Theranos Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Theranos Reviews

Updated 21 Apr 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 127 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
46%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Theranos CEO David Taylor
David Taylor
1 Ratings
Pros
  • "Pay, environment, free food, phones and computers(in 19 reviews)

  • "Great colleagues, free meals, decent benefits(in 11 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Horrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Theranos full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have no pros. Working here was awful.

    Cons

    Horrible CEO No transparency. Long hours No work life balance

    Theranos2019-04-21
  2. Helpful (7)

    "Senior reseach associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Theranos full-time

    Pros

    Great teams and flexible hours

    Cons

    Company is running with a lot of unhappy stress leaders.

    Theranos2018-08-23
  3. Helpful (8)

    "scientist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Theranos full-time

    Pros

    everything sounds good and lots of promises

    Cons

    reality is far from described

    Advice to Management

    not much comments

    Theranos2018-07-27
  4. Helpful (146)

    "False Promises..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Theranos full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      It was an ambitious and noble goal; true challenges but good freedom to learn and deliver sub-systems...good coworkers, culture and compensation.

      Cons

      The number one rule was keep your head down and do what you're told - don't talk to anyone else nor try to learn how the product is performing; little did we know this is because they didn't want anybody to know the challenges or failures that the product as a system was experiencing... Marketing and upper management was overly optimistic about the state of the system, but had no sense of the reality of the product;...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      You not only conned your investors, you conned us too; you had us believing in your mission and trusting your iron fist rule...You've ruined our career prospects and set us back 6 years. I hope you never have an opportunity to work in technology, or any industry that is remotely connected to human lives. You are best suited for making apps with no meaningful consequences to humanity...

      Theranos2018-05-20
    • Helpful (5)

      "high hopes but poor execution"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Theranos full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      good scope to learn, flexible timings

      Cons

      Poor Managment, long hours, bad execution, no direction

      Advice to Management

      Try to listen to SME

      Theranos2018-07-18
    • Helpful (5)

      "Wish They Last Longer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Staff Scientist in Newark, CA
      Negative Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Theranos full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great culture and environment. Lots of activities and projects. Smart people.

      Cons

      Lack of transparent communication. Moving too fast on multiple projects. Last-minute changes. Unrealistic time lines.

      Advice to Management

      No longer matters.

      Theranos2018-05-01
    • Helpful (1)

      "Raw End of the Deal"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - IT Specialist in Phoenix, AZ
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Theranos full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      They were good ppl with bad choices in the beginning but their intentions were pure

      Cons

      Bad choices in the beginning

      Theranos2018-03-20
    • Helpful (8)

      "Great tech company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Senior Test Engineer in Palo Alto, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Theranos full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      The ability to work on cutting edge tech

      Cons

      Sometimes the management is too distant from employees

      Advice to Management

      Focus, clarity

      Theranos2017-09-25
    • Helpful (2)

      "Get in, get out"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Theranos full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great pay and benefits, smart colleagues, free catered meals and food, great space to work, great mid-management

      Cons

      Impossible to move up in position, upper management is out of touch with employees

      Advice to Management

      Treat all employees with equal respect

      Theranos2017-09-28
    • Helpful (16)

      "Phlebotomist"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Theranos

      Pros

      Beautiful place to work. Free food. Great people.

      Cons

      Too many things hidden from employees. Company was struggling to figure out their many accusations and avoiding lawsuits.

      Theranos2017-08-30
    Found 127 reviews