Terra Firma Business Consulting Reviews

Updated 19 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
68%
Recommend to a Friend
53%
Approve of CEO
Terra Firma Business Consulting Managing Director Nicholas Bartels (no image)
Nicholas Bartels
26 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "One of the best consultancy!!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Terra Firma Business Consulting full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Helped me with my professional development, always open to feedback and review on any improvements, keeping the employee informed, regular catch ups with team leads outside of work helps to understand what is happening in other industry sectors

    Cons

    Can provide better pay scale

    Terra Firma Business Consulting2018-01-17
  2. "Good company to work for"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Business Consultant in Sydney
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Terra Firma Business Consulting full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    * Variety in engagement * Talented colleagues to work with * Team lead always helpful and offers good advice

    Cons

    * Should invite more guest speakers for professional development sessions in Sydney

    Terra Firma Business Consulting2019-08-20
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Bodyshop"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Analyst in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Terra Firma Business Consulting full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Get some good foundational experience across different industries and clients

    Cons

    They get rid of people the minute the bench grows so during annual downturns Pretend to be experts when really just bodies Bad pay and culture

    Continue reading
    Terra Firma Business Consulting2019-07-03
  4. "Maturing company, with vision for the future"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Terra Firma Business Consulting full-time

    Pros

    Good people Some big clients across telco, financial and government. Annual training budget for professional development is great.

    Cons

    Potential to get assigned to the same client on repeated engagements (hasn't happened to me though) - perhaps if your skillset is 'niche'. Unrealistic vision, leading to focusing on development of many areas, leaving themselves to being spread too thin, rather than development of key areas in order of priority. Bench tasks often feel like make work - tasks can be left incomplete, then quickly get lost once bench personnel had refreshed, then repeated. Fragmented back-end systems.

    Continue reading
    Terra Firma Business Consulting2019-01-30
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Senior consultant"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Terra Firma Business Consulting

    Pros

    Nice people Company is known in the Melbourne market

    Cons

    Lack of leadership from management No strategy Lack of variety in assignments Inability to move away from body shopping

    Continue reading
    Terra Firma Business Consulting2018-08-04
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Consultant"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Terra Firma Business Consulting full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Terra Firma felt like a family. You feel that there is always people willing to help, people to talk to and people who will cheer you on. They gave me my boost being a new migrant 3 years ago by putting their full trust in me and assigning me to an engagement with one of their biggest clients — and I have been assigned there right until I left.

    Cons

    Timesheet — streamlined process perhaps, employees having to fill out multiple ones Engagement reports - improvements have been introduced but it would be good to structure it to provide more value to consultant and company

    Continue reading
    Terra Firma Business Consulting2018-04-18
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Lots of potential"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Terra Firma Business Consulting full-time

    Pros

    Friendly consultants, lots of experience, flat structure, friendly

    Cons

    smaller than other similar firms

    Terra Firma Business Consulting2017-12-11
  8. "Struggling to move beyond a body shop"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Terra Firma Business Consulting full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Really hard-working and dedicated - Good social aspects - Very welcoming of people moving on and coming back later in careers - Long-term projects - Focus on work-life balance

    Cons

    - Low-level, low-impact engagements - Bench time can be very wasteful - Management have very little experience building companies and creating positive culture - MD doesn't want the company to change

    Continue reading
    Terra Firma Business Consulting2017-11-13
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Great Place to Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Terra Firma Business Consulting full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very inclusive and fast paced environment, I like the high level of autonomy given and the trust TF have in their employees. The managers are helpful and very approachable as is everyone else I have worked with thus far. I also enjoy the social activities and monthly professional development. Over all a great place to work.

    Cons

    Coffee machine is a bit average.

    Continue reading
    Terra Firma Business Consulting2017-10-24
  10. "Ups and Downs"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Terra Firma Business Consulting full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    *Access to good companies (NAB, Telstra, Vic Gov) *Reasonable flexibility *Nice colleagues and social club / social activity

    Cons

    *Often stuck doing staff augmentation rather than consulting *No career roadmap beyond Senior Consultants *$ aren't great *Low staff empowerment - all decisions made at the top (even for trivial things)

    Continue reading
    Terra Firma Business Consulting2017-10-10
Found 33 reviews