The Hut Group Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

The Hut Group Reviews

Updated 15 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 357 reviews

2.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
26%
Recommend to a Friend
25%
Approve of CEO
Matthew Moulding
213 Ratings
Pros
  • "THG definitely has some strong points, it's a huge local success story and the work you'll do there will be in front of millions of customers(in 24 reviews)

  • "The Hut Group have also recently launched The(in 23 reviews)

Cons
  • "Here are some cons - I guess they're a bit more general to all of THG not just tech(in 50 reviews)

  • "Completely inflexible working hours(in 32 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Growing Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manufacturing Engineer in Louisville, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Hut Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Forward Thinking Company, Always looking to improve business.

    Cons

    Changes come very quick, this disrupts stability at times but usually for the right reasons.

    Advice to Management

    Stick Together, Communicate Transparently and Always Lead By Example

    The Hut Group2019-08-14
  2. Helpful (2)

    "sos!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Social and Content Associate in Lindon, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Hut Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    THG hires good people. I made great friends there, and looked forward to going to work every day because of the people I sat next to. Their company image lures in some fun young people. Unfortunately, the company itself does not live up to its image. I learned a lot at THG, they really emphasize learning as much as possible within a short amount of time. That can be good and bad.

    Cons

    Retention rate is pretty bad for a reason. As far as management goes, there feels like some missing links as far as qualifications go. Aka, they didn't train my manager and are often hiring managers who have never been managers before. As you could imagine, that makes things pretty messy. Promises of growth are typical, but I'm not sure if they have the capacity to live up to those promises. While I was there I saw two...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    It's not all about the numbers. Value your people. If you treat people like they are disposable they will treat you like you are disposable. Don't encourage unhealthy work-life balance. Florescent lights and blank white walls are depressing.

    The Hut Group2019-08-07
  3. "Young energetic firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trader 

    I have been working at The Hut Group full-time

    Pros

    Fast peace, diversified company culture

    Cons

    Not clear structure and not good life working balance

    The Hut Group2019-08-09
  4. "Fresh talent and good culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Executive in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Hut Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Given the opportunity to develop your own career. Given responsibility which can be difficult to find in other businesses

    Cons

    Couldn’t see any cons at this stage

    The Hut Group2019-08-03
  5. "Not good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at The Hut Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The work is manageable and there is a lot to do.

    Cons

    Managers kicked my whole team to move over to the uk who are not ready to take over.

    The Hut Group2019-08-15
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Recommend it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Hut Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I was concerned after reading many of the reviews but I made the right move moving to THG. Make sure you distinguish between warehouse reviews and office reviews as they are two totally different environments. With so many brands under one roof, the opportunities are endless. You'll work hard and need to put the effort in as everything moves at a really fast pace. But if you are self motivated and love a challenge,...

    Show More

    Cons

    No cons to mention at the moment

    The Hut Group2019-07-24
  7. Helpful (4)

    "There's a reason they're always hiring"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Hut Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - My team was really friendly and fairly laid back - Great pay for recent grads given the location

    Cons

    - No regular HR presence in Media City - Heard horror stories of other teams being much more stressful - Lack of communication from execs (notably re office moves) - Noncompetitive working hours, pension and annual leave packages

    Advice to Management

    Stop running the company off recent grads who only stick around for 1 year or less. Focus more on retaining the existing talent already within the company. The tech stack is seriously suffering because of the high turnover.

    The Hut Group2019-07-15
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Graduate WMS Process in Warrington, South East England, England

    I have been working at The Hut Group full-time

    Pros

    Great environment for learning and gaining experience

    Cons

    There are no cons to working here

    Advice to Management

    None

    The Hut Group2019-07-12
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Hut Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Everything has been good. What you see is what you get.

    Cons

    Large organisation, some processes take time.

    Advice to Management

    No really.

    The Hut Group2019-07-06
  10. "Good-ish place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 

    I have been working at The Hut Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Cool New Office Lots of responsibility means good opportunity to grow

    Cons

    Depending on your team, management can be either okay or really bad

    Advice to Management

    Do Better

    The Hut Group2019-07-11
Found 357 reviews