Sydney Water Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Sydney Water Reviews

Updated 16 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 65 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
54%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Sydney Water CEO Kevin Young
Kevin Young
31 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Culture of bullying, harassment and intimidation allowed to flourish under current management(in 6 reviews)

  • "Constant threat of restructures(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in City of Parramatta
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sydney Water full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours and great work life balance in many areas within the corporate area Big focus on wellbeing with some really useful programs you can access like gym passport and health coaching service

    Cons

    Change takes a long time Lots of deadwood Frontline under resourced

    Advice to Management

    Don’t play the game... Be the change that’s needed

    Sydney Water2019-05-19

    Sydney Water Response

    May 21, 2019Culture and Insights Manager

    Thanks for sharing your positive experience working at Sydney Water

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Not a nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Parramatta
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sydney Water full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Good salary and RDO per month

    Cons

    Unprofessional & unsupportive management and an unpleasant envirohnment to work in. Under resourced

    Advice to Management

    Support and nurture your employees. Don't play games.

    Sydney Water2019-06-17
  3. "Inspired to do my best work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Reliability Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sydney Water full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    We provide a fundamental community service, protect the environment while being customer centric and making every dollar count. The vision is sound but the implementation is challenging: great fun! So much to do and improve. I love working at Sydney Water.

    Cons

    Some ineffective middle management survives in some corners of the business. Legacy of bureaucracy thinking. Culture can sometimes revert back to oppositional or passive.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing. Priorities and be bold. Seek to influence the broader environment (regulators and political leaders).

    Sydney Water2019-05-05

    Sydney Water Response

    May 7, 2019Culture and Insights Manager

    Thanks for sharing your feedback. It’s great that you feel connected to our purpose and recognise how you are able to make a difference to the lives of customers and the broader community.

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Abhorrent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - BxP & CxP Manager in Parramatta
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sydney Water full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Analogy of SW: A house that looks good, from a distance, but is actually ridden with termites and white ants. Best pay, I've ever had, for output/contribution - which was less than 50% utilisation over my tenure

    Cons

    People are nice to your face, but, will rubbish you behind your back. They are conniving, nasty, back stabbing liars. Ex CxP Program Manager hiring ~ 20 Contracts through her personal Company. Remember that happening at Railcorp, and there being ICAC investigation.

    Advice to Management

    If you lie, and treat people poorly, it doesn't finish when they walk out the door. It will come back to bite you.

    Sydney Water2019-06-05

    Sydney Water Response

    June 17, 2019Culture and Insights Manager

    I’m sorry to hear that you’ve had a negative experience working here. We take allegations of corruption and misconduct seriously and would like to know more so we can look into your concerns further. We have a Corruption and Misconduct Hotline (1800 500 965) where you can report ...

    Show More
  5. "Excellent salary package/Poor team management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing in Parramatta
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sydney Water full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent salary package and easy transport

    Cons

    Bullying culture. Poor team management.

    Advice to Management

    Train your managers with team management skills and workshops which include the team. The better the team dynamic, the better results on your projects which brings better results to the business.

    Sydney Water2019-04-28

    Sydney Water Response

    April 28, 2019Culture and Insights Manager

    Thanks for your review. We’d like to know more about your experience so we can improve. If you’d be willing to have a confidential chat, please email me at alison.stanley@sydneywater.com.au

  6. "Run while you still can"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sydney Water full-time

    Pros

    Higher than average salaries and nine day fortnight

    Cons

    Terrible culture, many incompetent people and stone age technology

    Sydney Water2019-05-15

    Sydney Water Response

    May 28, 2019Culture and Insights Manager

    Thanks for your review. As a current employee, please let us know your thoughts in the upcoming Employee Pulse so we can take action to improve your experience here.

  7. "Positive environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sydney Water full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Location, focus on employee wellbeing

    Cons

    Limited opportunities for advancement, and projects

    Sydney Water2019-03-19

    Sydney Water Response

    March 19, 2019Culture and Insights Manager

    Thanks for your review and letting us know things we can work on to make your experience even better

  8. Helpful (3)

    "Toxic Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Parramatta
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sydney Water full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Sydney Water pay very well. So if you looking for a life time role, based on good pay, with zero accountability, sit back and enjoy the gravy train.

    Cons

    There is no progression, so don't go there is thats your driver Do not speak your mind, be submissive and you will be rewarded.

    Advice to Management

    None required. They already know it all.

    Sydney Water2019-03-29

    Sydney Water Response

    March 31, 2019Culture and Insights Manager

    I’m sorry to hear that you’ve had this experience. It would be great to know more so that we can address these concerns. If you’d be willing to have a confidential conversation, please send me an email at alison.stanley@sydneywater.com.au

  9. "Great opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Lead in Parramatta
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sydney Water full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    There is diversity of work. Great training and development opportunities Very good well-being program

    Cons

    Regular restructures Some red tape in processes

    Advice to Management

    There have been regular restructures over the past few years. Stabilising the environment will help embed efficiencies from these.

    Sydney Water2019-02-26

    Sydney Water Response

    February 28, 2019Culture and Insights Manager

    Thanks for sharing your experience of working at Sydney Water. Great to hear what we are doing well and where we can do even better

  10. Helpful (2)

    "Group Property Mgt - Incompetent, racist bullies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Parramatta
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sydney Water full-time

    Pros

    - Great working condition - RDO, 35hr week - Good pay

    Cons

    Group Property local mgt: -Dysfunctional -is hopelessly out of their depth incompetent, unqualified and lack experience - self serving bullies, - corruptly promote and appoint their friends, and are prejudiced - only grandstanding obsequious toadies do well Senior Mgt: - Nice policies on bullying & harassment, diversity - ticks all the boxes; doesn't apply to mgt.

    Advice to Management

    regarding Group Property: - Crack down on "working from home" and "working from the city" - Monitor swipes for hours - Embed and observe actual work time for "jolly fun, shopping online/shopping during work hours/watching youtube/knocking off early - Audit the qualifications and real experience of staff on how they got their exalted positions - Review high grade positions for doing mickey mouse level stuff which...

    Show More
    Sydney Water2019-03-10

    Sydney Water Response

    March 14, 2019Culture and Insights Manager

    Sorry to hear that you have not had a good experience working here. We take reports of misconduct, racism and bullying seriously at Sydney Water and would like to know more so we can look into this and take action. It would be great if you were willing to reach out for a confidential ...

    Show More
Found 65 reviews