Terra Firma Business Consulting Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Terra Firma Business Consulting Reviews

Updated 19 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 38 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Nicholas Bartels
29 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Planner in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Terra Firma Business Consulting for less than a year

    Pros

    I enjoyed being assigned to some of the major projects in a large organization such as Telstra. Professional contributions of Project Planner were encouraged and taken onboard. Great people in management with team culture and support from other consultants for knowledge sharing

    Cons

    the companies website interface can be improved.

    Advice to Management

    The portfolio can be further expanded to other industries such as construction and energy sector.

    Terra Firma Business Consulting2018-12-28
  2. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Business Consultant in Sydney
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Terra Firma Business Consulting full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    * Variety in engagement * Talented colleagues to work with * Team lead always helpful and offers good advice

    Cons

    * Should invite more guest speakers for professional development sessions in Sydney

    Terra Firma Business Consulting2019-08-20
  3. "Bodyshop"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Analyst in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Terra Firma Business Consulting full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Get some good foundational experience across different industries and clients

    Cons

    They get rid of people the minute the bench grows so during annual downturns Pretend to be experts when really just bodies Bad pay and culture

    Advice to Management

    The fish rots at the head

    Terra Firma Business Consulting2019-07-03
  4. "Maturing company, with vision for the future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Terra Firma Business Consulting full-time

    Pros

    Good people Some big clients across telco, financial and government. Annual training budget for professional development is great.

    Cons

    Potential to get assigned to the same client on repeated engagements (hasn't happened to me though) - perhaps if your skillset is 'niche'. Unrealistic vision, leading to focusing on development of many areas, leaving themselves to being spread too thin, rather than development of key areas in order of priority. Bench tasks often feel like make work - tasks can be left incomplete, then quickly get lost once bench personnel...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    It's important to remind consultants that time on the bench is not something to be feared.

    Terra Firma Business Consulting2019-01-30
  5. "Very unprofessional for a professional services firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Terra Firma Business Consulting for less than a year

    Pros

    There are a few good team leaders, but unfortunately the company management does not give them any power to help resolve issues for the other staff. Would not work for them unless you are desperate to get into companies like Telstra and NAB, and cannot find a job with other companies on the panel.

    Cons

    - They are just a "body shop" and not a real consultancy. Quite a number of people I have worked with from this consultancy seem to be unqualified and lacking relevant experience for the roles they were hired to fill and have not been able to perform their jobs at the client well. - Lack of respect for employees, especially contracting staff. - Unprofessional in dealing with staff issues. - Experienced a repeated...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hire people who actually have the experience and qualifications for the job, instead of charging clients for something you have failed to provide. Extend all employees the courtesy of being respectful,. honest and up front, and transparent when it comes to contractual matters. Provide cultural training/management for employees that are new to Australia.

    Terra Firma Business Consulting2018-07-23
  6. "Senior consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Terra Firma Business Consulting

    Pros

    Nice people Company is known in the Melbourne market

    Cons

    Lack of leadership from management No strategy Lack of variety in assignments Inability to move away from body shopping

    Advice to Management

    Change or bring in new executive leadership.

    Terra Firma Business Consulting2018-08-04
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Terra Firma Business Consulting full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Terra Firma felt like a family. You feel that there is always people willing to help, people to talk to and people who will cheer you on. They gave me my boost being a new migrant 3 years ago by putting their full trust in me and assigning me to an engagement with one of their biggest clients — and I have been assigned there right until I left.

    Cons

    Timesheet — streamlined process perhaps, employees having to fill out multiple ones Engagement reports - improvements have been introduced but it would be good to structure it to provide more value to consultant and company

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the employee engagement initiatives! I felt more involved when the two-way engagement methods were introduced

    Terra Firma Business Consulting2018-04-18
  8. Helpful (3)

    "One of the best consultancy!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Terra Firma Business Consulting full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Helped me with my professional development, always open to feedback and review on any improvements, keeping the employee informed, regular catch ups with team leads outside of work helps to understand what is happening in other industry sectors

    Cons

    Can provide better pay scale

    Terra Firma Business Consulting2018-01-17
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Lots of potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Terra Firma Business Consulting full-time

    Pros

    Friendly consultants, lots of experience, flat structure, friendly

    Cons

    smaller than other similar firms

    Terra Firma Business Consulting2017-12-11
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Terra Firma Business Consulting full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very inclusive and fast paced environment, I like the high level of autonomy given and the trust TF have in their employees. The managers are helpful and very approachable as is everyone else I have worked with thus far. I also enjoy the social activities and monthly professional development. Over all a great place to work.

    Cons

    Coffee machine is a bit average.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the open door policy and ongoing development sessions!

    Terra Firma Business Consulting2017-10-24
Found 38 reviews