The Hershey Company Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

The Hershey Company Reviews

Updated 12 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 748 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
70%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
The Hershey Company CEO Michele Buck
Michele Buck
114 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great culture, great people, lots of opportunities(in 50 reviews)

  • "Good Benefits, cars, paint, clothing etc(in 33 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work life balance in the office environment(in 47 reviews)

  • "When you try to leave after 1 year and 11 months they will sue you for relocation(in 21 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good job out of college, not long term"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Hershey Company part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -3 weeks PTO starting - 401 K -Disability insurance -Health, vision dental -Company Car

    Cons

    -Forced Overtime 47+ hours a week -Bonus only if entire company does well no incentive to do well on own -Poor leadership -Few opportunities to promote The job is less of sales and more of stocking and building displays, especially at Easter and Halloween

    Advice to Management

    Incentive sales to individual performance and allow promotion without major relocations

    The Hershey Company2019-06-12
  2. "Well Compensated"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Senior Manager 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at The Hershey Company full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Still has core Hershey/family feel and values Strong Compensation

      Cons

      Can be difficult to come from the outside. Long term employees are listened to more and "taken care of" versus external hires. Although, external hires are well compensated, you can end up feeling like you hit walls where people don't want to change and can be the first "hit" when things like restructuring happens.

      Advice to Management

      In a bit of flux right now. Needs to improve in terms of a strong long term and sustainable strategy

      The Hershey Company2019-06-04
    • "Great place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Retail Sales Representative 
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at The Hershey Company full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Competitive pay, bonus, fantastic culture and people

      Cons

      Relocate quite often for career advancement

      The Hershey Company2019-05-22
    • "No OT"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Tour Ride Attendant 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at The Hershey Company part-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      Heavy Discounts on Food and Merchandise

      Cons

      No OT Guest is always right

      Advice to Management

      More OT for 18+ employees

      The Hershey Company2019-05-14
    • "Great company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at The Hershey Company full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Benefits, fun place and people

      Cons

      Some retail accounts were time demanded

      The Hershey Company2019-05-09
    • "Good"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Brand Manager 

        I have been working at The Hershey Company full-time

        Pros

        Room for growth and recognition.

        Cons

        Work life balance sometimes at stake.

        The Hershey Company2019-05-23
      • "Good company, average salaries, medium low benefits, lot of silos and lack of teamwork"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Operations Manager in Guadalajara, Jalisco
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at The Hershey Company full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Salary, Knowledge, Top company in the confectionary business

        Cons

        Silos at supply chain, lots of politics, lack of teambuilding

        Advice to Management

        Supply chain work as a kingdom, where the queen rules and the court works in their personal benefit,

        The Hershey Company2019-05-20
      • Helpful (3)

        "Money Good but the Culture is Toxic"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - IT Manager in Hershey, PA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at The Hershey Company full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        Great Pay (above the level for the Harrisburg,PA area.)

        Cons

        Yearly layoffs since 2015. Toxic culture in IT. Slow decision making, and execution and delivery is questionable. Internal employee politics and infighting. Hershey utilizes the Jack Welch GE management style.

        Advice to Management

        Change the passive aggressive culture and focus on people. Employee productivity will continue to downward spiral unless you have a serious cultural shift and stop the lay offs

        The Hershey Company2019-05-02
      • "Great experience"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Retail Merchandiser in Ogden, UT
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at The Hershey Company part-time (Less than a year)

        Pros

        I work with an amazing group of people. Benefits from day one.

        Cons

        Lots of boxes to haul

        The Hershey Company2019-04-17
      • "Horrible culture, run far, far away from this company. Overworked and underpaid."

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Retail Sales Merchandiser 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I have been working at The Hershey Company part-time for more than 10 years

        Pros

        It gets so bad that you just don't care anymore.

        Cons

        The biggest con is this job just doesn't pay enough or have enough benefits or perks considering all the things they ask of you and what you have to put up with and the risk you take to yourself and your vehicle. Especially if you have been with the company many years because new hires are paid at a much higher rate than where you started. This company does not value or appreciate experience. They will tell you how important...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Please try to understand that we are being asked to do a LOT in a very short amount of time in each store. And when you, the DSS, come out to work with me, it only takes longer to get each store done because you are with me dragging me down every step of the way. You ask me lots of questions about what I'm doing, and why I do it that way, and I have to keep explaining every move that I'm making because you don't yet understand...

        Show More
        The Hershey Company2019-05-23
      Found 748 reviews