sad Company

      Jan 15, 2015 - Account Manager in Melbourne
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - OK facilities in Melbourne - Decent tech team - Almost unlimited marketing/PR budget

      Cons

      - Massive staff turnover, you literally speak to someone in the morning and they will be gone that afternoon. - High workloads to meet unrealistic deadlines mean high stress levels among teams - Poor people skills at senior management & HR levels - Less than competitive salary for most roles

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      This is not a good moment to join Squiz as most of experienced staff has left or got fired.

      Jul 7, 2021 - Technical Consultant in Szczecin, West Pomerania
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Still some great and experienced people. An opportunity to work in international environment.

      Cons

      Company do not care about people anymore. Salaries are below the market level. Lack of opportunities to grow. A lot of work needs to be done in evenings. Company is in very unstable and difficult moment. A lot of promises from management with no coverage. A lot of people who worked for years are leaving. Squiz is trying to transform for two years now. Management is focused on new business model but completely forgot about the people. Slow decision making by senior management. New addition to senior leadership was a very poor decision, resulting in several people leaving. No salary reviews for 3 years - just promises with no cover. No clear strategy and poor sales - lack of interesting projects.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Some really talented great people, some disastrous business & product decisions

      Oct 13, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people made it both professionally and culturally.

      Cons

      Some very very talented people who were sadly let down by senior management. UK was often left to rot by the AU management team. The lack of leadership in the UK killed the business. Backing an already dated product in DXP whilst other agencies moved forward effected us being successful in the markets we moved in.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Squiz Uk is a joke

      Jul 22, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Let me think....free milk and cereal and beers on friday

      Cons

      This company is absolutely a joke and so glad that I am not employed in Squiz anymore! It was a nightmare experience which I will not recommend to anybody except for those people that like this kind of nepotism place ! Every day you see people been promoted only because were friends of the senior management team and the people do the actual work has been feeling the consequence of this! it is a nasty place that only nasty people can be comfortable to work in.

      Continue reading
      13 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 12 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Squiz Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Squiz? Share Your Experiences

    Squiz logo
    or