The Body Shop Reviews

Updated 2 Jun 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
72%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
The Body Shop CEO David Boynton
David Boynton
115 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "most upper management are stuck up(in 51 reviews)

  • "part time role yet feels full time as they want you to be flexible and available all the time but you don’t get full time hours(in 38 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Amazing culture and values"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Team LEader 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Body Shop full-time

    Pros

    The people, opportunity to learn and develop, the values and campaigns are wonderful to get involved in to make a difference.

    Cons

    You get addicted to the products and don't have enough room in your bathroom for them all.

    The Body Shop2019-07-23
  2. "Great Ethics & support"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Beauty Advisor Part Time in Gold Coast
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at The Body Shop part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Ethical Campaigns Lots of staff training Bonuses with products Supportive store Manager Beautiful Products Supportive work life rosters

    Cons

    Low retail wages Pressure to demonstrate treatments on customers Un- stimulating environment

    Continue reading
    The Body Shop2019-10-23
  3. "Awesome Experiences"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Christmas Casual in Chadstone
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Body Shop part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Great staff discounts

    Cons

    - Too little hour - Focus on sales

    The Body Shop2019-06-06
  4. "It was okay"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Body Shop full-time

    Pros

    Great discount Nice customers The company stands for great things There many opportunities to advance

    Cons

    Management takes advantage of workers Unfair expectations fall on some workers and not others Management has favourite staff members that affects how they treat other staff

    Continue reading
    The Body Shop2019-02-04
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Manipulative Management"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Consultant 

    I worked at The Body Shop part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great employee discounts/perks. Generous salary. Selling ethical products that are vegetarian and vegan was a plus. Customers are generally lovely.

    Cons

    The management was shocking. Managers didn't communicate properly on many things, they lied and manipulated me to get me to work more hours than I was physically able to. Shifts were cut off and I was let go with no explanation. High turn over of staff in store. General disorganisation constantly in the way rosters were arranged, training was organised and products were changed.

    Continue reading
    The Body Shop2019-02-28
  6. "Positive Company Culture"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Body Shop full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Positive, friendly company culture - Strong sense of values and corporate responsibility eg. volunteering program - Lots of cultural benefits such as subsidized weekly yoga, massage etc.

    Cons

    - Flat organizational structure - Limited career growth/ hard to get promoted

    The Body Shop2018-08-06
  7. "Not so good for my body (life)"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Casual Beauty Advisor in Doncaster
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Body Shop part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I've met some lovely people

    Cons

    I was hired as a full time assistant manager. After just under a year I decided to return to Uni, so stepped down to casual. After a couple of months they hired a bunch of new people that the store definitely did not need (casuals and part-timers). They called this move "future proofing the business", which not a single person in-store received well. This resulted in minimal hours being left for casuals. I now am lucky to receive more than 1 shift a month.

    Continue reading
    The Body Shop2017-08-20
  8. Helpful (1)

    "work experience"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The Body Shop

    Pros

    got to use some of the hand creams

    Cons

    literally all you do is clean . On my last day I was shown the cash register but i did not serve any customers. Also you get paid only $5 a day most of the days were really lonely and boring , as not too many customers came .

    The Body Shop2017-01-17
  9. "Fantastic, if your team is strong."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at The Body Shop part-time

    Pros

    50% off products for full and part time, 25% off for casuals. Pays above award wages. Great team (usually)

    Cons

    No commission, but very sales focused. Managers will push you to cross sell, link sell, up sell and the rest. General retail annoyances. Constant stock issues with alot of products being unavailailable for months.

    Continue reading
    The Body Shop2016-12-11
  10. "Sales Consultant"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at The Body Shop full-time

    Pros

    Discounts, great products, being a part of a company which promoted ethical values

    Cons

    Pressure selling, no commission, terrible pay

    Continue reading
    The Body Shop2016-09-25
Found 1105 reviews