Sydney Water Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Sydney Water Reviews

Updated Aug 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 71 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
56%
Recommend to a Friend
Sydney Water CEO Roch Cheroux (no image)
Roch Cheroux
0 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible hours and great work life balance in many areas within the corporate area(in 20 reviews)

  • "(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "Culture of bullying, harassment and intimidation allowed to flourish under current management(in 6 reviews)

  • "Constant threat of restructures(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Top Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accounting Manager in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sydney Water full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Knowledge, challenges, people, systems, changes

    Cons

    not any that come to mind

    Sydney Water2019-06-28

    Sydney Water Response

    July 2, 2019Culture and Insights Manager

    Thanks for sharing your positive experience working here

  2. "good place to work and gain knowledge"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Environment Professional in Parramatta
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Sydney Water full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good branding in public sector

    Cons

    too many restructures, senior management must learn to retain talented people

    Sydney Water2019-07-31

    Sydney Water Response

    August 1, 2019Culture and Insights Manager

    Thanks for your feedback. We are committed to improving talent management and have taken steps this year to get better visibility of talent across the business and create more opportunities for our people.

  3. "Great work life balance, decent salary, lots of problems"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sydney Water full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great leave policies Rostered days off for lower paid workers Salaries aren't bad Some really good people here Blue bus training initiative is good (even though it's not actually used in much of the company)

    Cons

    Increasing surveillance of staff: Alcohol and drug testing, GPS tracking in cars, swipe card records being analysed Much more trust is placed in consultants than Sydney water staff Very regimented structure that stifles innovation (even though the company says that it promotes it). Good performance isn't rewarded adequately but mistakes are punished, so it's a lot easier to not do anything (again, the company... says it promotes failing fast, but you can't see much of that) Slowly being privatised by replacing Sydney water staff with much more expensive consultants when they leave. The last couple of five star reviews were actually by consultants, not staff. Information is sanitised before being passed on to senior management People are promoted from outside the company rather than from within. Crazy amount of red tape!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Actually look at the problems and don't pretend everything is rosy. People do want to do great work and be on the blue bus, but we need to increase transparency, trust and accountability for that to happen.

    Sydney Water2019-07-30

    Sydney Water Response

    August 1, 2019Culture and Insights Manager

    Hi! Thanks for sharing your experience working here. I’d love to have a chat to know more so we can address your concerns. If you’d be willing to have a confidential conversation, please contact me at alison.stanley@sydneywater.com.au

  4. "Great Work (and Life Balance) - Culture is a Barrier to Change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Engineer in Parramatta
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sydney Water full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Excellent salary and benefits - Rostered days off every fortnight - Interesting work with a focus on quality and delivering customer value - Opportunities for upskilling widely available and encouraged by management

    Cons

    - Ingrained culture slows down potential innovation and improvements - Financing pathways make getting business cases over the line very difficult - People who endorse capital projects are not familiar with the operational assets and people

    Advice to Management

    - Trust your people when they say an asset requires replacement or upgrading - Give enough time for culture changes to see results before implementing further changes

    Sydney Water2019-07-24

    Sydney Water Response

    July 25, 2019Culture and Insights Manager

    Thanks for your constructive feedback and suggestions on how we can make Sydney Water an even better place to work

  5. "BULLYING CULTURE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Parramatta
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Sydney Water full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible working environment, with RDO's. Great policies and procedures.

    Cons

    Bullying, Bullying, Bullying is prevalent in the Customer Service Environment. I have been a victim of bullying and when reported the case I am required to seek employment elsewhere. The victim gets evicted and the managers are protected. There is a great policy on Bullying and what can be done about it, but no one follows the policy.

    Advice to Management

    Clean up the Bullying from all levels of management and retain good staff.

