Thiess Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Thiess Engineer Reviews

Updated 3 Mar 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
80%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Thiess CEO Bruce Munro
Bruce Munro
2 Ratings
  1. "Engineering"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer 

    I have been working at Thiess full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great opportunities and options for development. Ability to move round geographically and throughout the business and greater Cimic Group. Work with you and your personal requirements. Great supportive culture and friendly colleagues.

    Cons

    Sites are quite focused on their own work and thus missing some opportunity to share learnings and greater team picture.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up site visits and team interactions.

    Thiess2018-10-10
  2. "Good salaries"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Perth, Western Australia
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Thiess full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Salaries at Thiess were very good. It was quite social in the city. On site, social life would depend on the project. Was very corporate at the end and they worked you pretty hard and you did a lot of overtime, even if the pay was good. A lot of dedicated people who has been there for a long time.

    Cons

    Long hours. Was very corporate at the end and they worked you pretty hard and you did a lot of overtime, even if the pay was good.

    Advice to Management

    Management were slow to move on issues of harassment or bullying.

    Thiess2019-03-04
  3. "Site Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Site Engineer in Brisbane
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Thiess for more than a year

    Pros

    Great project manager/ mentor, although I think I was lucky to have this

    Cons

    Very project specific - some bad teams out there in the company

    Advice to Management

    Talk to the Engineers

    Thiess2017-03-20
  4. "Good place for the start of your career but not the rest of it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Engineer in Brisbane
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Thiess full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great experience across a wide range of work. Management are very keen to work with their employees and help them build on their skills and knowledge of the work. So as a starting point in one's career, the Company provides excellent opportunities.

    Cons

    HR seem more focused on driving down wages and staff costs than they are on employee development. Even if management are very supportive of an employee getting promoted or deserving of a higher salary, HR will do everything in their power to prevent such changes. These issues result in much of their young talent leaving once they have built up their skills and hit the inevitable HR ceiling.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work training up good quality engineering talent for Australia. Whenever I see Thiess on someone's resume I know they are of a high standard.

    Thiess2016-08-10
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Falling apart"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Site Engineer in Brisbane
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Thiess full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great company benefits with fortnightly gatherings. Opportunity for growth within the company if projects are won. Flexible work hours.

    Cons

    Old fashioned boy club mentality. If you aren't in the boys club you won't be invited to social events or have opportunities for higher positions. Fell apart once Hochtief stripped down the company and released most of the long serving employees.

    Advice to Management

    You allowed the boys club management to choose who stayed and who went. You need to break up that group and hire new managers with fresh ideas to improve the company.

    Thiess2016-01-16
  6. "I worked as an undergraduate and I learnt a lot from the organisation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Undergraduate Engineer in Chinchilla
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Thiess for more than a year

    Pros

    People were great. Always helped out and there was always something new to learn for me as an undergraduate engineer

    Cons

    Mostly had to work away from home. Just the nature of the construction industry, it certainly isn't for everyone

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work.

    Thiess2015-05-06
  7. "Disappointing Finish"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mechanical Engineer in Brisbane
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Thiess full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Reasonable well paid Good IT support Some lovely people Reasonable flexible Good cafe

    Cons

    Boy's club management still prominent Lacking in diversity Poor staff retention Poor training Gloomy future Need to win more projects

    Advice to Management

    Long road ahead - industry is not looking good Retain as many skilled and experienced employees as possible

    Thiess2015-04-02
  8. "Thiess"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graduate Engineer in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Thiess full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Cooperative working environment, People work as a team, good graduate mentoring and training.

    Cons

    Long working hours. There are a lot of people in the company who provide bureaucratic roles but who actually provide very little benefit for the company.

    Advice to Management

    Allow people to get access to different roles

    Thiess2012-07-15
  9. "A great place that provide opportunities to be part of significant projects and allow career growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Student Engineer in Wonthaggi
    Recommends

    I have been working at Thiess

    Pros

    - Great work culture - Significant amount of work on hand - Opportunities to grow within the company - Several personal development programs

    Cons

    - There have been a fair few times when work gets delayed due to improper planning and/or double handling of tasks.

    Advice to Management

    - The leadership team at Thiess, I believe, is efficient. - I have been lead by a good leadership team that has listened to my needs in terms of career paths/growth, and allowed me to take on challenges and tasks to expand and develop my skill sets at this very early stage of my career.

    Thiess2012-04-27
  10. "Thiess has not been very supportive. You feel like a number in a business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Project Engineer in Brisbane
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Thiess

    Pros

    The pay is decent and competitive

    Cons

    You work long hours and have to move far to the good goods

    Advice to Management

    Should pay more attention to the development of their staff.

    Thiess2011-01-27
Found 13 reviews