Squiz Employee Reviews about "senior management"

Updated 14 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
60%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
Squiz CEO John-Paul Syriatowicz (no image)
John-Paul Syriatowicz
36 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "senior management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Rewarding Place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Squiz full-time

    Pros

    Fast growing company with lots of opportunity to work on new exciting projects. Great culture and a fun place to work with great social activities.There is a good team culture with a great can do attitude especially in the NSW team where I work. There is a good open door policy to Senior Management

    Cons

    The work is hard and there are deadlines, but realistically this is the same in all companies, especially successful ones.

    Continue reading
    Squiz2015-12-09
  2. Helpful (1)

    "What a great team, but senior management must step up"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Systems Support Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Squiz full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The culture at Squiz is supportive, vibrant, fun. I enjoyed coming to work each day to be with co-workers who became friends. We constantly challenged ourselves - everyone is very skilled and inspiring to be around. The Squiz DNA is apparent in everything that they do. I had opportunities to extend my skill set, and to travel interstate. I learnt a lot technically and also extended my "soft skills" a lot on this job. I became a mentor and trained new staff in our products, and I became very good at supporting customers over the phone, often being asked for by name by recurring customers. A complete turn-around to where I was before working at Squiz, I grew a lot thanks to this job. My immediate management was the best - technically savvy as well as good leaders. How often does it happen in IT that you can ask your boss for technical advice on how to do things, or have banter over the merits of encryption algorithms, or ways to enhance database queries? I really appreciated that. Also I really appreciated that I could rely on middle-management elsewhere in Squiz to have our backs (particularly in Melbourne), to Fight For Better, and to stop the BS, not be a DH, and help me to Find a Way (the Squiz Values don't pass Glassdoor's language censorship, which I find quite charming, and a strong Pro for Squiz, actually). Thanks to those Values being followed by team members, I was able to connect with anyone in the company for help on our customer's issues, and although my office was remote, we were constantly in the loop, and central to the day-to-day operations of the company.

    Cons

    Senior Management was not transparent, and it is difficult to discern the reasons behind a lot of the choices and directions taken, both technically and for the business. We were delayed for a long time with strategic infrastructure upgrades. Caused by a single individual with a lot of power and backing from the senior management. This cost the company a lot of extra work, risk, and money. After that individual left we were finally able to get on with the long overdue tasks. Still paying down technical debt because of this.

    Continue reading
    Squiz2020-05-14
  3. Helpful (3)

    "PHP Developer"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    PHP Developer in Sydney
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Squiz for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Senior management are top notch and really care about the company. This flows down to most employees with pretty good attitudes throughout the organisation. They have many offices scattered around the place so chance to work with people form different locations.

    Cons

    The work seems to be a little old school and behind the times. Working on large government and enterprise software can be more about meetings than solving interesting problems.

    Continue reading
    Squiz2017-04-22
  4. Helpful (10)

    "Run"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Squiz

    Pros

    An amazing group of peers

    Cons

    Senior management only in it for the buck

    Squiz2017-04-14
  5. Helpful (10)

    "Graduate Program"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graduate in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Squiz full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Good start for a technically minded web developer - Casual environment, snacks, Friday beers - Received training in their CMS, Squiz Matrix

    Cons

    Severe lack of respect towards the three graduates who undertook the program. Almost 2 months of UNPAID work, during which we weren't told any remuneration details about the "implementer" role that we were expected to move into (implementer glassdoor salary is 58k). The position description was then changed to "Graduate Implementer" which offered 39k excluding superannuation (I'd make more working at Coles). Senior management kept making cruel jokes related to us not getting payed. Felt like my degree and previous experience meant nothing.

    Continue reading
    Squiz2016-08-15

    Squiz Response

    August 16, 2016

    I’m disappointed to hear you felt disrespected. To date, I’ve only had positive feedback from graduates I’ve spoken to so I was not aware there was an issue that needed attention. I’ll investigate the respect comment as a matter of priority. Your suggestion of more transparency around salary progression opportunities is a good one. I’ve spoken to our head of HR, and we’ve agreed to make sure we discuss possible career pathways (including salary indications) with prospective graduates before they accept a position into the program.

  6. Helpful (7)

    "Good People, Sad Company"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Squiz full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - OK facilities in Melbourne - Decent tech team - Almost unlimited marketing/PR budget

    Cons

    - Massive staff turnover, you literally speak to someone in the morning and they will be gone that afternoon. - High workloads to meet unrealistic deadlines mean high stress levels among teams - Poor people skills at senior management & HR levels - Less than competitive salary for most roles

    Continue reading
    Squiz2015-01-15
  7. Helpful (8)

    "Nice people, and recent management changes are making a big difference. Great experience so far."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Squiz full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great bunch of friendly and enthusiastic people. A senior management team that has recognised previous issues, has made important changes, and is conscious of the need to listen and act on feedback. Opportunity to learn from some pretty talented people that are happy to share their experiences.

    Cons

    None. Feels like a 'managerial emergence' of sorts is happening making it a positive place to work.

    Continue reading
    Squiz2017-03-20
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Great place to work!"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Squiz full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Amazing team. It's no secret that not so long ago there was a high turnover of staff. Although this was tough, we are left with a great team of people who are all invested in the success of the business. - Good career progression with opportunities to try different things that aren't strictly 'your job'. - The senior management has changed for the better. The business was very upfront about the problems in the office and have been transparent as to how we are going to go about fixing them. - The London office particularly is moving towards providing very innovative solutions that we can all feel proud of. - The new MD has brought with him tons of great industry experience which was lacking in senior management before. - Flexi-time is an awesome benefit that i can't imagine not having now. - Great office culture with genuine friendships. I look forward to coming into work everyday.

    Cons

    - Sometimes you still feel the hangover of the bad management and bad implementations that were done before many of the current staff even worked here. It's going to take a long time to fix these problems. - The positive culture changes are usually felt in the more commercial side of the business (sales, marketing, account management), before trickling down to the technical teams. - Many of the poor management choices that negatively affected the UK for quite some time where driven by head office in Australia. Because of this there is a lack of trust for this key part of the business that will take time to rebuild.

    Continue reading
    Squiz2017-03-24
  9. Helpful (13)

    "Squiz Uk is a joke"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Squiz full-time

    Pros

    Let me think....free milk and cereal and beers on friday

    Cons

    This company is absolutely a joke and so glad that I am not employed in Squiz anymore! It was a nightmare experience which I will not recommend to anybody except for those people that like this kind of nepotism place ! Every day you see people been promoted only because were friends of the senior management team and the people do the actual work has been feeling the consequence of this! it is a nasty place that only nasty people can be comfortable to work in.

    Continue reading
    Squiz2016-07-22
  10. Helpful (9)

    "Good people but company lacks vision and has poor management"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in London, England
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Squiz

    Pros

    Non management staff gel reasonably well and there is a good social atmosphere at work Although benefits are poor if you prove yourself (say 12 months) they are happy to throw cash and job titles at you to stay Office facilities are good, ping pong table, break-out areas and a well staffed kitchen Good work/life balance (but you have to be disciplined)

    Cons

    Not moving fast enough for a tech company, internal tech systems are a joke Poor management - just a lot of BS management talk, no real leader to guide the business, personal relationships between senior management also add to an air of unprofessionalism and some nepotism High staff turnover mostly related to the two items listed above Many clients are definitely over serviced to the point unnecessary stress is put on staff to deliver Doesn't really have that cool tech company vibe, you wouldn't think this business is 10 years old

    Continue reading
    Squiz2014-12-31
Found 11 reviews