Telstra Customer Advisor Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Telstra Customer Advisor Reviews

Updated Nov 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
48%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Telstra CEO Andrew Penn (no image)
Andrew Penn
4 Ratings
  1. "Really good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Advisor in Erina
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Telstra part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Management, people, products, jobs, travel

    Cons

    Nothing nothing nothing nothing nothing

    Telstra2019-11-07
  2. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Advisor 

    I have been working at Telstra part-time

    Pros

    Great benefits and a lot of career development opportunities

    Cons

    Poor management and constant change of company structure

    Telstra2019-09-05
  3. "Okay casual job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Advisor 
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Telstra part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Competitive rates and decent commission

    Cons

    Company culture and poor management

    Telstra2019-08-28
  4. "Good company, tough work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Advisor in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Telstra full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good company to work for if the right leadership/management is provided.

    Cons

    Customers often have a predisposition to dislike the company and so can be tough to deal with.

    Advice to Management

    Make sure there are enough staff on the floor Don't make it too much about the sale, but instead about overall attitude/performance

    Telstra2019-08-15
  5. "Unpredictable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Advisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Telstra full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If your team is good, fun work and great

    Cons

    If management isn’t, potentially draining

    Advice to Management

    Work on culture and a work hard play hard attitude more than pushing numbers and targets 24/7

    Telstra2019-08-26
  6. "Friendly environment with lots of training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Advisor in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Telstra full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Support, training, friendly management and good base wage plus commission

    Cons

    Company stigma, large learning curve.

    Telstra2019-07-31
  7. "DON'T DO IT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Advisor in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Telstra full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Literally nothing. Only like some of my colleagues.

    Cons

    Okay so, TLS Stores (Northern Suburbs) fail to take care of there employees as all they care about is making money for there own back pocket. There is no room to grow and we get paid a lot less than actual Telstra company owned stores for doing more than the SAME JOB that they do. The targets we have are a lot higher and sometimes impossible to hit even for the best consultants in the company. We are expected to... cheat customers out of of money and sell them things we know they don't need in order to benefit the company as we have such high targets. The management are not friendly to the employees and are quick to point out faults but never acknowledge a good performance. I have personally been working for the company for 3 years and have STILL never received a pay rise or appreciations for my hard work considering my hourly target is always high. I will be searching for a new job as Telstra has taken a MASSIVE toll on my mental health. I get called in on days off for stupid questions and always expect us to be responsive even if we are dying. ALSO THE DUMBEST THING WE ARE MARKED ON IS how active we are on our group chat which in my opinion is an absolute load of BS.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    TAKE CARE OF YOUR EMPLOYEES. THEY ARE HUMAN. IF YOU WANT TO KNOW WHY THERE IS SO MUCH STAFF TURNOVER THIS IS IT!

    Telstra2019-08-30
  8. "Sales and Customer Service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Customer Advisor 

    I have been working at Telstra part-time

    Pros

    Telstra has great work flexibility.

    Cons

    Segregation between retail and corporate. Especially for those wishing to transition into corporate.

    Telstra2019-07-04
  9. "Great Job If You Have a Good Team and Have Patience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Advisor in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Telstra part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I work at a company owned store and find the team dynamics great. Everyone is very friendly and supportive and it really makes the job, despite often confronted with difficult scenarios.

    Cons

    As one can expect, working in a Telstra store means dealing with angry customers and being able to manage conflict. It can sometimes get stressful/tiring.

    Telstra2019-05-19
  10. "Employment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Advisor in Mitcham
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Telstra full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Diversity and Learning are the major pros for working at telstra.

    Cons

    Tedious targets are the major cons for working at telstra.

    Advice to Management

    Better Culture

    Telstra2019-04-10
Found 24 reviews