TIAA Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

TIAA Reviews

Updated 16 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1467 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
45%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
TIAA CEO Roger Ferguson
Roger Ferguson
910 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good culture, great benefits and work life balance(in 165 reviews)

  • "TIAA's work life balance is set well and so one is not overwhelmed at all times(in 135 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at TIAA part-time

      Pros

      Pay is really decent here

      Cons

      6 day work week is quite tireso.e

      Advice to Management

      More welfare

      TIAA2019-07-17
    • "Software Engineer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Software Engineer in Pune
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at TIAA full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Best in all sense. Cab facilitiy

      Cons

      Senior Management is full of JP Morgan colleagues

      Advice to Management

      NO

      TIAA2019-07-16
    • "Pension"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Director 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at TIAA full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Have a great pension plan

      Cons

      many different business silos

      TIAA2019-07-16
    • "Many good, smart people slowed down by process and constant reorganization"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Director in Chicago, IL
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at TIAA full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Great benefits, many great people, strong balance sheet and sticky clients

      Cons

      Tough work/life balance; shop is constantly trying to reinvent itself.

      Advice to Management

      Hire a few more analysts and make up your mind what you want to be.

      TIAA2019-07-15
    • Helpful (80)

      "No Leadership"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Manager in Charlotte, NC
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at TIAA full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Benefits, current work environment in Charlotte (but that is changing)

      Cons

      Too much ill-conceived change and even worse execution. The CEO is not running the company, the CFO is. The “scaling back” of remote working is a mess. Data is inconsistent, criteria for exceptions and relocation offers are being developed as we go and it has become a huge distraction for the entire organization. Management does not listen to employees and ensures compliance through fear. Promotions are based on how...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Not everyone in a management position is a leader. Stop with the change for change sake mentality. Realize that not everyone has a nanny and maid and people are working to support their families. Think things through and if you can’t do that as a “leader” get out of the way.

      TIAA2019-02-03
    • Helpful (6)

      "WMA"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at TIAA

      Pros

      Benefits are awesome and the people you work with are better. You have to produce;and the clients you work with trust TIAA.

      Cons

      Operations are challenging and we are a good 15 years behind in tech from Vanguard and Fidelity.

      Advice to Management

      Private asset management is a total embarrassment. We have wholesalers who are compensated to do everything the New York Times article said we did. Let’s get back to our core business of placing clients first and own the 403b space.

      TIAA2019-06-21
    • "Great company . Good job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Financial Consultant in Denver, CO
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at TIAA full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Good benefits , best pay in the industry.

      Cons

      Bad website and technology

      Advice to Management

      Step up the tech game.

      TIAA2019-07-10
    • "Overall great"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Intern - Hourly 
      Recommends
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at TIAA full-time

      Pros

      Good pay Good culture Great advancement opportunities

      Cons

      Boring work Very independent Constant change

      TIAA2019-07-09
    • Helpful (2)

      "Not a bad job if you have no goals"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Financial Services Consultant in Denver, CO
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at TIAA full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Benefits Compensation PTO 3 percent 401k match and 5 percent pension (401A)

      Cons

      Comes down to a sales job at the end of the day. The only thing management cares about is bringing in outside assets from different financial institutions. Don't know how they are a not for profit.

      TIAA2019-07-02
    • "TIAA"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Trainee in Pune
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at TIAA

        Pros

        - Free Door to Door CAB service (only Pune and inside 30Kms radius) - Salary

        Cons

        No good Food in cafeteria

        TIAA2019-07-03
      Found 1467 reviews