State Street Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

State Street Reviews

Updated Sep 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 4122 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
49%
Recommend to a Friend
49%
Approve of CEO
State Street CEO Ronald O’Hanley
Ronald O’Hanley
163 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Sales Trader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at State Street full-time

    Pros

    Good exposure to research, trading, clients and large institutional flow across rates and FX

    Cons

    Nepotism, Cronyism, Lack of sophistication, archaic risk and operational systems, never ending admin

    Advice to Management

    Stop hiring credit analysts and promoting them to PM roles when they have no experience. Get rid of the nepotism and bullying culture.

    State Street2017-08-12

    State Street Response

    August 30, 2017State Street

    Thank you for sharing this with us. We encourage you to escalate your concerns. Go to the Corporate Compliance community on the intranet and search for the “Speaking Up Resources” document to learn the best course of action. -State Street

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Client service associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Service Specialist in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at State Street full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Suit for fresh starter, exposure to custodian market, remote working allowance. More chance to work overseas as global career opportunities

    Cons

    Low pay and old school culture, poor training system and hard to get promoted. No incentive for people to work stable there and high turnover rate

    State Street2017-07-27
  3. "associate 2"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at State Street full-time

    Pros

    good environment career progression learning opp nice building gym meal taxi overtime payment was good too location

    Cons

    overtime late night hard work bit hard to balance work and life since you are required to work til late many days

    Advice to Management

    happy mostly. no other real downsides other than lack of comp

    State Street2017-05-17
  4. "risk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I have been working at State Street for less than a year

    Pros

    friendly people ok work life balance

    Cons

    management low pay not many career advancement opportunities

    State Street2017-05-17
  5. "Senior Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at State Street full-time

    Pros

    heavy workload meaning lots to learn career progression is fairly quick compared to others

    Cons

    do the talking and you'll get promotions

    State Street2017-04-20
  6. "Excellent Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney

    I have been working at State Street full-time

    Pros

    Teammates are really supportive and friendly.

    Cons

    Sometimes need to work on public holidays

    State Street2017-04-18
  7. "Great management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Consultant Program Manager in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at State Street

    Pros

    I saw real leadership demonstrated in Japan. A clear strategy and commitment to deliver it. A fantastic part of an impressive global company.

    Cons

    I saw a disconnect between top management and operations. Better communication to floor staff would have clarified the reason for decisions.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up. Let the local team know why. You have a gem in Tokyo SSTB

    State Street2017-04-08
  8. Helpful (1)

    "officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I have been working at State Street

    Pros

    nonononononononononono nonononononononononononono cannot think of any

    Cons

    bad communication, poor information flow, inefficient IT, disorganized structure

    Advice to Management

    care more about employee, if you want to be first class company, then do first class things

    State Street2017-05-11
  9. "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at State Street

    Pros

    To be honest, nothing really

    Cons

    Boring work, poor team, poor environment

    Advice to Management

    Foster better team environments, encourage more diversity

    State Street2017-03-28

    State Street Response

    April 20, 2017State Street

    Thank you for your review. Fostering a collaborative environment where all employees feel welcomed and valued is very important to me. One way we do this at State Street is by empowering employees to set up their own network groups and online forums to collaborate based on their common ...

    Show More
  10. "Vice President"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at State Street full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible work arrangements, global mobility

    Cons

    Salary can be poor in some roles

    Advice to Management

    Nil

    State Street2017-02-25
Found 4122 reviews