State Street Business Analyst Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

State Street Business Analyst Reviews

Updated 12 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 58 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
42%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
State Street CEO Ronald O’Hanley
Ronald O’Hanley
2 Ratings
  1. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Business Analyst in Quincy, MA
    Recommends

    I worked at State Street for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work. Very casual work environment.

    Cons

    Salary can be low sometimes for some designations

    State Street2019-09-13
  2. "GOOD"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at State Street full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work Culture , Timings , Location, Opportunity

    Cons

    Policies, Infrastructures , Teams, Rules

    Advice to Management

    Nothing

    State Street2019-06-30
  3. "Get away asap"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Analyst in Luxembourg
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at State Street full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I can't see any, seriously. If you look for an unorganised environment that's your place.

    Cons

    Practically no training, bad management, no clear objectives, long hours when deadlines come closer, lots of annoying and useless pressures, useless double checks on everything, most of the job is outsourced to homeworkers based in Poland, people work there only to cash their paychecks. Most of the people don't know what they are doing, no benefits, expensive canteen, poor food, no teamworking, no values, everybody... is depressed

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Step back if you can't manage your employees. When people lose their motivation the ship begins to sink

    State Street2019-06-16
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Just like any other job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst, Officer in Quincy, MA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at State Street full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    6% 401k Match Work is not difficult Non hostile work environment Work from home (up to manager discretion)

    Cons

    Lots of layoffs Health Insurance high deductibles Bad raises / bonuses Currently in hiring freeze (can't even move laterally within the company)

    Advice to Management

    Treat your valued employees well and don't allow people to skate by doing barely the minimum.

    State Street2019-02-04
  5. "Horrible environment.....layoff mill"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Business Systems Analyst in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at State Street full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    My direct team is ok and allows some flexibility.

    Cons

    No money for raises and bonuses cut. Backwards technology ( where are the laptops??). Talk about flexibility but each manager has their own spin on it. Lots of layoffs, and downgrades of roles as people leave ( Senior BA with CFA cert. leaves, backfilled with a junior person).

    Advice to Management

    Really need the new CEO to inject some hope here. Hurry up with the reorg and seriously reconsider the Channel center. ( The building flooded last year when I had meetings there)

    State Street2019-02-21
  6. "Lack of management and unprofessionalism"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Business Analyst in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at State Street for less than a year

    Pros

    A vast range of tools that employees can use. A library of training material.

    Cons

    The management at the firm lack appropriate guidance when it comes to giving work to analysts. Takes at least a week to receive access to each tool.

    Advice to Management

    Hire proper Project Managers, not ones that are unprofessional.

    State Street2019-02-21
  7. "Assistant Manager - Business Analysy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Hyderābād
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at State Street full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - work life balance - new office (Hyderabad) - work from home - cab facility ( 3500 reimbursed if cab facility is not availed)

    Cons

    - monotonous & manual work, nothing challenging in terms of latest technology that the other financial services companies are working on ( webservices, ui-ux) - service company culture. Even though it is a custodian bank, no work on innovation of own applications. - one needs to punch in and out time daily online. - managers are pushy & permanent BA's seem demotivated, only vendor BA's are... enthusiastic - people are not very professional(the way they talk), including managers

    Show More
    State Street2018-10-24
  8. "State Street review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at State Street full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    In downtown Boston, location is great.

    Cons

    Hostile environment, management likes to downgrade employees achievements. Luck of training and help.

    Advice to Management

    Work on changing corporate culture. Pay attention to your employees.

    State Street2018-11-03
  9. "Quality Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Systems Analyst in Princeton, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at State Street full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Well run corporation. Solid benefits with matching 401(k), health plans, and vacation days. Time off and bonus money increases based on level within company. Lots of small perks such as classes, discounts and social activities.

    Cons

    I did not see a solid career path. A bit boring at times.

    State Street2018-07-10

    State Street Response

    August 13, 2018State Street

    Thank you very much for providing your feedback. I agree that our benefit options are great. Here at State Street, employees have a vast array of benefits that we can take advantage of, including 401k matching, competitive health plans, paid vacation, flexible work arrangements as ...

    Show More
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Analyst in Jacksonville, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at State Street full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    3 weeks vacation, good health benefits

    Cons

    Poor management, employees laid off without notice.

    State Street2017-09-07
Found 58 reviews