Thermo Fisher Scientific Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Thermo Fisher Scientific Reviews

Updated Sep 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2912 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
63%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Thermo Fisher Scientific CEO Marc N. Casper
Marc N. Casper
1,201 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work - life balance can be improved(in 179 reviews)

  • "Blatant racist mentality for some people working here which makes you wonder if upper management is also or chooses to ignore it(in 86 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (8)

    "Somewhere you can truly develop a career, be developed, and gain international exposure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thermo Fisher Scientific full-time

    Pros

    I joined the company 9 years ago in temporary position, since then I've been made permanent, I've been promoted twice, I've attended numerous internal and external training courses, I've gained exposure and learned from senior leadership in the company, and I've had the opportunity to travel internationally. The company does cool stuff!

    Cons

    Sure - things get busy at times - but I'd rather be busy than bored at work!

    Thermo Fisher Scientific2018-10-04
  2. "Innovative and supportive environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Candidate Experience Coordinator in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thermo Fisher Scientific full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Supportive team, great training and development opportunities. Great workplace culture and friendly people across the business

    Cons

    None that come to mind

    Thermo Fisher Scientific2019-08-20
  3. "Great place to work! Amazing mission and passionate colleagues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thermo Fisher Scientific full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great work-life balance, amazing mission - focused on making the world healthier, cleaner and safer! Strong focus on diversity and inclusion and employee engagement.

    Cons

    Not too many cons, I feel like I can make an impact and have the ability to change the cons I may have!

    Advice to Management

    Continue to develop your talent and focus on building the best teams, culture and workplace to help support our customers

    Thermo Fisher Scientific2019-08-02
  4. "QA Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Thermo Fisher Scientific full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits - health and life insurance

    Cons

    non-competitive salary scheme, company culture not always inclusive. Managerial hierarchy is rampant

    Thermo Fisher Scientific2019-07-22
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Big corporation, your experience depends on your manager/division"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Thermo Fisher Scientific full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Thermo Fisher University Room to grow

    Cons

    Very slow to change things and a lot of restructuring

    Advice to Management

    Improve the culture

    Thermo Fisher Scientific2019-07-08
  6. "This place sucks the soul out of you"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Care in Scoresby
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Thermo Fisher Scientific full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Free fruit on a Monday

    Cons

    Toxic environment Low staff morale Management only look out for themselves

    Advice to Management

    Stop micro managing Listen to staff Start being pro active

    Thermo Fisher Scientific2019-06-04
  7. "Field Service Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Service Engineer in Adelaide
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Thermo Fisher Scientific full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Travel around the world, to expand ones skills throughout the company

    Cons

    Family time, last minute travel, pressure to become an expert overnight on equipment to identify issues with software flaws. Min 120days travel each year

    Advice to Management

    Expectations and pressure to deliver AOP's on frustrated customers. Management not knowing equipment flaws or allowing time for resolvements

    Thermo Fisher Scientific2019-04-22
  8. "Solid life sciences group"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Thermo Fisher Scientific full-time

    Pros

    Good resources available to achieve your objectives

    Cons

    Sometimes the overly corporatepolicies/strictness got in the way of aggressive business development

    Thermo Fisher Scientific2019-01-23
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Good, but has potential to be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Sydney
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Thermo Fisher Scientific full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Never a dull moment Great Colleagues

    Cons

    Does not deliver on value proposition, as too many in the organisation hide behind internal process, as opposed to driving an excellent customer experience. There is little work/life balance.

    Advice to Management

    Stop hiding behind the metrics. There is a shocking box ticking culture where if the internal process is being followed then it is assumed the job is done. Also, the is no follow through or direction given by middle management to ensure their teams are on the same page.

    Thermo Fisher Scientific2018-11-11
  10. "TMO"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thermo Fisher Scientific full-time

    Pros

    Strong leadership and vision, lots of job opportunities both in the region and globally. Growing rapidly across the company.

    Cons

    Very results oriented which may not suit some people, and the rapid growth creates a lot of change. Can be hard to keep up with it sometimes.

    Thermo Fisher Scientific2018-09-30
Found 2912 reviews