    Sydney Water2019-08-21

    Sydney Water Response

    September 5, 2019Culture and Insights Manager

    Thanks for leaving your feedback. I'd like to know more so that we can address these concerns. If you would be willing to have a confidential chat, please contact me at alison.stanley@sydneywater.com.au or you can call the Corruption and Misconduct Hotline (1800 500 965).

  6. "Watch out for the bullying"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - WHS Advisor in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sydney Water full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Interesting work environments outside of offices, 9 day fortnight & good work life balance

    Cons

    Exceptional amount of bullying which was managed to reduce litigation vs fix the actual problem. Investigate themselves and find nothing wrong, incomplete & biased investigations & managed of identified actions. Sydney Water lost many good people (>10) to one or two bad managers.

    Advice to Management

    Manage the bullying problem, not the litigation risk.

    Sydney Water2019-07-22

    Sydney Water Response

    July 22, 2019Culture and Insights Manager

    Thanks for your review. We take allegations of bullying seriously. I’m not sure how long ago this occurred, but it would be good to know more so we can take action. If you would like us to look into this further, please call our Corruption and Misconduct Hotline (1800 500 965) or ...

    Show More
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Not a nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Parramatta
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sydney Water full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good salary package Monthly RDO's Location is ok

    Cons

    Unsupported by management Not a nice culture to work in, very political and toxic

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees with respect Be encouraging and supportive to hard working employees Remove yourself from idle gossip Having good values is important, they need to be practiced

    Sydney Water2019-06-20

    Sydney Water Response

    July 2, 2019Culture and Insights Manager

    Thanks for giving your feedback and I’m sorry to hear you didn’t feel supported. If you’d be willing to have a confidential chat about your experiences, please contact me at alison.stanley@sydneywater.com.au

  8. "Work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in City of Parramatta
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sydney Water full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours and great work life balance in many areas within the corporate area Big focus on wellbeing with some really useful programs you can access like gym passport and health coaching service

    Cons

    Change takes a long time Lots of deadwood Frontline under resourced

    Advice to Management

    Don’t play the game... Be the change that’s needed

    Sydney Water2019-05-19

    Sydney Water Response

    May 21, 2019Culture and Insights Manager

    Thanks for sharing your positive experience working at Sydney Water

  9. "Inspired to do my best work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Reliability Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sydney Water full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    We provide a fundamental community service, protect the environment while being customer centric and making every dollar count. The vision is sound but the implementation is challenging: great fun! So much to do and improve. I love working at Sydney Water.

    Cons

    Some ineffective middle management survives in some corners of the business. Legacy of bureaucracy thinking. Culture can sometimes revert back to oppositional or passive.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing. Priorities and be bold. Seek to influence the broader environment (regulators and political leaders).

    Sydney Water2019-05-05

    Sydney Water Response

    May 7, 2019Culture and Insights Manager

    Thanks for sharing your feedback. It’s great that you feel connected to our purpose and recognise how you are able to make a difference to the lives of customers and the broader community.

  10. Helpful (4)

    "Abhorrent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - BxP & CxP Manager in Parramatta
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sydney Water full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Analogy of SW: A house that looks good, from a distance, but is actually ridden with termites and white ants. Best pay, I've ever had, for output/contribution - which was less than 50% utilisation over my tenure

    Cons

    People are nice to your face, but, will rubbish you behind your back. They are conniving, nasty, back stabbing liars. Ex CxP Program Manager hiring ~ 20 Contracts through her personal Company. Remember that happening at Railcorp, and there being ICAC investigation.

    Advice to Management

    If you lie, and treat people poorly, it doesn't finish when they walk out the door. It will come back to bite you.

    Sydney Water2019-06-05

    Sydney Water Response

    June 17, 2019Culture and Insights Manager

    I’m sorry to hear that you’ve had a negative experience working here. We take allegations of corruption and misconduct seriously and would like to know more so we can look into your concerns further. We have a Corruption and Misconduct Hotline (1800 500 965) where you can report ...

    Show More
Found 71 reviews