Swinton Insurance Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Swinton Insurance Reviews

Updated Oct 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
29%
Recommend to a Friend
49%
Approve of CEO
Swinton Insurance CEO Scott Kennedy (no image)
Scott Kennedy
5 Ratings
Pros
  • "great people to work with, we all worked as a team(in 19 reviews)

  • "Good people, bonuses were good, caring attitude for customers(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "6 months in call centre considered experienced(in 19 reviews)

  • "Head office location not the easiest to get to(in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "A good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Associate in Middleton, Greater Manchester, North West England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Swinton Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good managers Decent wage with commission Really friendly colleagues to work with

    Cons

    Rotating shifts Contact centre so tends to get boring and repetitive

    Advice to Management

    None

    Swinton Insurance2019-10-16
  2. "Safe"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Advisor 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Swinton Insurance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good Product range and staff able to source best cover options.

    Cons

    Hard work for little reward.

    Advice to Management

    reward staff or they will go as I did.

    Swinton Insurance2019-09-30
  3. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Specialist in Leicester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Swinton Insurance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Easy going, Very friendly staff, very well organised.

    Cons

    No progression, no more branches.

    Advice to Management

    good work

    Swinton Insurance2019-09-24

    Swinton Insurance Response

    September 24, 2019Social Media Manager

    Thank you for your feedback, we are happy that you enjoyed your time with us at Swinton.

  4. "Cowboys"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Department in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Swinton Insurance full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The people prior to redundancies and new people from the Atlanta group

    Cons

    Cowboys who hire inexperienced friends and family for senior roles Being constantly lied to and messed around Zero communication and no visibility of senior leaders

    Advice to Management

    Get to know the people and what they do Be present Have actual communication

    Swinton Insurance2019-10-17
  5. "Positive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Manager in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Swinton Insurance full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    A great place to work until the last few years

    Cons

    Process changes too often for anything to embed

    Swinton Insurance2019-09-06

    Swinton Insurance Response

    September 24, 2019Social Media Manager

    Hi, Thank you for your feedback. We understand the uncertainty that has been caused by recent changes has been difficult, but these have been an essential part of changes in how we operate. It has been essential to enable us to take the best of what we had before, and build a platform on which to grow in the future. Kind regards, The Swinton Team

    Show Less
  6. "No Direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Swinton Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Office Location is in central manchester

    Cons

    Salary, No support to progress

    Swinton Insurance2019-08-29

    Swinton Insurance Response

    September 24, 2019Social Media Manager

    Hi, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your time at Swinton, but we wish you the best for your future endeavours. Kind regards The Swinton Team

  7. "Heading in the right direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Swinton Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Profitable business that's turned a corner and is back on the up

    Cons

    There's too much of a divide between senior management and other colleagues

    Advice to Management

    Start telling the truth and stopped treating employees as if they're stupid.

    Swinton Insurance2019-08-14

    Swinton Insurance Response

    September 24, 2019Social Media Manager

    Hi, Thank you for your feedback. We aim to keep our colleagues updated with developments and we are sorry that you feel you were not informed. We will pass your feedback on. If you would like to discuss these issues with us directly, please call 0161 233 3850. Kind regards, The Swinton Team

    Show Less
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Massive company reorganisation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Support in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Swinton Insurance full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good people to work with. Excellent office in the centre of Manchester

    Cons

    Rapidly diminishing company when I started we had 5000staff when I left less than a thousand. I had 5 managers in 5 years. I was frequently working in a team of 1 person

    Advice to Management

    Investing in people is critical to a future business success. I saw no personal investment in 5 years. no training no bonuses nothing.

    Swinton Insurance2019-08-09

    Swinton Insurance Response

    September 24, 2019Social Media Manager

    Hi, Thank you for your feedback. We understand the uncertainty that has been caused by recent changes has been difficult, but these have been an essential part of changes in how we operate. It has been essential to enable us to take the best of what we had before, and build a platform on which to grow in the future. Kind regards, The Swinton Team

    Show Less
  9. "Good Times"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Business Support Specialist 

    I have been working at Swinton Insurance full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Focused board of directors Good culture Inclusive

    Cons

    Salary Progression Legacy Staff Outdated business model

    Swinton Insurance2019-08-09
  10. "Appalling place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Executive in Maidstone, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Swinton Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great colleague's. You get an hour for lunch

    Cons

    The management team are awful. Bullies only interested in upselling products. And not at all interested in the customer. Scripted answers to questions make it ludicrous. Like you are a robot. Poor pay. Long hours. Hardly any bonus' when you do have a good month. Oh and they have no values

    Advice to Management

    New managment

    Swinton Insurance2019-09-06

    Swinton Insurance Response

    September 24, 2019Social Media Manager

    Hi, We are really sorry to hear that you feel unhappy at Swinton. If you would like to discuss these issues with us directly, please call 0161 233 3850? Kind regards, The Swinton Team

Found 357 reviews