State Street Fund Accountant Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

State Street Fund Accountant Reviews

Updated 28 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 378 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
State Street CEO Ronald O’Hanley
Ronald O’Hanley
10 Ratings
  1. "Hire more staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fund Accountant, Associate II in Drogheda

    I worked at State Street

    Pros

    Friendly colleagues. Informal atmosphere. Good pension contributions, health insurance. Salary decent for location, annual leave very fair.

    Cons

    Overworked and understaffed. Outdated IT systems, too much manual work. Lack of training due to staff being so busy. It becomes a vicious circle. Work being outsourced to India.

    Advice to Management

    Hire more staff, invest in technology and training. Spend more time resolving issues and less time on manual processes

    State Street2018-08-08
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Fund Accounting Manager (Hedge)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fund Accounting Manager in Naas
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at State Street full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A lot of work to be done which makes the days go fast. Quite good for flex time depending on the team you're on. In general there are good people but, but many are disheartened.

    Cons

    Not enough people to do the work and becoming less all the time. Bonuses are normally non-existent or nothing to write home about. The amount of off-shoring at the moment is crazy meaning that there won't be jobs here soon, but mgt seem to think there will be... Would make you wonder how they got in these roles in the first place. Lies

    Advice to Management

    Look after your staff!!! And be honest. And in most cases 'grow a pair'. I keep hearing that someone else is being 'cut' from the team but my boss's 'hands are tied', as is his bosses, as is his. Like, wtf? Why are they there?

    State Street2018-07-16
  3. "Great Company with competitive benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fund Accountant in Sacramento, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at State Street full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I get to work from home three days a week, have potlucks, and flexible work hours. I just have a cool boss and team. Competitive 401K, okay health insurance premiums, tuition reimbursements, accumulative vacation hours, personal days, etc.

    Cons

    Depending on your team, work could be repetitive or challenging. Work could get stressful and a lot of overtime if needed. Can't really plan things during the week because we could get unexpected overtime due to late prices.

    Advice to Management

    Allocate work fairly among team members and take turns on who's closing.

    State Street2018-06-30
  4. "Definitely an entry level job, not a place to make a career."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fund Accountant in Kansas City, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at State Street full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It is a well known company

    Cons

    Basically a data entry job.

    State Street2018-08-03
  5. "Fund accounting associate 1"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fund Accountant in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at State Street full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good training,online and class training,canteeen, good location,good place to get experience

    Cons

    No knowledge of nav production as it is done in Poland,using macros nothing manual

    Advice to Management

    Keep your good people ,promote them ,develop them,offer them support,be more concern about why employees are leaving to external companies

    State Street2018-07-05
  6. "Senior Fund Accountant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Fund Accountant in Gdańsk
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at State Street full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - social benefits - working atmosphere(mostly nice people)

    Cons

    - lack of recognition of emploees efforts - employing people with zero knowledge or experience in the investment funds area - salaries

    Advice to Management

    better recognition of experienced emploees efforts

    State Street2018-05-07
  7. "Not bad , not good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fund Accountant in Gdańsk
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at State Street full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great building, Leaders are supportive

    Cons

    High level of hierarchy; slow career-path. High turn over of people because of the previous reason

    State Street2018-04-21
  8. "Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fund Accountant in Sacramento, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at State Street for less than a year

    Pros

    Young, friendly workforce. Flexible hours. Competitive pay.

    Cons

    Long work days. High work loads. Sometimes disorganized

    State Street2018-04-17
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Good People, Terrible Companywide Support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Junior Fund Accountant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at State Street for less than a year

    Pros

    -Good support for new hires -Option to be full time -Many perks like cultural events -Good pay and Name -Coworkers are nice -Relaxed work environment -Plenty of opportunities to learn and grow

    Cons

    The biggest con is that the bureaucracy for problem resolution is absolutely crippling. Half the time I've spent here I have been unable to do something because I've been waiting for either the IT or HR teams to fix an issue, of which they take their time. Seriously, whether its a payroll issue or a software access issue they will take months to respond, and when they do the issue is usually fixed in minutes. No amount...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Honestly, it is shocking to see such a large company have such absolutely terrible support for any IT or HR issues. My advice to management would be to take a hard look at the staffing, response structure, and general knowledge of both departments and consider outsourcing, retraining, or making them less centralized. The lack of care displayed thus far is an insult to State Street's history and position in the field...

    Show More
    State Street2018-04-25
  10. "Good started up from State Street"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fund Accountant in Pune
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at State Street full-time

    Pros

    Gained the knowledge of fund accounting

    Cons

    Some part needs to share (knowledge, queries,etc) to accountant from management.

    Advice to Management

    Training should be available in working hours

    State Street2018-04-08
Found 378 reviews