Starwood Hotels & Resorts Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Starwood Hotels & Resorts Reviews

Updated 12 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1963 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
73%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Starwood Hotels & Resorts CEO Adam Aron
Adam Aron
375 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "F and b"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Starwood Hotels & Resorts full-time

    Pros

    Good manager is so friendly

    Cons

    Good place to work

    Advice to Management

    Food for employees

    Starwood Hotels & Resorts2019-04-01
  2. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Starwood Hotels & Resorts full-time

    Pros

    Great team at the time

    Cons

    Salary not that great oppose to hours you put in

    Advice to Management

    Look after staff

    Starwood Hotels & Resorts2018-05-09
  3. "Low pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Starwood Hotels & Resorts

    Pros

    Benefits Hotel parking Quarterly awards Service culture training

    Cons

    Low pay Lack of progression Unfair distribution of work

    Starwood Hotels & Resorts2017-06-20
  4. "Marketing Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Starwood Hotels & Resorts full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good career opportunities if you are patient.

    Cons

    Average work environment, no investment in training, poor pay, almost always understaffed as no one stays around for long when the competition offers the better packages. The merger with Marriott is slow and frustrating, things seem to take even longer than before. Very little communication and 'people first' was certainly not the case for many Starwood-legacy team members who had to leave whilst the Marriott guys sit...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Value the staff you've got, especially those who really commit - in 8+ years, that has rarely been the case. Working on my career move now as it's been enough.

    Starwood Hotels & Resorts2017-03-21
  5. "Amazing company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Starwood Hotels & Resorts

    Pros

    Great staff benefits and good bonus scheme.

    Cons

    Longer than usual working hours.

    Starwood Hotels & Resorts2016-02-07
  6. "Account Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Director in Sydney
    Recommends
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Starwood Hotels & Resorts for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Fast paced, good people, innovation, strong sales culture

    Cons

    High pressure, poor work-life balance

    Starwood Hotels & Resorts2015-08-25
  7. "Great company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bartender in Sydney
    Recommends
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Starwood Hotels & Resorts

    Pros

    Strong management ability. Fast career progress for those who show they are serious about the industry. Amply communcation from the top down

    Cons

    Pay is low but this is industry wide and is outweighted by some of the benifits. Long hours can be common to progress quickly.

    Advice to Management

    Rememer that some staff are happy just having a job and are not after a career as such. Have more faith in your staff

    Starwood Hotels & Resorts2010-03-26
  8. "Great place, amazing people, lots of regulations however"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - GSA 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Starwood Hotels & Resorts part-time

    Pros

    people are great, positive, all passionate about providing quality service

    Cons

    strict management, lots of restrictions

    Starwood Hotels & Resorts2019-08-12
  9. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager Sales Support Europe in Cork
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Starwood Hotels & Resorts full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Company core values Benefits & Pay Possibilities of advancing within the company

    Cons

    Over the 16 years I spent working for Starwood, I only have positive things to say

    Starwood Hotels & Resorts2019-08-11
  10. "Great company for professional development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Revenue Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Starwood Hotels & Resorts full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Very thorough trainings, lots of investment in systems and business intelligence, great management, clear policies and procedures

    Cons

    Hospitality jobs in general pay lower than other industries

    Starwood Hotels & Resorts2019-08-01
Found 1963 reviews