Telstra Technical Specialist Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Telstra Technical Specialist Reviews

Updated 2 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 16 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
12%
Approve of CEO
Andrew Penn
3 Ratings
  1. "Pros and Cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Specialist in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Telstra for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible environment. Big opportunities to learn. Helpful team members.

    Cons

    Nothing special to mention. Manager is good.

    Telstra2018-02-26
  2. "Good benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Telstra full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great technology, very good benefits, offers good work-life balance

    Cons

    A lot of politics, very difficult to move to higher positions

    Telstra2019-02-23
  3. "Working at Telstra"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Specialist in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Telstra full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible working hours, friendly people, good boss

    Cons

    too much red tape, low pay

    Telstra2019-01-20
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to work with many opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Specialist in Perth, Western Australia
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Telstra full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great work-life balance. Good opportunities Interesting work

    Cons

    Too many layers of management

    Telstra2018-07-22
  5. Helpful (1)

    "technical Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Support Specialist in Melbourne
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Telstra for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great place to work ( Some Areas only) If you get good a manager, youll definitely want to work there.

    Cons

    A lot of Politics. beware of micromanagement. annual reviews is a joke. your pay is based on your relationship with your manager.

    Advice to Management

    Treat employees fairly and mqke sure that employees review are based on their performance and not on based on what you just want.

    Telstra2018-02-02
  6. "Telstra export jobs to India"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Specialist in Perth, Western Australia
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Telstra full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Telstra provides various benefits to Australian employees, such as extra one day off and option of one day working with charitable organisations that as a volunteer. Also Telstra negotiates with relevant trade unions regarding the pay rise and working condition.

    Cons

    Telstra has set up offshore offices in India. Telstra systematically courts jobs in its Australian workforce and hires offshore employees to replace.

    Advice to Management

    The employee morale is very low within those departments which has been redundancies

    Telstra2016-10-21
  7. Helpful (1)

    "varies drastically internally"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Specialist in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Telstra full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people, work and opportunities if you are in a good team. Also if you are in a bad team there is scope to move to a different team. Currently on sabbatical (with position guaranteed when i come back) for a year, whereas I've heard of other teams (similar roles) who aren't allowed to work from home.

    Cons

    Gradually losing it but there are some places which still have the ex-government Soviet grade bureaucracy and mentality. Promotion and pay takes quite a lot of time and can be "by the numbers" as opposed to work function/output. I've had promotions and pay increases declined because the greater team has "too many people in higher band", despite management agreeing i do same level of work as snr team members.

    Telstra2016-02-11
  8. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Technical Specialist in Gosford

      I have been working at Telstra full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      A company trying to change its ways. Good culture

      Cons

      Very hard to change old ways

      Telstra2015-11-30
    • Helpful (1)

      "Good Company to work - It is like a Home"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Technical Specialist in Sydney
      Recommends
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Telstra for more than 5 years

      Pros

      I have been working for Telstra more than 5 years. It is a great place to work, offers various environment & technologies. Also work culture is excellent and provides lots of flexibility for employees.

      Cons

      You may stick on to same team for long years.

      Advice to Management

      Upgrade to latest version of IE browser.

      Telstra2015-10-06
    • "Ofshore"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Technical Specialist in Sydney
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook

      I worked at Telstra full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Good pay, good people, good locations, known company, excellent structure, bonus and culture

      Cons

      Offshore, not secured, technology moving into clouds so no need for backend support except for onsite technician and Frontline customer support.

      Advice to Management

      To strict

      Telstra2015-06-04
    Found 16 reviews