State Street Global Advisors Reviews

Updated 31 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
49%
Recommend to a Friend
55%
Approve of CEO
State Street Global Advisors President and Chief Executive Officer Cyrus Taraporevala
Cyrus Taraporevala
36 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Low pay and you will have lots of down time(in 11 reviews)

  • "Can have very bad work life balance depending on who you work for(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good place"

    4.0
     

    I worked at State Street Global Advisors

    Pros

    Good management and supportive staff

    Cons

    Hard to move up the company ladder.

    State Street Global Advisors2016-05-05
  2. "Avoid avoid avoid! Terrible company"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at State Street Global Advisors full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Large range of products on offer, and a lot of smart people work there (e.g PhD qualified) which you can learn from.

    Cons

    Possibly one of the worst companies I’ve worked for. I was in sales, upper management are dinosaurs who don’t like change, therefore the business suffered / did not evolve, and I recognised a sinking ship and got out of there just in time. I made great sales, exceeded targets but they refused to give me proper remuneration. The performance management process (or lack of) meant I was asking to be promoted for many years but in the end they didn’t even let me pitch my evidence for consideration and I clearly met the requirements. Also there is no remote/agile working, you cant even log in remotely because the computers are all 10 years old and crap. Terrible culture, it is not constructive and almost bullying. AVOID AVOID AVOID

    Continue reading
    State Street Global Advisors2019-01-21
  3. "Associate"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at State Street Global Advisors full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Competitive, to the point, relaxing

    Cons

    slow progress in climbing up the corporate ladder

    State Street Global Advisors2015-12-10
  4. "Nice companies"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Banking in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at State Street Global Advisors full-time

    Pros

    Nice company to work with

    Cons

    Never seen cons here all good do far

    Continue reading
    State Street Global Advisors2020-05-22
  5. "Good place to learn about finance and technology"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at State Street Global Advisors full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very friendly work environment, people will help you in no matter what.

    Cons

    Not Using latest technology Which is available in market

    State Street Global Advisors2020-05-19
  6. "decent place to work"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Investments 

    I have been working at State Street Global Advisors full-time

    Pros

    SSGA has strong work life balance

    Cons

    lack of ownership in decision-making.

    State Street Global Advisors2020-05-31
  7. "Good company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at State Street Global Advisors full-time

    Pros

    Employees friendly, work life balance

    Cons

    Salary is not upto to the standard

    State Street Global Advisors2020-05-11
  8. "If SSGA had a fountain, they’d pick the change out and say it was for sustainable energy."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Analyst in Boston, MA
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at State Street Global Advisors full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Some relationships are meaningful For a moment I thought I had another pro but I don’t A bank to bail you out when things go wrong

    Cons

    The bank limits the potential of the company Many years of bad decision making, high turnover and pressure to grow (sort of) is not good for a company with a weak IT footprint It’s the Cleveland Browns of the financial industry.

    Continue reading
    State Street Global Advisors2020-05-19
  9. "Great place to work at."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at State Street Global Advisors full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work-life balance and working environment.

    Cons

    There can be a lot of red tape.

    State Street Global Advisors2020-04-26
  10. "If you have a another offer, I'd take that. Not suited for mid level career."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Portfolio Analyst in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at State Street Global Advisors full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pleasant working environment, Cafeteria food heavily subsidized. Good work life balance - Help is there (But you have to ask twice for it)

    Cons

    Pay well below market rate in Ireland. Little chance to grow career, higher up's sign off on everything (Pay raise/bonus/promotion) when they have no idea who you are and do not see what you contribute - Micro management also an issue. Culture fitted best for Students.

    Continue reading
    State Street Global Advisors2020-04-21
Found 420 reviews