T J Morris Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

T J Morris Reviews

Updated Oct 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 268 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
43%
Recommend to a Friend
46%
Approve of CEO
T J Morris CEO Tom Morris
Tom Morris
111 Ratings
Pros
  • "You get a 10% discount on products in store(in 30 reviews)

  • "Working in a big team, rota handed out early, flexible hours, exposed to customers constantly so good retail practice(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "Favouritism shown towards managers who step down for personal reasons by area manager but lead sales (junior manager) comploetely ignored by(in 16 reviews)

  • "Varying quality of managers - workers in Lead Sales role were often power mad(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "wouldnt recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Doncaster
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at T J Morris

    Pros

    10% discount and thats all really

    Cons

    managers pick and choose who they like and base on that give them all the shifts, fun if you like to be sat down on checkouts for a full 4 hours a day with half hour break, having to call management for stupidest things and then having to wait for them to rectify the issue.

    Advice to Management

    employ better managers who dont get stuck up because theyre higher up.

    T J Morris2016-10-17
  2. "Straight-forward work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Assistant in Rugby, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at T J Morris part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Simple straight forward work and ability to potentially swap roles from stocking shelves to till assistant

    Cons

    Repetitive Tasks Can be held later than intended as you normally cannot leave till all stock is shelved

    Advice to Management

    Organisation at times wasn't great, but overall management team was supportive and aided with any problems.

    T J Morris2019-10-09
  3. "Decent first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Long Eaton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at T J Morris part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice hours for a 17 year old - allows for going out in evenings Managers are lovely

    Cons

    Reduced pay for under 18s

    T J Morris2019-10-06
  4. "Long hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant 

    I worked at T J Morris part-time

    Pros

    Get more than your contracted hours

    Cons

    12 hour shifts with 15 minute breaks

    T J Morris2019-09-23
  5. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at T J Morris part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good Colleagues Some good management

    Cons

    Minimal pay Bad management

    T J Morris2019-09-20
  6. "Decent place to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Store Assistant in Bilston, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at T J Morris part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work is pretty simple, just putting out stock, tidying and till work

    Cons

    The pay is quite low and they only give you 4 hour shifts so you can't work 40 hours/week if you wanted to

    Advice to Management

    Pay your employees more and make the fill shifts start later, nobody wants to start work at 6/7 in the morning

    T J Morris2019-09-19
  7. "Management at different stores can thoroughly influence your experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at T J Morris part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Having worked at three different Home Bargains stores across the country, the management at the first store I worked were very responsible with the knowledge that the way they treated those working junior to them could massively impact their wellbeing. They understood that, as much as was within their power, it was their job not only to ensure the well running of the shop, but to ensure that coming to work was as... pleasant as possible for their employees (problem customers, busy shifts, etc. are all part of the job, of course, but management should be able to ensure that the actual work environment, including the dynamic between management and employees, is a healthy one). - You get a 10% discount on products in store - Kronos system theoretically means you can put yourself forward for more hours, swap shifts, put in for holiday, etc. without having to fill in long forms. - I've witnessed first-hand that career progression is readily available to those willing to work for it. - Management at all stores I've worked have been good student employers in terms of being willing to work around exams, classes, lectures, etc. - Pay is above minimum wage (I'm 23 and earn 45p per hour higher than minimum wage) - Management at all stores I've worked have understood that some people work better in different areas of the store (eg. it's been my experience that older women are more confident working on the tills than on the shop floor), and wherever possible accommodate them working in these areas.

    Show More

    Cons

    - In all stores I've worked, there seems to be a level of nepotism, and while this doesn't have to incur a negative impact (the first store I worked, a sales assistant openly spoke about the fact that her area manager cousin got her the job, and when a sales assistant position opened, the store manager's daughter in law very quietly joined the team, but both were hard workers regardless), it did in the second store... I worked at. Here, the store manager hired her younger sister (who seemingly had no sales experience) as part of the management team. Younger sister would frequently talk down to more junior employees, presumably knowing that she was 'untouchable' because of being related to the manager. - One of the stores I worked at, management was quite sexually suggestive to some female workers. I myself knew it was meant in a jokey way but could easily see others getting upset by it. - Second store I worked at were hugely oblivious to mental illness. On one occasion I started going through a depressive episode midway through shift (I have depression, which at its worse can lead to me feeling suicidal), and spoke to management to see if there was any way I could leave earlier (not even right away) than the all-day shift I'd been scheduled in for. Management told me I could leave early but to 'work through my depression' until they told me I could leave. They didn't tell me I could leave, I ended up working the whole shift, and having a major panic attack once it was over. If I had shown symptoms of physical illness, I know for a fact that I'd have been allowed to leave, or offered alternative help (eg. when another worker came in throwing up from a hangover, he was allowed a longer than standard break). Additionally, after deliberately making it known at my interview for this store that I, because of my high levels of anxiety, find that I work better when given specific feedback on what I've done well and how I can improve, only one member of management ever tried to do this. Invisible disabilities are just as important as visible, and given that the store operates a nationwide 'quiet hour' on a weekly basis to help people with sensory issues, you'd think that understanding of this would be drilled into management training to ensure unilateral understanding across stores. - Lack of standard procedure, or adherence to a standard procedure, across stores has made it difficult for me personally to fit into the various new stores I've joined each time I've moved home. For example: it's generally taught that aside from on the first aisle when all product is brought forward, product should be pushed back on all shelves apart from top and bottom, where it's brought forward. This changes by store, seemingly on management's whim, and can make it very difficult to know how to tidy the store (Eg. whether to go with the manager's rules or the company's rules) - Management in general at the second and third store I worked at were nearly all unpleasant (with some very pleasant exceptions). It was recognised amongst the staff at the second store that the store manager would not speak (other than to scold) to sales assistants, apart from one select favourite worker. When I told management that I could no longer work the last few hours on a tuesday (Eg. not even that I couldn't work tuesdays, just that I couldn't work the latest shift on a tuesday), I was told that my contract (which was twenty hours each week, though they usually scheduled me in for around thirty five each week with no consultation with myself) might be slashed in response.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - More training in mental health awareness - Recognise that a good work environment is one where people feel comfortable coming to you with any problems, not scared of how you'll react. - Do NOT just hire people because they're your friends or family.

    T J Morris2019-09-17
  8. "Crappy Managers and A Revolving Door of Trash"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Warrington, North West England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at T J Morris part-time

    Pros

    Other employees were nice people Good experience

    Cons

    Managers where rude and demanding Customers are usually also rude Poor environment

    Advice to Management

    Chill

    T J Morris2019-09-29
  9. "Good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Warehouse Picker in Liverpool, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at T J Morris part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There is always Overtime and time pass quickly

    Cons

    Too Busy environnement and too loud

    T J Morris2019-09-12
  10. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Assistant in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at T J Morris part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very friendly managers, don't make you overwork like some places but options for overtime. Very well structured business.

    Cons

    Can get a bit repetitive and not many social events.

    T J Morris2019-09-03
Found 268 reviews