St.George Bank Employee Reviews about "customer service"

Updated Jul 8, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 110 of over 114 reviews

3.5
68%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
St.George Bank General Manager Ross Miller and Cathy Yuncken (no image)
Ross Miller and Cathy Yuncken
46 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great culture, great flexibility and good work life balance(in 7 reviews)

  • "Team is great, staff benefits, great starting point if you want to get into banking(in 5 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "limited opportunities for career progression(in 4 reviews)

  • "St George is where you create your career(in 4 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "customer service"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      customer advisor

      May 8, 2021 - Customer Advisor in Sydney
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      flexible , jpb is not too hard

      Cons

      stressful, sales target , need to call customer

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Review

      Jul 8, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good culture, great team environment

      Cons

      Bad systems, too many systems to use

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Refocus is needed

      Apr 21, 2021 - Senior Manager in Brisbane
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It's a large bank with plenty of opportunity to progress your career across the Westpac group. There are plenty of programs to assist in career development that you have access to.

      Cons

      They have really lost focus on what is important in banking and that being the customer. The multi layered management structure from board level down with respect to the KPI drivers don't facilitate customer best interests and at often times contradict across business units. They have really lost their way in understanding client needs as the focus is all about maximising share holder value which is still important but not in the way it's being delivered. There is no point achieving growth at the expense of little margin and providing poor client outcomes.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Overall good experience

      May 15, 2021 - Customer Service Advisor in Sydney
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - good training - friendly colleagues

      Cons

      -need patience for customer service

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Hard to progress

      Jun 9, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Welcomes high school graduates and uni students

      Cons

      No career growth, managers don’t care about staff’s development, much politics and managers form their own clubs so people with closer relationships get more opportunities

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      N/A

      Jun 18, 2021 - Administration Officer in Sydney
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A very relaxed place to work

      Cons

      Really bad benefits and pay

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      not too bad

      Jun 15, 2021 - Customer Service Advisor in Sydney
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      team members dep on branch bonus and pay benefits

      Cons

      very focused on KPIs stressful environment

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Best place to work

      Apr 26, 2021 - ICT Support Officer in Sydney
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Good Hours - Good work culture - Caring leadership

      Cons

      - Storage Space - Communication - Personal Development Programs

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Please don't work here

      Apr 14, 2021 - Customer Service Advisor in Sydney
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Good online modules training and recruitment process (from before first day to end of first week) - I got along very well with my team and they were supportive with my learning throughout my time at STG. - Uniforms provided - No public holiday or weekend work. Branch opening (9:30) and closure time (4pm) was convenient. - I worked across multiple different branches across my region and it seems some people were lucky with a great branch manager.

      Cons

      The only reason I don't give STG a 1 star rating was because most employees I came across working in branches were great and made working at this company bearable. While all the pros mentioned above made things easier, it was all far outweighed by the cons. - While modules were useful and recruitment was good, there was no structure in regards to training on the floor, resources and support. I know as I was leaving my region was looking to change onboarding and training operations so I won't go too far into it. However I will say my manager just said we didn't have the resources to do things compliantly/with support so I should just bring customers in and blindly quote home and car quotes without any training. - While from the outside it looks like bankers have great work/life balance, there is absolutely no flexibility within the business. E.g. for sick/carers leave you have to provide a doctors certificate everyday you are unwell after your 2nd day off in an ENTIRE CALENDAR YEAR. This may be easy for some but working in a regional area it isn't easy to get into a doctor within a few hours. For annual leave you have 2 opportunities a year to file for annual leave. These blocks are scheduled like you're putting in annual leave in November 2020 for March 2020-August 2021 and only one employee from a branch at a time. This just doesn't work for me and doesn't for a lot of your employees. My manager wouldn't allow me to take any annual leave for my first 12 months (not an actual clause in my contract, she just didnt allow me) and how the annual leave schedule would work I wasn't able to take annual leave till 18 months into the role. My manager would also call up our employees and try to cancel their annual leave days when we were short staffed. I find this to be unacceptable. - It seems as though from my experience at other branches I was incredibly unlucky with the manager that I received. I left this role with severe anxiety, and had to have therapy from how this manager treated me and their staff. I heard from other branches from employees that worked under this manager in the past that they also had bad mental health spouts with this manager. Just a few examples I can think of off the top of my head: this manager told me I wasn't allowed to get pregnant or be off contraception till 2022, told me that I should put my child in the foster care system because they thought my child would start impacting my sales, was told when I took a sick day (I took 2 days within a 9 month period) that I was severely impacting the business , had no regard for the business and that we were short staffed and that I needed to come in no matter how sick i was. - I've been in sales environments in the past (roles that were over 60% commission) yet this was another level. The sales were pushed on us to the point where I found it to be unethical. I couldn't push another h&c insurance and home loan onto an 85 year old regular customer. We were told so many times that it doesn't matter if it was an actual requirement or not that we HAD to quote this, we HAD to have the customer take this out and were told "just tell the customer they have no other option" on numerous occasions. Sounds very similar to the ANZ class action that's happening right now.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Great starting career

      Apr 22, 2021 - Customer Service Representative in Brisbane
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing people to work with Room to grow

      Cons

      Pressure on sales Unnecessary competition

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 110 Reviews

    Popular Careers with St.George Bank Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at St.George Bank? Share Your Experiences

    St.George Bank logo
    or