The Body Shop Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

The Body Shop Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 955 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
56%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
The Body Shop CEO David Boynton
David Boynton
68 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Upper Management (regional), Forced Sales(in 49 reviews)

  • "as a freelance designer I don't get a discount through the body shop only for full time or part time(in 34 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Like a big family, well rounded training programme and good company culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Chatswood
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Body Shop part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They pay you to attend various training courses, i.e. make up, skin care, sales essential. They are environmentally friendly, it is a company with good ethics. Company culture is great.

    Cons

    Limited career advancement, unless you want to stay in retail for good.

    The Body Shop2013-11-14
  2. "It was okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Body Shop full-time

    Pros

    Great discount Nice customers The company stands for great things There many opportunities to advance

    Cons

    Management takes advantage of workers Unfair expectations fall on some workers and not others Management has favourite staff members that affects how they treat other staff

    Advice to Management

    Don't let who your friends are affect how you treat your other staff members because in the end they will leave because they are fed up.

    The Body Shop2019-02-04
  3. "Manipulative Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Consultant 

    I worked at The Body Shop part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great employee discounts/perks. Generous salary. Selling ethical products that are vegetarian and vegan was a plus. Customers are generally lovely.

    Cons

    The management was shocking. Managers didn't communicate properly on many things, they lied and manipulated me to get me to work more hours than I was physically able to. Shifts were cut off and I was let go with no explanation. High turn over of staff in store. General disorganisation constantly in the way rosters were arranged, training was organised and products were changed.

    Advice to Management

    The managers here need to take more care in the way they treat their staff. I felt manipulated and used in my time here and felt that my time spent training was highly wasted. Managers need to work on communication, respect and encouraging general workplace harmony as I felt highly disappointed with my experience. If you're working with a company that advertises themselves as being so ethical and moral in their actions...

    Show More
    The Body Shop2019-02-28
  4. "Positive Company Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Body Shop full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    - Positive, friendly company culture - Strong sense of values and corporate responsibility eg. volunteering program - Lots of cultural benefits such as subsidized weekly yoga, massage etc.

    Cons

    - Flat organizational structure - Limited career growth/ hard to get promoted

    The Body Shop2018-08-06
  5. "Not so good for my body (life)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Casual Beauty Advisor in Doncaster
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Body Shop part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    I've met some lovely people

    Cons

    I was hired as a full time assistant manager. After just under a year I decided to return to Uni, so stepped down to casual. After a couple of months they hired a bunch of new people that the store definitely did not need (casuals and part-timers). They called this move "future proofing the business", which not a single person in-store received well. This resulted in minimal hours being left for casuals. I now am lucky...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    As an employer you have a responsibility to your staff to ensure that they are okay. You've now lost three super experienced casuals because you wanted to "future proof the business". It's not acceptable and it's really changed my opinion on the ethics of the business. You may be looking after people in community trade countries, but you aren't looking after your floor staff here in Australia.

    The Body Shop2017-08-20
  6. Helpful (1)

    "work experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The Body Shop

    Pros

    got to use some of the hand creams

    Cons

    literally all you do is clean . On my last day I was shown the cash register but i did not serve any customers. Also you get paid only $5 a day most of the days were really lonely and boring , as not too many customers came .

    The Body Shop2017-01-17
  7. "Fantastic, if your team is strong."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at The Body Shop part-time

    Pros

    50% off products for full and part time, 25% off for casuals. Pays above award wages. Great team (usually)

    Cons

    No commission, but very sales focused. Managers will push you to cross sell, link sell, up sell and the rest. General retail annoyances. Constant stock issues with alot of products being unavailailable for months.

    Advice to Management

    Ease up on your staff to push the hard sells. Give casual staff more than 3 hours a week, this will help them and you. Better computer systems to help with OOS problems. Bring back satsuma. Haha.

    The Body Shop2016-12-11
  8. "Sales Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at The Body Shop full-time

    Pros

    Discounts, great products, being a part of a company which promoted ethical values

    Cons

    Pressure selling, no commission, terrible pay

    Advice to Management

    A performance based commission scheme is the best way to provide incentive for sales people to sell more. Few employees see the value of selling more for the same pay.

    The Body Shop2016-09-25
  9. "Sales Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Sales Advisor in Perth, Western Australia
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at The Body Shop

    Pros

    Good working environment, big discounts on the cosmetics

    Cons

    lack of the consistency rules amongst the other shops, limited access to the rules and regulations for the entry access employees. It depends more on likes and style of the current manager in the shop.

    Advice to Management

    Access to the learning of the platform for all the employees. Improvement on communication what's going on in the company and what is expected of the employees.

    The Body Shop2016-08-31
  10. "Good Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at The Body Shop

    Pros

    Learnt a lot about financial reporting.

    Cons

    Interns do not get paid for working there.

    Advice to Management

    Pay interns.

    The Body Shop2016-03-07
Found 955 reviews