Swiss Chalet Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Swiss Chalet Reviews

Updated 11 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
33%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
Swiss Chalet CEO Chester Hryniewicz (no image)
Chester Hryniewicz
24 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "long hours and the benefits were not so good(in 6 reviews)

  • "They give little too no training then laugh at you when you fail(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good people and a dependable company for a minimum wage job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Line Cook in St. Catharines, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Swiss Chalet part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The pay was very reasonable for the job that I was doing and considering I was a new hire with no experience. Management was very reliable and understanding, and my coworkers were dedicated people. The owner of the restaurant I worked in was clearly determined to meet the standards set by the company for quality control and customer service. The kitchen was very clean and well equipped, and ingredients were always... fresh and well stocked. As a beginner line cook, I found learning the techniques of a fast-paced kitchen job pretty easy to pick up, as the work flow was well organized.

    Show More

    Cons

    Personally, I didn't like working for a large chain restaurant that seemed to prioritize profit and getting customers in and out, over making particularly good food and making the most of their resources. The amount of food waste from the rotisserie chickens was disappointing. Also, there weren't any benefits offered that I knew of, only a pithy employee discount on foods from Swiss Chalet or any sister restaurants... under the corporation umbrella. Furthermore, I don't see many opportunities for advancement or even creativity/individuality in this position.

    Show More
    Swiss Chalet2019-11-07
  2. "no salary increase"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Prep in Oakville, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Swiss Chalet part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    nice co-worker...atleast for starting job only for job experience.

    Cons

    no salary increase. not for life time work.

    Swiss Chalet2019-11-11
  3. "Part time employee at SportChek"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Swiss Chalet part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    My former employees, they were very outgoing, great customer service representation and just an amazing environment overall

    Cons

    Rude customers, extended hours

    Swiss Chalet2019-10-28
  4. "Well..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Scarborough, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Swiss Chalet part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice kitchen and serving staff. 50% off food when on duty for most food. Free beverages. The owner was nice too.

    Cons

    Extremely terrible management. Yelled at to the point of crying. Being blamed for things that are not your fault at all. Contradicting the work you should be doing, i.e.: Do a dining room sweep. Don't sweep right now! You're not keeping the dining room clean. There will always be crumbs don't worry if there are crumbs . Expecting you to multi-task things you can't do, i.e.: Do your side work, clean the washrooms.... DON'T LEAVE THE PODIUM! Bus the tables! You're not supposed to be cleaning right now! Give you condescending remarks: What the hell man?! Stop sleeping, wake up! You guys can't do anything right! Hello?! My manager would always roll her eyes when speaking to me.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop yelling at employees. Teach them how to properly do the job described by job title and not focus on side tasks. When someone is new, if they make a mistake be calm and tell them how to fix their mistake and what to do instead in the future. If you can't handle pressure of high volume of customers, quit your job. Stop rolling your eyes. Stop giving condescending remarks to any employees. Have some respect for... god's sake. Grow up.

    Show More
    Swiss Chalet2019-10-28
  5. "good if student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Line Cook in Mississauga, ON

    I have been working at Swiss Chalet part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible time, nice wokers, close to transit

    Cons

    Low pay, mismanagement, stress, grease hands

    Swiss Chalet2019-10-22
  6. "Fun workplace and good skills to learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Server in Brampton, ON

    I worked at Swiss Chalet part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Management was chill, work was fun

    Cons

    Hours got long some times

    Swiss Chalet2019-10-03
  7. "Okay for student job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Take Out in Mississauga, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Swiss Chalet part-time

    Pros

    Fun environment Good food I got a lot of hours

    Cons

    Hard to take days off

    Swiss Chalet2019-09-29
  8. "Dependent on Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Prep/Line Cook 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Swiss Chalet part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible to work around your schedule Closes earlier than most restaurants Easy to get raises, initially

    Cons

    Poor management will cripple your work experience Company recognized SOPs are laughable No tip-out to kitchen staff Low ceiling on pay Inconsistent management across most franchises

    Advice to Management

    Take ownership of your restaurant. Be willing to accept fault in the issues and don't deflect blame to members of staff. Show some respect to your staff, and hire people who are actually willing to work (and adjust compensation as needed to actually attract these people)

    Swiss Chalet2019-10-11
  9. "Serving"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Server 

    I worked at Swiss Chalet part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It was easy to learn

    Cons

    Sometimes found it very slow

    Swiss Chalet2019-09-24
  10. "Okay for Students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server/Waiter 

    I worked at Swiss Chalet part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - food discount - shorter shifts

    Cons

    - management of store makes or breaks the experience - prices are getting higher & food is getting smaller, sometimes I just felt awkward/bad when serving tables food because it looked like a ripoff

    Swiss Chalet2019-10-01
Found 176 reviews