Stantec Reviews

Updated 3 Jun 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
70%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Stantec President and CEO Gord Johnston
Gord Johnston
171 Ratings
  1. "Large Company with Small Company Connections"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Stantec full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Chases large projects across the world. Room to grow and change disciplines. With size, you can specialize much more than other firms. Most management is very involved and brings value to projects. Flexible work schedules & work from home. Work/Life balance is excellent. Staff seems to really enjoy their work.

    Cons

    Have to fight for every penny of your wage. (get offers from competitors) Safety forms get to be extremely daunting and redundant. The corporate structure can seem a bit difficult to work with at times. Some offices struggle to work outside of their regions. Company events lack across the region.

    Continue reading
    Stantec2020-06-03
  2. "Good place to identify passion in different fields"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analytics Consultant in Fredericton, NB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Stantec full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of opportunities in different sectors Room for growth Benefits

    Cons

    Can take a while to get things done due to large workforce

    Stantec2020-06-01
  3. "Good place to start a career, better place to leave once you hit intermediate"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative 
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Stantec full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great place to start a career and get experience. The employee resource groups are excellent (although not well advertised). Those I did work with closely were (for the most part) excellent people, especially those in the junior to intermediate category.

    Cons

    Very little sick time. I encountered a lot of sexism and “old boys club” mentality. My biggest complaint is the lack of compensation, they piled more and more responsibility on me, but my male counter parts, who were significantly below me on the org chart, we’re making 25-40% more. Leadership is convinced that they’re at the top of the industry in terms of their compensation, but in reality, their heads are in the sand. Little clarity around who gets promotions, those who uphold the old boys club continue to get promoted. Because of poor compensation, Stantec seems to have long term low performers, high performers tend to move onto other positions.

    Continue reading
    Stantec2020-05-31
  4. "An EPC company, same as others"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Engineer in Calgary, AB

    I worked at Stantec full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The payment is not that bad.

    Cons

    There is not job security.

    Stantec2020-05-29
  5. "Stantec"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Structural Engineer in Reading, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Stantec full-time

    Pros

    Caring management for a large company

    Cons

    Long hours, goes with the industry

    Continue reading
    Stantec2020-05-29
  6. "Very Professional and Helpful- from Coworkers to Management"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Architectural Designer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Stantec full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The architecture side of things give you a chance to get involved with the technical challenges and specifications for building a project. Work for city agencies and larger companies provides exposure to high standards and operating procedures.

    Cons

    The company is large so you should be ready to fill the role that you were hired for. While this means there are set expectations this can be a very good thing when just starting our. Helpful critique and opportunity to get involved with career development balances this.

    Continue reading
    Stantec2020-05-28
  7. "Review"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Calgary, AB

    I worked at Stantec full-time

    Pros

    - people working on projects are passionate about their work

    Cons

    - opportunities to advance (responsibility and pay) are limited

    Stantec2020-05-28
  8. "Good place to start"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pipeline EIT in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Stantec full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Plenty of opportunity to grow.

    Cons

    Can be forgotten about by management.

    Stantec2020-05-27
  9. "Good"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Mechanical Engineer in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Stantec full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Culture, community, commitment, accessiblity, knowledge and experience

    Cons

    Publicly traded, difficult to understand make up of organisation

    Stantec2020-05-25
  10. "Great company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technician 

    I have been working at Stantec full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great social team & interesting projects

    Cons

    Salary is not the greatest

    Stantec2020-05-22
Found 1087 reviews