Success Academy Charter Schools Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Success Academy Charter Schools Reviews

Updated 19 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
55%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Success Academy Charter Schools CEO Eva Moskowitz  (no image)
Eva Moskowitz
426 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Hard. Work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Success Academy Charter Schools full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The students are great once you get to know them and they trust you. Seeing the growth in the students The teachers who stay

    Cons

    Zero work-life balance Limited support for new teachers Expected to take on more and more responsibility really quickly Very high teacher turnover rate

    Success Academy Charter Schools2019-11-16
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Black Male Educators , Springfield Gardens Location is not for you."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Teacher in Springfield Gardens, NY
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Success Academy Charter Schools full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great staff to work with. A lot of resources for educators to teach exciting lessons.

    Cons

    Leadership is very inconsistent. Lacks ability to manage teachers. Very often promote team members without adequate training and discipline them for not having the skills.

    Continue reading
    Success Academy Charter Schools2019-11-19
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Run! As fast as you can!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Community Relations Coordinator 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Success Academy Charter Schools full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free snacks! The beautiful smiles on the kiddies

    Cons

    No work-life balance. Will burn you out if you’re a good worker.

    Success Academy Charter Schools2019-11-13
  4. Helpful (9)

    "Leadership is rotten from the top"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Network in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Success Academy Charter Schools full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    We get to do great work for a great cause

    Cons

    Everything that isn't in the PROS section

    Continue reading
    Success Academy Charter Schools2019-11-06

    Success Academy Charter Schools Response

    November 8, 2019Founder & CEO

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts. We prioritize fostering a safe, positive, and enjoyable professional environment and I’m very sorry that this is not your experience. Feeling disrespected or unsupported is a terrible way to feel at work and there are several avenues through which you can raise concerns. You can have a frank conversation with your manager independently or during the twice-annual performance reviews. If you do not feel comfortable speaking directly to your manager, you can reach out to the Human Capital team. They can provide guidance or facilitate a difficult conversation. Finally, this year we also introduced a thrice-annual staff engagement survey that Success Academy managers will use anonymous feedback from their employees to make changes and adjustments. Regarding turnover, you exaggerate greatly. Nevertheless, employee retention is something we take very seriously. We deeply value our staff members and want them to stay with us and we have taken a number of steps this year to continue to improve staff retention. Thanks so much for your commitment to kids and your years at Success Academy.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (6)

    "great benefits not so great teacher culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - First Grade Associate Teacher in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Success Academy Charter Schools full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Great Benefits -No experience in teaching necessary -Ample pay -relocation assistance

    Cons

    -During training they speak immensely on school culture involving the students and community, however one thing they fail to discuss is the teacher culture. -The teacher community isn't as friendly to newcomers as you would hope them to be, it instead feels like something out of a high school tv drama where constant shade is being thrown and no amount of respect is given even when you're doing everything right. - Leadership tends to get involved far too often to a point of suffocation.

    Continue reading
    Success Academy Charter Schools2019-11-09
  6. Helpful (8)

    "Not Respected as School Psychologist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - School Psychologist in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Success Academy Charter Schools full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working with children, access to resources

    Cons

    Schools psychs are not treated as knowledgable professionals, mental health is not valued, emphasis on testing, children with disabilities are retained at a high rate, pay is low for the amount of time you put in, high turn over, staff dissatisfaction. Success Academy does not pay school psychologists for their summer vacation if they inform the school that they are not returning, which creates an incentive to lie and quit on the first day back. Teachers, for some reason, are paid over the summer regardless of whether they are returning or not.

