The MENTOR Network Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

The MENTOR Network Reviews

Updated 27 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
29%
Recommend to a Friend
38%
Approve of CEO
The MENTOR Network CEO  Bruce Nardella
Bruce Nardella
236 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "no raises, not even a cost of living increase in 5 years(in 67 reviews)

  • "Upper management is disconnected from the hard work that entry level staff do(in 55 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Family vibe"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor 
    Recommends

    I have been working at The MENTOR Network full-time

    Pros

    Great people and really rewarding

    Cons

    The work never ends and heavy workload.

    The MENTOR Network2019-09-28
  2. "Good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - DSP in Eugene, OR

    I worked at The MENTOR Network full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay compared to others in area

    Cons

    Alot of hours available to work

    The MENTOR Network2019-09-24
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Cliquey"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The MENTOR Network full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good co workers and benefits

    Cons

    Cliquey management not welcoming to outsiders

    Advice to Management

    Be more friendly to newcomers especially in management

    The MENTOR Network2019-08-23
  4. "Willing to work with college schedule."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - DSP in Bemidji, MN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at The MENTOR Network full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Consumers were great and I enjoyed them all.

    Cons

    Some of the co-workers, always short staffed and pay.

    Advice to Management

    Hire more people.

    The MENTOR Network2019-08-24
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Overworked, underpaid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Director 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at The MENTOR Network full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits were good for the field

    Cons

    Too high workload, unrealistic deadlines, was common to work 20+ hours straight and be expected to still do more.

    Advice to Management

    Reduce the number of homes assigned to a maximum of 3. Give ample time to complete large projects. Was not uncommon to be told this project is due in less than a week. With a very full schedule and making sure all shifts were covered finding time to dedicate, complete, and ensure it was correct- the additional project became difficult.

    The MENTOR Network2019-08-17
  6. "Yes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Supervisor in Columbia, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at The MENTOR Network full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Job pays well room for advancement

    Cons

    Program Supervisor position you don't have a life. I managed two CTH homes . The policies as for as being displine you automatically will be terminated. In my case suspension would've been better instead of termination..

    Advice to Management

    My advice would be to have compassion for your staff.

    The MENTOR Network2019-08-23
  7. "Test"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - DSP in Hayward, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The MENTOR Network full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Place to work at.

    Cons

    Short staff at the moment can lead to long hours.

    The MENTOR Network2019-08-21
  8. "Alot of hollow words slung around"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Supervisor in Rochester, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The MENTOR Network full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Individuals you work with can be a treat. Work is fulfilling and worthwhile.

    Cons

    Pay is not livable in any sense of the word. My tip on this is if states wont bump pay up a little bit, higher ups should lend a hand in this. Turn over is crazy and it not only puts stress on DSPs, but on PS and PDs who have to work 50 to 60 hours weeks and spend less and less time with loved ones Hollowed promises are a big one. Pay increases do not happen. Help does not happen. (unless you are in a workplace... clique) and if you show any semblance that you can be autonomous you will be left to fend for yourself and that includes on the medical/nursing front. I have done nurses jobs because I have never seen a nurse at my house in over a year and I have moses and discus that need to be done. job responsibilities. They are frequently changing and it seems like everyone wants to pay the buck and PS seem to get stuck with a bulk of the work for a fraction of the pay. If there is going to be a restructure of responsibilities, then there should be a type up on it because I feel that my PD doesn't know this and I get stuck doing some of their job as well. Complaining from upper management. This should speak for itself.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    step in more and help out not only the problem houses but make sure your "stable" houses are still stable. I haven't reached out for help because at this point, i dont expect it.

    The MENTOR Network2019-09-23
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Highly Toxic Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - SSC EMPLOYEE in Lawrence, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The MENTOR Network full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If they don’t destroy your sense of self worth and crush your soul, you will be able to survive almost anything.

    Cons

    There is no training program for new hires and whatever training is provided is limited and haphazard. There is a robust culture of finger pointing and scapegoating. New hires are frequently blamed for mistakes and made to feel stupid. The company promotes work/life balance but yet turns a blind eye to employees sitting at their desks in tears and forced to work when sick. The insurance benefits are horrendous... with unreasonably high deductibles and exorbitant premiums so employees are forced to get insurance on the open market. Even if they bring you in at a decent pay rate, be forewarned that there are NO raises or bonuses regardless what position you are in. The current staff will eagerly tell you that there haven’t been raises in YEARS. The organization was purchased by a private equity firm earlier this year and they are positioning to sell with anticipated staff reductions. The CEO and CFO have both recently resigned and the company if facing multiple lawsuits. Please do yourself a favor and steer clear of this place.

    Show More
    The MENTOR Network2019-09-21

    The MENTOR Network Response

    October 1, 2019Employee Experience Team

    We are sorry to hear that your experience with The MENTOR Network has not been a positive one. Our goal is to create a supportive and rewarding experience for all employees, from the caregivers who work directly with the people we serve to employees like you, who work behind the scenes to support them. That means making sure you have the training you need to be successful in your role. I hope you will consider speaking to your supervisor or a member of the human resources team about what additional training would help you better perform your job. Your supervisor can also provide insight on how team and individual performance is recognized and rewarded. While we do not have a formal annual wage increase program, there are a number of ways to receive a pay increase, including assuming new responsibilities or receiving a promotion. We recognize how expensive healthcare is for our employees. The MENTOR Network spends more on health care each year, and we are committed to providing employees with valuable benefits while containing costs. You will see several positive changes when it comes time to enroll in benefits for 2020. It’s clear from your comments that we have more work to do to educate employees about what the change in company ownership means for staff. Our CEO and CFO have chosen to retire after 25 and 20 years with the company, respectively, and our CEO will remain a member of our board of directors. The MENTOR Network’s new owners share our commitment to creating better lives for those we serve, and are already making investments that reflect that commitment. I hope you will share any additional feedback with your manager, human resources, or a member of our leadership team. We value the feedback, and are committed to continuously improving the experience we provide to our employees and to those we serve.

    Show Less
  10. "LVN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at The MENTOR Network part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nothing, don't waste time applying.

    Cons

    Fresno location, won't disclose which one. Awful employees to train you, make you feel like you're incompetent and stupid. Patients are extremely needy. Too much stress, not worth the headache.

    The MENTOR Network2019-09-23
Found 1048 reviews