State Street Fund Accountant Associate II Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

State Street Fund Accountant Associate II Reviews

Updated 28 Sep 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 37 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
29%
Recommend to a Friend
State Street CEO Ronald O’Hanley
Ronald O’Hanley
0 Ratings
  1. "Good experience. Low pay."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fund Accountant, Associate II in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at State Street full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very flexible with schedule Work from home is an option Class A office Casual dress except for when clients visit 6% 401k match Lots of vacation time Good experience

    Cons

    Health insurance sucks Parking is $115/month Low pay No training

    Advice to Management

    Get your employees better health insurance options. Pay for parking. There is zero training structure for new employees.

    State Street2018-09-28
  2. "Hire more staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fund Accountant, Associate II in Drogheda

    I worked at State Street

    Pros

    Friendly colleagues. Informal atmosphere. Good pension contributions, health insurance. Salary decent for location, annual leave very fair.

    Cons

    Overworked and understaffed. Outdated IT systems, too much manual work. Lack of training due to staff being so busy. It becomes a vicious circle. Work being outsourced to India.

    Advice to Management

    Hire more staff, invest in technology and training. Spend more time resolving issues and less time on manual processes

    State Street2018-08-08
  3. Helpful (6)

    "Associate - Singapore office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fund Accountant Associate II in Singapore
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at State Street

    Pros

    None other than the office in Capita Tower.

    Cons

    It's a very bad company to work with. - they do not value capable people. They value people who are good at talking and playing politics. That said, compensation, reward and recognition is not fair. If you're good at making yourself "seen" and can be submissive, this place is for you. You will be able to progress within the company fast. You don't need to be good at work. - state street Singapore works like a small...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Value the right people in your company if you value your client.

    State Street2017-05-22
  4. "Decent place to get your feet wet in the finance industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fund Accountant Associate II in South Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at State Street full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits are good for all involved as vacation days, health care, maternity/paternity leave go well beyond industry averages. Working from home is also a perk to those who want to.

    Cons

    Fewer challenging tasks and it is difficult facilitating growth to higher earning analytical jobs. The benefits are such that it seems people work there primarily for the benefits and as a result there is a lot of unrealized potential

    State Street2017-01-12
  5. "Fund Accountant 2"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fund Accountant Associate II in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at State Street full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fast paced environment with opportunity to move laterally within the company and participate in training or continuing education programs.

    Cons

    Repetitive daily tasks without much variety or opportunity to be creative. Groups often operate in relative isolation with very little personal interaction.

    Advice to Management

    Using performance metrics to evaluate employees is a limited strategy for motivating employees. Finding alternative ways to reward and measure the value of employees would be beneficial.

    State Street2016-12-04
  6. "Decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fund Accountant Associate II in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at State Street

    Pros

    Easy, good start to career good for cv

    Cons

    Money is poor in comparison with similar roles in other companies

    Advice to Management

    Train staff do understand not just complete tasks

    State Street2016-11-28
  7. "Mixed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fund Accountant Associate II in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at State Street full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Reputable company so looks good on your Cv. Good team to work with, opportunity to get promoted if you get on with people and are seen to be working hard.

    Cons

    Poor training (as you shadow a more experienced ember of staff so if they aren't sure How To do it then you aren't either) which leads to errors and salary is average compared to other fund administrators. Repititve work day in day out. Don't engage in staff retention until someone hands in there notice.

    State Street2016-12-04
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Wasted too much time getting paid too little"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fund Accountant Associate II 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at State Street full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Opportunity to work from home (depending on which team you're on), decent benefits (health, vacation, 401k match, sick pay). Good to put on your resume as it is a well known corporation.

    Cons

    Below average pay, lack of technology, difficult to move up, poor management, high turnover rate, lots of favoritism, no job security (layoffs), raises were a joke, forced to work 50+ hours a week (depending on which team you're on).

    Advice to Management

    Understand why you are constantly losing good/hard working employees.

    State Street2016-10-01
  9. Helpful (12)

    "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fund Accountant Associate II in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at State Street full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I joined the Future Focus accelerated development program straight away on graduating college last year and I have had nothing but good experiences with the company. I am currently in the Investor Services Americas division and I work with a great team. My manager and the upper management of the organization are really interested in getting us involved in projects outside of the day to day work and I can see that they're...

    Show More

    Cons

    Day to day work can be pretty routine and boring, but you can get involved in committees and projects on other initiatives. I'm an ambassador for our digital transformation program, so that gets me to see other aspects of the organization rather than just daily deliverables.

    Advice to Management

    Be more visible - it's good to see some of the execs are on our intranet platform and are blogging, but it would be good to see more of this and see our division leaders in person more often. More access to these leaders is what I'm looking for.

    State Street2016-03-11
  10. "Functional specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fund Accountant Associate II in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at State Street full-time

    Pros

    Work from hone - flexible schedule - young people- university classes

    Cons

    No promotion- lower pay in the market

    State Street2016-03-01
Found 37 reviews