The Institute of Cancer Research Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

The Institute of Cancer Research Reviews

Updated 17 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
59%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
The Institute of Cancer Research CEO Paul Workman
Paul Workman
13 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free shuttle bus directly from Sutton station to ICR(in 9 reviews)

  • "good place to learn and be associated with cutting-edge science and research, good work environment(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "Little career progression apart from the post-doc track(in 6 reviews)

  • "Not many options for lunch, the ICR and hospital cafe are the only ones nearby (expensive(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - HSO in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Institute of Cancer Research full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great work environment and up-to-date scientific equipment and techniques

    Cons

    Little career progression apart from the post-doc track

    The Institute of Cancer Research2019-09-17
  2. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Clinical Trial Assistant 

    I worked at The Institute of Cancer Research part-time

    Pros

    Friendly staff and good atmosphere

    Cons

    There were none to note

    The Institute of Cancer Research2019-07-24
  3. "Cold and academic with poor transport links"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Scientific Officer in Sutton, London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The Institute of Cancer Research full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The ICR has its own bar onsite.

    Cons

    Trickle down management, poor transport links and individual teams stick to themselves.

    Advice to Management

    none

    The Institute of Cancer Research2019-07-04
  4. "Great environment and good place for knowledge sharing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at The Institute of Cancer Research full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Relaxed environment, good place to know professionals and share knowledge, great pension scheme, flexible hours.

    Cons

    Salary a bit underpaid compared to other institutes/universities

    The Institute of Cancer Research2019-05-23
  5. "No Guidance Given, but High Standards Expected"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - PhD Student in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Institute of Cancer Research full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The work environment is very friendly, and many opportunities for conferences, travel, and collaboration.

    Cons

    I was put to work in a highly disruptive work environment with no consideration for health and safety. When I discussed this with my supervisor, the only space I could be given completely isolated me from my team and most days, other people. The isolation and the lack of guidance have been terrible for both my learning and my mental health.

    Advice to Management

    If a PI wants to take on a PhD student, ensure they have appropriate space for the type of work. If a student is not handling biomaterials, they should not be sat in a lab.

    The Institute of Cancer Research2019-05-21
  6. "Top place for PhD!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Institute of Cancer Research full-time

    Pros

    -Freedom -Student community -Lots of courses -Seminars -Making friends

    Cons

    -time pressure, students often confused,

    The Institute of Cancer Research2019-02-09
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great facilities, be careful who you work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Institute of Cancer Research full-time

    Pros

    The facilities on offer are amazing and the pay is excellent

    Cons

    Can be let down by poor management and big egos

    The Institute of Cancer Research2019-01-25
  8. "Postdoc"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Assistant 
    Recommends
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Institute of Cancer Research full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours, remuneration, support, learning and development.

    Cons

    From engineering point of view, there is not much to progress

    The Institute of Cancer Research2019-01-17
  9. "Busy cancer research clinical trials unit; good experience to see development of novel cancer drugs and patient benefit."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Clinical Data Manager in Sutton, London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Institute of Cancer Research full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Strong independent cancer research focus with clear values (untainted from industry financial incentives), good work-life balance, great team mentality, communication of weekly news across all areas of research via email/intranet, clear support and training opportunities for employees, performance is rewarded with commitment to promotion from within.

    Cons

    Benefits typically seen in clinical trials companies (pharmaceuticals/CROs) not as great, high turnover in certain positions on an annual basis can leave areas short-staffed.

    Advice to Management

    Better interaction and understanding of separate departments’ work would be good, not just in upper-management positions.

    The Institute of Cancer Research2019-01-05
  10. Helpful (2)

    "If you're thinking of doing a PhD here, be warned"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Institute of Cancer Research full-time

    Pros

    There are some good research teams with excellent leadership

    Cons

    1. Beware of the team leaders who haven't managed to retain anyone who has worked with them in academia. This should be a massive warning sign when considering joining a lab anywhere 2. Unlike most universities, the ICR does not have a policy of a supervisory panel where a primary supervisor's advice and decisions regarding their student's work is checked regularly by another, more senior researcher with a good... track record of getting their students through their PhD. Now this may not be a problem if your primary supervisor is already an experienced scientist, or an exceptional talented and insightful young scientist with good management skills. But good luck if you end up with a self-serving and ambitious yet inexperienced scientist suffering greatly (and rightly) from insecurities because they know they've just been riding the waves generated by other people's hard work and have yet to contribute anything substantial to science themselves. Cue endless unsuccessful submissions of low quality papers trying to add useless knowledge to the world of cancer, and you being blamed for every failure. You will end up having to write your thesis in your own time because you simply won't be allowed any in the lab. 3. There is nothing anyone can really do to help you complete your PhD on time if you have the kind of supervisor described in #2. So make absolutely sure to speak directly and privately with existing members of a team if you're thinking of joining a team here. Find their work email, look them up on LinkedIn, do all you can because trust me, people in such teams will be truthful. 4. The ICR already knows who these people are, and in all realism just pays lip service to its own anti-bullying and harassment policy.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Read the reviews people leave about their line managers in the exit questionnaire, and act on them if you really want to avoid further negative press about the bullying culture at the ICR.

    The Institute of Cancer Research2019-01-14
Found 53 reviews