The CBORD Group Employee Reviews about "great people"

Updated 16 May 2019

To filter reviews, or .
4.3
77%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
The CBORD Group President Jim Hoefflin (no image)
Jim Hoefflin
55 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "New upper management, new merger(in 10 reviews)

  • "Very demanding workplace with little to no resources that are needed to perform duties of work required(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "great people"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Highly recommend for Baylor Computer Science students"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Engineer(Internship) in Waco, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at The CBORD Group for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people. Casual environment. Switch in the break room.

    Cons

    Some employees' responsibilities are too broad to let them master a single subject. Emphasize working code over well-written code, which often leads to higher maintenance times.

  2. Helpful (3)

    "Old Methods, but trying hard to make a change"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Duluth, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The CBORD Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    * Company CEO came in 2 years ago and has shaken up the way we do things. The message let's innovate something new and avoid industry disruptions. * Company culture is great... people like working with each other, even if we disagree sometimes * Everyone has a passion for the industries we serve. * People here are always willing to help, you just have to ask * We work on some really cool ideas in a really challenging/interesting set of industries * Very many here are excited about modernizing how we do our work * One person can affect change at CBORD

    Cons

    * Old ways (feeding the legacy products we have and customers who use them) are still fighting with a desire to progress into a modern software design organization * While the company supports life outside of work, each person carries a large workload--work quality suffers at times

    The CBORD Group Response

    February 28, 2019VP HR

    CBORD has experienced fresh change and exciting growth and our vision is to continue to move forward with innovations and improved products. Team members are invited to contribute new ideas and to challenge old ideas. The DREAMculure at CBORD is accountable and transparent; everyone works hard and builds on a team mindset.

  3. "Great stability, with agility and flexibility close to a startup"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The CBORD Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Company has been around longer than most software companies. - Company cares about its employees, and even allows them to donate back to the community with company time. - Flexible work schedule. - Excellent work/life balance. - Great people, who are nice and friendly. - Excellent training opportunities. - Transparent leadership/management, who listens to their employees. - Company is headed in a great direction, using emerging but stable technologies. - They're very interested in employee retention, and there are some employees who have been there for many years. - Benefits, PTO are good.

    Cons

    I haven't found any cons, but I hear their direction has been improving with recent leadership changes that happened before I was hired.

    Continue reading
  4. "11+ years"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Systems Engineer in Ithaca, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The CBORD Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    New management is steering the company in the right direction. Flexible work schedule. Many great people. Frequent employee events.

    Cons

    There's no all you can eat bacon buffet.

    Continue reading

    The CBORD Group Response

    December 6, 2018VP HR

    LOL! Great suggestion! CBORD does provide other great employee social events through the year.

  5. "Change leads to greater opportunities"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Systems Engineer in Ithaca, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The CBORD Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I work with great people, my team and I get along great, we all have diverse personalities and back grounds, the DREAM culture facilitates individuals to bond. I too read the reviews on Glassdoor before I started a few months ago, my interviews went great, and I immediately had a good feeling about this opportunity. Facts: I was not there before management changed; I have been here since April 2018; I am very happy at CBORD. Everyone pitches in during hard times, I was happily surprised with Management (Jim Hoefflin the President, Vice Presidents and my managers) all worked hard at supporting us when we needed it the most, no task is too small for anyone. The company is people and family oriented, we all have moments is life when family comes first, and CBORD will back you up.

    Cons

    If you want a job from 9-5 and wait for the clock to do its job, you are looking to work for the wrong company, don't even bother interviewing. Employees work hard and give their 120% and more to make sure customers, other departments and processes are accomplished the best they can. This is a software company, we render service and sell products. The IT World moves fast, so get use to change or move on.

    Continue reading

    The CBORD Group Response

    December 6, 2018VP HR

    The change management process has been successful at CBORD. Senior Leaders interact with team members, they don't just sit in offices. Work-life balance is valued as is hard work and accountability--from senior leaders to employees.

  6. Helpful (5)

    "Not an ideal work place."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The CBORD Group full-time

    Pros

    Great people to work with. Occasionally group together with other teams to interact or bounce ideas off of to further improve product knowledge.

    Cons

    Micromanagement. No care to improve support. Improper training methods to improve knowledge on new products. Self driven CEO that doesn't care the impact internally with people inside. Layoffs of people with a lot of knowledge and years into the company. No sense of care to improve the internal support area to be better technicians to help, but rather throw complex stuff and advise to learn on the go. No sense of structure for how day to day operations should be ran.

    Continue reading
  7. "Great Place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The CBORD Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I work with some really great people. They know their stuff and they work really hard. I love the work I do - it is always changing and always introducing me to new ways of doing things. I have had several different supervisors over the years and they have each been terrific. I hope to continue working here until I retire.

    Cons

    One thing I wish we could fix is that it always seems like we are committing to way more work than we can actually finish. I understand that we want to be first to market with some of the new things we are working on. But I worry that product quality suffers, and that the employees suffer. Many people check their email when out sick or on vacation, which is their choice, but a vacation should be a vacation.

  8. "Decent experience that could be improved"

    4.0
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 

    I worked at The CBORD Group

    Pros

    Great people, basic autonomy on projects

    Cons

    Wasn't properly onboarded due to lack of established intern program and management restructuring

    Continue reading

    The CBORD Group Response

    November 14, 2017VP HR

    CBORD has developed an exciting program to on-board new employees. The Company values new talent and wants employees to grow and succeed; part of that process includes a solid new hire orientation that informs and presents the company culture, values and mission. CBORD wants to retain talent and give them the tools needed to grow.

  9. "It's all good..."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Project Manager in Frankfort, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The CBORD Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great People! Teamwork... And, great customers...

    Cons

    Long hours, and lots of travel.

    Continue reading

    The CBORD Group Response

    November 13, 2017VP HR

    CBORD prides itself on creating strong team-inspired work environments. Collaboration, communication, and support both within the company and outside to our customers builds loyalty and employee satisfaction. Employees often go the extra mile to support our customers.

  10. Helpful (5)

    "Risk is our business"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The CBORD Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Company is still continuing to grow Many great people to work with No short supply of challenges

    Cons

    A shake-up in management recently has lead to a lot of unease No longer any feeling of job security, despite assurances that those who work hard will be rewarded, many hard workers were fired.

    Continue reading

    The CBORD Group Response

    November 14, 2017VP HR

    Change in management and structure usually causes anxiety. Personnel changes have to be made at times in order to improve the company and remain competitive. Performance metrics are something that we will strive to make transparent as much as possible. CBORD provides quarterly, company-wide meetings to report and explain relevant, understandable information to its employees.

Found 12 reviews