TD Ameritrade Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

TD Ameritrade Reviews

Updated 24 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1322 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
TD Ameritrade CEO Tim Hockey
Tim Hockey
340 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "It's a call center position so you are always on the phones(in 43 reviews)

  • "That I didn't find Scottrade sooner(in 36 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Service Representative 
    Recommends

    I worked at TD Ameritrade full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Training here was great, hours were great, and it is a fun place to work. They really value their employees here and show them little tokens of appreciation often.

    Cons

    Can be a little stressful at times, but any job gets to be stressful at times.

    TD Ameritrade2019-08-24
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Not for Everyone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - N/A 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at TD Ameritrade full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits, Good Pay,

    Cons

    Focus on the answer to "How likely are you to recommend TDA to friends and family?" is the primary goal. This is a corporate bandaid due to the massive bleeding out of clients because of high commission prices and poor satisfaction after the Scottrade TDA Acquisition in Feb 2018. TOS trading platform is great and should just break off from TDA again because its practically a separate company still. TDA though, no future...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Who am I to advice a company this size. Keep trying, hopefully you make it. All uphill from here!

    TD Ameritrade2019-08-20
  3. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at TD Ameritrade full-time

    Pros

    The culture was great, people were great, and work was enjoyable and challenging

    Cons

    Intense industry competition in custodian business led to several cuts

    TD Ameritrade2019-08-21
  4. "It is what you make it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Broker in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at TD Ameritrade for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great learning opportunity. There is so much to learn and this is a ethical place to do so.

    Cons

    Must be able to be your own motivator at times. This was not a bad thing for everyone. Some people seemed to struggle more than others.

    TD Ameritrade2019-08-19
  5. "Job review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at TD Ameritrade full-time

    Pros

    Good hours get to pick your shift and great support system.

    Cons

    No cons at this time

    TD Ameritrade2019-08-13

    TD Ameritrade Response

    August 14, 2019Talent Acquisition Coordinator

    Thanks for sharing your feedback. TD Ameritrade always strives to support our associates. As you know, one of our core values is Openness and Collaboration. Our success depends on us working together. Thanks for being apart of the TD Ameritrade team.

  6. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Private Client Associate in Southlake, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at TD Ameritrade full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people to work with.

    Cons

    Nothing at all. Very Flexible

    TD Ameritrade2019-08-11

    TD Ameritrade Response

    August 14, 2019Talent Acquisition Coordinator

    Thank you for your positive feedback! We agree that TD Ameritrade has great associates and they are great to work with. We are always happy to hear when employees are enjoying and thriving in their roles. When employees share their honest perspective, positive or negative, we are ...

    Show More
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Service Representative in Southlake, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TD Ameritrade full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Supportive manager and lots of opportunities to learn more about the markets, and different areas of the brokerage business.

    Cons

    For me, not as many opportunities to find more analytical roles. There are a few however.

    TD Ameritrade2019-08-04

    TD Ameritrade Response

    August 8, 2019Talent Acquisistion Coordinator

    We appreciate your positive feedback, thank you for your time. We are excited to hear about your learning and development experiences. Opportunities for specific roles may shift due to the market/financial environment. We are pleased to have you onboard!

  8. "great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Columbia, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at TD Ameritrade for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Helpful team and learning opportunities

    Cons

    Changes and new tech requires an extra long time to get implemented so you will be working with a little outdated technology.

    TD Ameritrade2019-08-09
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Hard work will be rewarded monetarily but management is terrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Services Representative in Saint Louis, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TD Ameritrade full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    overtime, quarterly bonuses, think or swim software

    Cons

    Mangers in Saint Louis are terrible, especially the weekend shift. The managers are bullies, instead of coaching they are constantly threatening employees with termination or implying they should find another job.

    Advice to Management

    Reps answer calls all day and deal with so much stress due to meeting metrics and customer service scores, it doesn't help that managers are constantly throwing stupid tantrums. Teach your employees how to do better instead of threatening them with termination constantly. Get over it - the reps work WAY harder than ANY team manager and provide great service to TD clients.

    TD Ameritrade2019-08-14
  10. "Software Developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Software Developer 

    I have been working at TD Ameritrade full-time

    Pros

    Good pay for the experience

    Cons

    Not much growth nor opportunity to change.

    TD Ameritrade2019-08-18
Found 1322 reviews