The Body Shop Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

The Body Shop Reviews

Updated 22 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1110 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
63%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
The Body Shop CEO David Boynton
David Boynton
98 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Upper Management (regional), Forced Sales(in 49 reviews)

  • "as a freelance designer I don't get a discount through the body shop only for full time or part time(in 34 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Amazing culture and values"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Team LEader 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Body Shop full-time

    Pros

    The people, opportunity to learn and develop, the values and campaigns are wonderful to get involved in to make a difference.

    Cons

    You get addicted to the products and don't have enough room in your bathroom for them all.

    The Body Shop2019-07-23
  2. "Great Christmas Casual Job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Christmas Casual Beauty Advisor in Doncaster
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Body Shop for less than a year

    Pros

    Laidback, positive atmosphere with an emphasis on sales but not too much pressure.

    Cons

    Oversaturated work pool. Makes it hard to make a lasting impression for a permanent position.

    The Body Shop2019-08-17
  3. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Team Member in Perth, Western Australia
    Recommends

    I worked at The Body Shop for less than a year

    Pros

    fun and kind environment to be in

    Cons

    Pay rate was lower than expected

    The Body Shop2019-08-14
  4. "Awesome Experiences"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Christmas Casual in Chadstone
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Body Shop part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Great staff discounts

    Cons

    - Too little hour - Focus on sales

    The Body Shop2019-06-06
  5. "It was okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Body Shop full-time

    Pros

    Great discount Nice customers The company stands for great things There many opportunities to advance

    Cons

    Management takes advantage of workers Unfair expectations fall on some workers and not others Management has favourite staff members that affects how they treat other staff

    Advice to Management

    Don't let who your friends are affect how you treat your other staff members because in the end they will leave because they are fed up.

    The Body Shop2019-02-04
  6. "Manipulative Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Consultant 

    I worked at The Body Shop part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great employee discounts/perks. Generous salary. Selling ethical products that are vegetarian and vegan was a plus. Customers are generally lovely.

    Cons

    The management was shocking. Managers didn't communicate properly on many things, they lied and manipulated me to get me to work more hours than I was physically able to. Shifts were cut off and I was let go with no explanation. High turn over of staff in store. General disorganisation constantly in the way rosters were arranged, training was organised and products were changed.

    Advice to Management

    The managers here need to take more care in the way they treat their staff. I felt manipulated and used in my time here and felt that my time spent training was highly wasted. Managers need to work on communication, respect and encouraging general workplace harmony as I felt highly disappointed with my experience. If you're working with a company that advertises themselves as being so ethical and moral in their actions...

    Show More
    The Body Shop2019-02-28
  7. "Beauty Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Body Shop

    Pros

    Pleasant work culture and a supportive team to work with

    Cons

    Inconsistent work roster due to casual employment

    The Body Shop2019-01-10
  8. "Positive Company Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Body Shop full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Positive, friendly company culture - Strong sense of values and corporate responsibility eg. volunteering program - Lots of cultural benefits such as subsidized weekly yoga, massage etc.

    Cons

    - Flat organizational structure - Limited career growth/ hard to get promoted

    The Body Shop2018-08-06
  9. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Christmas Casual/Sales Assistant 
    Recommends

    I worked at The Body Shop for less than a year

    Pros

    -Great staff and fun management -Great team activities aimed at learning more about the business and its products before every shift

    Cons

    Small store space making it hard to move around and accomodate many customers in store

    The Body Shop2018-07-31
  10. "Pretty Good Experience Over All"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at The Body Shop

    Pros

    Had the best manager, really easy going in store

    Cons

    Terrible management (state / nation wide)

    The Body Shop2018-04-19
Found 1110 reviews