The World Bank Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

The World Bank Reviews

Updated 16 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 821 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
74%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
The World Bank CEO Jim Yong Kim
Jim Yong Kim
306 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "No benefits for contractors (not even parking)(in 55 reviews)

  • "Lack of full time opportunities, job security(in 50 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The World Bank full-time

    Pros

    Competitive package , work life balance

    Cons

    Work load ,rotating shifts contracts

    The World Bank2019-04-30
  2. "I am satisfied with my job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Sydney
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The World Bank full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The World Bank is a good employer

    Cons

    I do not have any opinion

    Advice to Management

    I do not have any advice

    The World Bank2013-07-15
  3. "Intern World Bank"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Intern 

    I worked at The World Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Multi-cultural environment and large scale development projects

    Cons

    Internship work is sometimes too focused on research and isolated from the work of others in the team

    The World Bank2019-08-14
  4. "Great place to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The World Bank full-time

    Pros

    Work life balance, mission, good benefits

    Cons

    Unclear career path, narrowed view on skills, lack of rotation

    The World Bank2019-08-08
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Depending on who to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - JPO in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The World Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good salary and benefit. Colleagues from all over the world.

    Cons

    Opportunistic. Recognition and reputation inside the organization are the most important.

    Advice to Management

    Need strategic opportunities for young staff.

    The World Bank2019-08-05
  6. "Family friendly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Junior Professional Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at The World Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Family friendly and exposure travelling

    Cons

    Slow carreer path bureaucracy politics

    The World Bank2019-07-15
  7. "Lots of seminars and interesting talks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - STT in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The World Bank part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    So many opportunities to attend seminars on most up-to-date topics

    Cons

    Very limited ways to work permanently

    The World Bank2019-07-15
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great if you're staff - not so great if you're a consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Specialist in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at The World Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - As staff, we get excellent salaries, benefits packages and pension - The work, albeit challenging, is very interesting, rewarding and stimulating - You do truly get to work with the top global experts in their respective fields, and with people who genuinely care about what they do

    Cons

    Before becoming staff, I was a consultant and then an Extended Term Consultant for several years. Consultants (STCs) are the true shadow workforce of the World Bank, and are treated completely differently - they get paid significantly less, do not get any insurance coverage, benefits, sick leave or other 'perks' that most people consider to be basic hallmarks of a decent job. The STC gig can be fun if the flexible setup...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Finally recognize that the STC system is profoundly dysfunctional and doesn't work for the organization. It drives talented, motivated, energized people away, in search of better opportunities, and that does a huge disservice to the WB talent pool.

    The World Bank2019-07-10
  9. "New Priority: Look for Better Job opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Manager in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The World Bank full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    International community, interesting people, nice dining facility.

    Cons

    Long hours, work pressure to meet unrealistic deadlines, interpersonal and communication problems, HR not helpful, etc.

    Advice to Management

    Outsource HR department, better assessment practices necessary for managers, more benefits for UK nationals, etc.

    The World Bank2019-08-17
  10. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at The World Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Was okay - will come back to give different review if sites allows me to move on

    Cons

    No cons i could find

    Advice to Management

    WIll be reviewing them later on just a quick on

    The World Bank2019-07-22
Found 821 reviews