State Street "work from home" Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

State Street Employee Reviews about "work from home"

Updated 24 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 3971 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
48%
Recommend to a Friend
42%
Approve of CEO
State Street CEO Ronald O’Hanley
Ronald O’Hanley
107 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work from home"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "State Street in Sydney"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at State Street full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Flexible work arrangement options like work from home, job sharing, compressed work week are available to staff, depending on the work nature.

    Cons

    A lot of operations work has moved to offshore locations like India and China, Lower pay compared to the market, senior management politics.

    Advice to Management

    Please reward high performing staff who are loyal to the company and give them a salary adjustment to meet the market salary level.

    State Street2017-01-10
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Good people, Under-resourced"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at State Street full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Although poor hours they are flexible with when you come and go - Not micro managed - Work from home option - Good people

    Cons

    - Many operational roles off-shored, dealing with the consequences of this onshore provides constant headaches - Under resourced, many employees work ridiculous hours with no reward for doing so - Staff turnover high so no consistency - Old systems - Implementing change is like trying to turn around an oil tanker

    Advice to Management

    Remove the offshore model, it doesn't work and doesn't save money in the long run. Increase head count, if employees are continuously working 12 hour days there is a fundamental issue.

    State Street2015-06-24
  3. "Cares about employee development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at State Street

    Pros

    State Street as a company encourages growth and development. While working for State Street (in relatviely junior roles) they have taken me from working in London, to the headquarters in Boston and now to Sydney (my original home). I now have a regional role in a field completely different from what I started my career in and this is all down to the development opportunities I have been offered. My manager is supportive...

    Show More

    Cons

    As it is a global company, and as I work on global initiatives, there can be days with long hours, especially when dealing with global conference calls. Unfortunately the Asia time zone always seems to come out worst! Mindsets can be very Boston-centric at times with many initiatives having a strong US bias. Turnover can be a bit of a struggle in Asia, having a knock on effect - the worse it gets, the harder it is...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Spend more time being visual to employees. Let them see you walking the floor every now and then.

    State Street2008-07-03
  4. "Good job out of college"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Operations Analyst 

      I have been working at State Street full-time

      Pros

      Work from home, good benifits

      Cons

      can be boring at times

      State Street2019-05-10
    • "could be better"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at State Street full-time

        Pros

        benefits, work from home, training, courses

        Cons

        overtime, shortstaffed and not planned to hire someone

        State Street2019-05-09
      • Helpful (2)

        "Difficult place to work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Officer in Boston, MA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I worked at State Street full-time for more than 8 years

        Pros

        Flexible on work from home

        Cons

        Constantly changing departments physical location & sending jobs offshore

        Advice to Management

        Too many layers of management & not enough staff to do daily work

        State Street2019-05-02
      • Helpful (4)

        "Meh"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Private Equity Associate in New York, NY
        Recommends
        Negative Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I have been working at State Street full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Work life balance is unheard of amazing. Working from home is encouraged and PTO is almost 30 days. Super flexible and relaxed work environment. Super casual dress everyday. Managers can be amazing but depends on your team. Work load is pretty steady and doesn’t require crazy hours. No email on phones which was honestly my favorite part. When you leave work, you are really off.

        Cons

        Salary is absolute trash and no matter how hard you work upper management doesn’t do anything to throw you a bone. High ranking management holds down growth with an iron fist and wipes out any and all paths to promotion and raises. Working from home is great but work from home can’t pay my rent.

        Advice to Management

        Pay your employees what they are worth and what is even close to market. It’s impossible to keep teams functioning properly when turnover is happening once a month. Hard to feel motivated when you feel railroaded and taken advantage of by your own company.

        State Street2019-04-20
      • "Good place to START your career"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Fund Administrator - Associate II in Boston, MA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I worked at State Street full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        - Good place to start your career. They offer tuition reimbursement. - 6% match on 401K and other good benefits. - Work from Home arrangements.

        Cons

        - Little to no room for career advancement. - Very low pay. - Could be in for long hours sometimes.

        Advice to Management

        I would suggest showing the onshore employees that you value them. Offer them a chance to grow in their roles/within the company. It's a good place to start your career (special emphasis on start in my headline), but not necessarily a good place to continue your career.

        State Street2019-04-26
      • "Good and smart people. New direction needed."

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Managing Director in Boston, MA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at State Street full-time for more than 8 years

        Pros

        Very collegial working place. Lots of smart people without a lot of egos. Heavy focus on schedule flexibility (work-from-home, flex time, etc.).

        Cons

        Core business (and profitability of it) has deteriorated over the years, resulting in notable focus on cost reduction (i.e. offshoring a large number of jobs to "low cost locations").

        Advice to Management

        New CEO needs time and opportunity to implement his strategy for the future. Only three months into the job is too early to assess.

        State Street2019-04-08
      • Helpful (2)

        "Day to day varies wildly, overall dreadful due to outlook"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Fund Accountant in Clifton, NJ
        Recommends
        Negative Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I have been working at State Street full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Some teams are SUPER knowledgeable. I’m really lucky to be able to be on one. Also, very flexible work life balance (work from home up to three days a week).

        Cons

        Underpaid, very poor healthcare. And even though this is supposed to be an American Bank who accepted American Bail Out Dollars, the strategy plan is to move over 80% of teams offshore (to China, India, and Poland). Also the balance sheet is an overall mess - whoever okayed the Charles River acquisition was a moron. GROSSLY overpaid.

        Advice to Management

        Pay your talent !!!! In the time I’ve been here I’ve watched at least one staff level associate leave per month, because they were able to find more money elsewhere. Only competitive pay is going to keep talent on board and then maybe the company would actually get somewhere if staff stayed for longer than a year.

        State Street2019-04-05
      Found 3971 reviews