    Continue reading
    Success Academy Charter Schools2019-11-06

    Success Academy Charter Schools Response

    November 8, 2019Founder & CEO

    Thank you for your feedback and your years of work with Success Academy. We care so much about scholar social-emotional learning and it’s concerning to hear you did not feel that at your school. It is our deep belief that children derive enormous social-emotional benefits when they receive the supports to master the academics taught in school, and doing well on external measures of achievement is part of that. If gives kids tremendous confidence to know they can go head-to-head with any child in the nation. That being said, there is so much more to social-emotional development, which is why we offer so many co-curriculars — to help children find and pursue their passions, and place attention on character development by celebrating the values of generosity, effort, kindness, and curiosity. We staff every one of our schools with at least one psychologist to support our scholars’ emotional and mental health. Our psychologists so often go above and beyond for scholars. Last year, for example, a psychologist worked closely with the network team to secure placement at an excellent specialized private school for a scholar who was suffering from serious mental illness. We do occasionally skip scholars ahead a grade or hold them over when we feel they will benefit from this change. We believe that being flexible about the amount of time needed to learn and develop is a far more child-centered approach and allows us to personalize and individualize instruction and support for each child. Ultimately, all of our kids receive what they need to arrive at the same place: prepared to thrive in college and beyond. Regarding payment and summer, we are very clear about this policy in our handbook and I’m sorry this was frustrating for you. We value our school psychologists and the work they do deeply, and we regularly inform families about their role at our schools via emails and our blog to ensure they take advantage of all you offer. Thank you so much for all you have done for kids and families over the past years and I wish you the very best in your next endeavor.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Company does not value employees or students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sprint Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Success Academy Charter Schools full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good benefits, time off for major holidays + additional PTO

    Cons

    Negative outlook, little room for growth, no bonuses, long hours for pay, experience largely depends on where you get placed

    Continue reading
    Success Academy Charter Schools2019-11-08
  8. "Science Lead Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Success Academy Charter Schools full-time

    Pros

    Only having to teacher one subject, I was in a homeroom, its a lot more work. Dont have to pay for lunch and snacks When your placed in the right school with the right team enjoyable work days staff extremely supportive leadership supportive

    Cons

    Having to cover lunch and recess Prep of materials can be difficult when things take long to ship managment doesnt always address problems in work place accordingly

    Success Academy Charter Schools2019-10-25

    Success Academy Charter Schools Response

    November 8, 2019Founder & CEO

    Thanks for your feedback. Please speak with your Operations team about any difficulties you are having with prepping the materials for science class. They can likely order materials further in advance for you!! I’m sorry you don’t enjoy overseeing lunch and recess — many staff members enjoy spending time with scholars in these periods because it provides a great opportunity to get to know them in a different setting. Our teachers receive two free periods and use these times for lunch and lesson planning. Thanks for all you are doing for kids and families!

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (12)

    "There's a reason the turnover is so high..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Community Relations 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Success Academy Charter Schools full-time

    Pros

    - The children - Free snacks available

    Cons

    - Senior leaders - Some parents - A place that claims to be flexible but really isn't - Unreasonable deliverables - Unfair compensation for the amount of work required

    Success Academy Charter Schools2019-10-20

    Success Academy Charter Schools Response

    November 8, 2019Founder & CEO

    I’m sorry you did not have a more positive experience working here. We believe in teacher choice as much as parent choice, and it is so important to find a school setting that works for you. Thank you for the time you spent with us and good luck in your next endeavor.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (10)

    "Insane"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    Current Employee - Associate Teacher in Brooklyn, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Success Academy Charter Schools full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits are great for a first job out of college

    Cons

    The work environment is very high-pressure. You are asked to call parents frequently and adherence to a very punitive behavior management structure for students is mandatory. You are expected to work more than advertised, leading to high teacher turnover, which leads to children without a routine. This system is bad for children and I'm not always sure if this school is genuinely making a positive difference.

    Success Academy Charter Schools2019-10-15

    Success Academy Charter Schools Response

    October 22, 2019Founder & CEO

    There are no two ways about it: Teaching is hard and, particularly in the first year when there is so much to learn, can require long hours. Strong organization, careful planning ahead, and strategic collaboration and work-sharing among grade-team members all help to save time. Please do not suffer in silence — ask your managers and more veteran colleagues for ideas and strategies for effective time management. And remember, the work becomes much easier as you gain confidence and master skills. It is true that reaching out to parents regularly is a central part of our school design. We believe that partnership with parents is essential and we ask teachers to keep parents informed of their children’s victories and also their challenges in order to invest them in the work we are doing and garner their support and partnership. We realize that it can be hard to build and maintain these relationships and we provide training, support, and guidance to help our teachers. We also have school teams who handle all non-instructional duties to free up time for our teachers to do this important outreach. We absolutely believe that great classroom management is essential for ensuring high levels of learning can take place — kids can’t engage in rich group discussions and hands-on problem-solving in chaotic classrooms — but this should never feel or be punitive. Rather, teachers who are effective classroom managers are like referees upholding the rules in a game and it is barely visible to an outside observer — what you see are scholars who are bought in, engaged, and absorbed in learning. Please reach out to your manager for support in better understanding the *why* behind this approach and to help you find your authentic voice and style as a loving teacher who is an effective classroom “referee!”

    Continue reading
Found 702 reviews