Telstra Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Telstra Reviews

Updated 17 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1228 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
64%
Recommend to a Friend
42%
Approve of CEO
Andrew Penn
426 Ratings
  1. "Great Team Culture, Lot's New Things To Try and Test"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Social Media Specialist in Adelaide
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Telstra full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Great Team Culture - Variety of shifts - Fast paced learning and application - Great mental health support

    Cons

    - A bit slow to approve things - Can only go so far in the company and hard to get into other positions

    Telstra2019-07-07
  2. "Over five year IT Professional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Manager in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Telstra full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great place to work Good remuneration

    Cons

    Telstra is restructuring their business, with a lot of off shoring

    Advice to Management

    Adhere to Telstra principles

    Telstra2019-07-07
  3. "Sales and Customer Service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Customer Advisor 

      I have been working at Telstra part-time

      Pros

      Telstra has great work flexibility.

      Cons

      Segregation between retail and corporate. Especially for those wishing to transition into corporate.

      Telstra2019-07-04
    • "OK"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Data Scientist 
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Telstra full-time

      Pros

      Good people, interesting product (building networks)

      Cons

      Poor communication from upper management, poor funding transparency.

      Telstra2019-07-18
    • Helpful (1)

      "Great opportunities and wonderful people"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Manager in Sydney
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Telstra full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Great people Flexible working conditions Good superannuation benefits Interesting products and services Challenging work, always opportunities to do more and learn more

      Cons

      No processes Roles and responsibilities either non existent or not adhered to Lack of support and lack of action from management Lazy people are too hard to manage out Very difficult to get pay increases commensurate with performance or market Promotions only really available through people management, it doesn't suit everyone which means you get managers who weren't meant to lead.

      Advice to Management

      Create roles and responsibilities with input from those doing the work and then promote and ensure adherence to these roles and responsibilities Create processes and document them and ensure they are embedded Lead through actions not just words

      Telstra2019-07-18
    • "-"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Customer Adviser 

        I have been working at Telstra part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Promotes professional development in multiple disciplines of life

        Cons

        Have yet to find any!

        Telstra2019-06-30
      • "Good place"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Senior Account Executive 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Telstra full-time for more than 10 years

        Pros

        Flexible work, great culture, solid products

        Cons

        In the middle of big transformation

        Telstra2019-06-30
      • "good place to work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Architect in Melbourne
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Telstra full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Everything depends on what team you are in. I work in corporate and my team is very relax to work with, and easy going, they trust you will deliver so you you are allowed to work at your own time as long as the deadlines and project are successfully delivered.

        Cons

        There is a lot of changes every 6 months, at every level, that's gives some uncertainty and lack of trust on the management team. Also happens that time to time, based on numbers they decide to lay off a lot of people at once or remove complete divisions.

        Advice to Management

        Changing the business structure so often causes uncertainty on employees about their future.

        Telstra2019-06-30
      • "Concerning"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Account Manager in Brisbane
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Telstra full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Flexible. Good work life balance

        Cons

        Unorganised. Don't know what you're working on fro 2-3 months per year...

        Advice to Management

        Get account planning done faster. We're wasting months waiting to here who is in our portfolio.

        Telstra2019-07-15
      • "Junior"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Consultant 

        I have been working at Telstra full-time

        Pros

        Fun and cool and wow

        Cons

        Nothing you know it's cool

        Advice to Management

        Nothing

        Telstra2019-06-29
      Found 1228 reviews