Telstra Customer Service Representative Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Find jobs for Customer Service Representative

Telstra Customer Service Representative Reviews

Updated Oct 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
35%
Recommend to a Friend
41%
Approve of CEO
Telstra CEO Andrew Penn (no image)
Andrew Penn
2 Ratings
  1. "Opportunistic Growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Customer Service Representative in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Telstra

    Pros

    Stable organisation to work for with lots of options to move around according to skilled abilities

    Cons

    There is possibly nothing i could find negative instead its bit expensive for customers in market

    Advice to Management

    I haven't worked for long to really have my say but i would like to see more growth

    Telstra2012-04-28
  2. "Job gets posted overseas"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Telstra full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    If you're lucky you will have a good manager that supports you

    Cons

    Job gets posted to Phillipines

    Advice to Management

    Keep your Australian employees rather than taking jobs overseas seeking profit over quality workers

    Telstra2019-10-24
  3. "Used to be great but is changing rapidly. If you like redundancy every 2 years then it might be for you"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Docklands
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Telstra full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    great lovely people to work with, excellent training, used to be kept up to date with changes in the business on a regular basis but not so much anymore.

    Cons

    Call centre at Docklands is practically non existent now. Used to be 500 plus strong now it is like 'what call centre??'. Management not in the know with what is going on, constant restructuring, drop in share prices. Upper management seem positive about the future and say this is temporary yet making great staff redundant in order to please share holders...even though employees are also share holders....hmmm.... Company morale used to be in the middle but now it is low. Has become a low energy environment to work in with no career progression in site. Also the removal of quarterly bonuses so they no longer pay bonuses for the hard labour they still expect you to put in.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop making all your good staff redundant. I am sure there are better ways to raise the share prices.

    Telstra2019-07-25
  4. "The job gave me anxiety"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inbound Customer Service Representative in Bentleigh East
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Telstra full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Modern offices with coffee machines and activities

    Cons

    Management push you to make sales even when a customer is screaming at you. A lot of staff would send equipment out to customers without permission just to boost their sales for the day.

    Telstra2019-07-10
  5. "Good place to start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 

    I worked at Telstra full-time

    Pros

    Reputable company. Location is good. Great people

    Cons

    Pay is not enough. Not enough support on the floor

    Telstra2019-04-30
  6. "Customer Service Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Casual Customer Service Representative in Perth, Western Australia
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Telstra for less than a year

    Pros

    no pros bad nothing good

    Cons

    too stressful so boring no

    Advice to Management

    employ robot

    Telstra2017-12-11
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Customer Faults"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Telstra full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Money, friends, individual work - you could work at your own pace

    Cons

    The management. Shifts all over the place. Team leaders do whatever they want while other consultants work their bum off. Management expect too much of you while doing nothing themselves . You feel like your in highschool.

    Advice to Management

    Stop putting your employees down and walking all over them, you try do the work load yourself instead of sitting on your phones.

    Telstra2017-11-24
  8. "Customer Service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Customer Service Representative in Brisbane
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Telstra

    Pros

    Good location, modern offices and very nice building

    Cons

    management not always aware of what's going on. The wrong person would get blamed for someone else's mistake

    Advice to Management

    have skip level meetings where senior managers can meet with staff and give feedback on their managers

    Telstra2016-10-12
  9. "csr"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Customer Service Representative in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Telstra for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Working Environment Good Working Environment

    Cons

    Not Applicable Not Applicable Not Applicable Not Applicable Not Applicable

    Telstra2015-11-26
  10. "Terrible employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Customer Service Representative in Brisbane
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Telstra

    Pros

    They'll hire anyone. If you want to get your first support job under your belt apply here, No worries whatever your educational background, skills and abilities.

    Cons

    Poor Pay No Recognition Poor working conditions in terms of breaks, rosters Spend much time dealing with customer complaints Mostly incompetent colleagues Does not recognise individuals who excel Ridiculously low call times and after call time Records login/aftercall and break times, more than 30 seconds late more than 3 times is immediately termination. Never ending queues of calls

    Advice to Management

    Hire enough people to do the job and either pay better or relax the working conditions. Consider using more experienced team members as on floor support, improve training and continue training.

    Telstra2009-12-17
Found 13 reviews