Theranos Reviews

Updated 13 May 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
51%
Recommend to a Friend
39%
Approve of CEO
Theranos Chief Executive Officer David Taylor
David Taylor
7 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free food, great colleagues, great location(in 19 reviews)

  • "Great colleagues, free meals, decent benefits(in 11 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "long hours, there is not much work life balance(in 15 reviews)

  • "work/life balance very skewed towards work(in 6 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Good

      13 May 2021 - Assistant Manager in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Ok but could be better

      Cons

      Nice and all the other thing

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      A disaster waiting to happen.

      30 Apr 2021 - Human Resources Generalist in San Jose, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Hard to find any other than some of the researchers work very hard.

      Cons

      There is little leadership just bosses. They have no idea how to run a successful business. Anybody who shows some initiative or questions why we do things the way we do is unfairly classed as a non team player and dismissed. Sonny has a very fixed mindset and does not want any employee to grow.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Fast Moving environment

      14 Jan 2021 - IT Supervisor in Palo Alto, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great group of highly motivated collegues

      Cons

      No work life balance and long hours

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Thoughts after three years...

      9 Oct 2012 - Automation in Palo Alto, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I guess I'm grouping pros and cons here, but I think the biggest thing to know about working at Theranos is that the management takes everyone's work extremely seriously, and there's very, very little room for error (at least compared to other places I've worked). With that, the assumption is that you're personally involved in succeeding...people either love this or they can't deal with it, (maybe don't understand it), but if you're looking to dive into your work, then you'll probably enjoy working here. If that's not what you're looking for, you're probably going to have a tough time doing anything well with how high the expectations are. This makes sense to me...can't really do anything successfully/quickly if you don't have this intensity. Oh...and if you're able to demonstrate your value they throw resources behind you (and income) with a lot of trust, which is pretty much an engineer's dream.

      Cons

      Like I said...they take you seriously, and they assume you take everything you do at work extremely seriously. That can be a lot of pressure for some people, especially when people join right after grad school. Some people I've worked with here who got laid off from Theranos said they would've liked to have known their performance was slipping, etc., but it seems the expectation is on employees to address these things directly or proactively...again, if that's not your style, you're probably best looking elsewhere.

      Continue reading
      87 people found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great pay

      18 Oct 2020 - Phlebotomist in Scottsdale, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great Pay great hours great benefits

      Cons

      Lied a lot about patients results

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Happy with this company and this job.

      5 May 2015 - Scientist in Palo Alto, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Mission driven company and the work environment reflects this in all respects. There is an energy about--interactions with every individual that you work with are focused, productive and friendly. The overall caliber of individuals is better than any other place I have worked at. Its probably due to their strict hiring policies. The work is very interesting. There is an openness that allows everyone to express their thoughts and ideas, and have a real impact on the product.

      Cons

      --food is free, but not always healthy and tasty. I think they should spend more on food or use the in-house kitchen to cook better and healthier food. --things are fast moving and sometimes there are rapid changes of plans. the middle managers should do a better job of explaining the rationale behind such changes to individuals in their teams.

      Continue reading
      84 people found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Technology that is TRULY IMPROVING people’s daily life

      2 Apr 2015 - Anonymous Employee in Newark, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Have been here just over a year and confident that there is no better place that I could have landed. Once in a lifetime opportunity to be part of bringing something to realization that will fundamentally change people’s daily lives in such an overwhelmingly positive way. Very gratifying feeling at the end of the day to be able to reflect on this impact, regardless of how difficult or challenging it might have been that day. A place that definitely rewards individual focus, dedication, and accomplishment while also embracing the idea that learning from failures is key to eventual success. Ability to contribute is only limited by the boundaries that individuals impose on themselves.

      Cons

      Or “Truths”: - If you are unable to work in a highly self-directed environment where you are counted upon to create clarity from ambiguity, you will not be successful at Theranos. - If you are uncomfortable collaborating with peers to solve challenging problems and don’t always lead with a strong conviction that the “impossible is possible”, you will not be successful at Theranos. - If you get frustrated in settings that require frequent decision-making and flexible plans to accomplish objectives, you will not be successful at Theranos.

      Continue reading
      74 people found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Limitless

      12 Oct 2012 - Anonymous Employee in Palo Alto, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Having spent my career with emerging healthcare companies, large and small, I genuinely believe Theranos to be the opportunity of a lifetime. The company has visionary leaders who demand individual contributions at all levels, from managers to entry level, and reward on merit, pretty ideal. Corporate culture attracts people who strive for success in all facets and enjoy the satisfaction that comes from challenging oneself and accomplishing goals. There's no question my colleagues and I consistently work hard, but it's that very drive and passion that inspired me to leave corporate comforts for the limitless excitement, energy and enjoyment I've come to know. The food is also really good/healthy and I've been able to lose 10 pounds since joining!

      Cons

      No gym on premises (although there's a basketball court). Hiring rapidly and can't remember everyone's name!

      Continue reading
      91 people found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great learning experience

      8 Oct 2012 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This is one of the most ambitious and innovative companies I've had the chance to work for. I unfortunately had to leave the company due to personal matters, but I wish I could have stayed to see what happens next. The company is really trying to make a difference in healthcare and from what I could see they have the ideas and people to make it happen. I learned an incredible amount and enjoyed working there a lot.

      Cons

      Not having enough space used was issue, but I left before they moved into the old Facebook building.

      Continue reading
      93 people found this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      . Theranos Inc. Palo Alto, CA

      8 Jul 2020 - Account Executive in Palo Alto, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Everyone was making good money

      Cons

      The companies out of business

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 136 Reviews

    Work at Theranos? Share Your Experiences

    Theranos logo
    or