Thiess Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Thiess Reviews

Updated 4 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 70 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
79%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Thiess CEO Bruce Munro
Bruce Munro
30 Ratings
  1. "I worked as an undergraduate and I learnt a lot from the organisation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Undergraduate Engineer in Chinchilla
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Thiess for more than a year

    Pros

    People were great. Always helped out and there was always something new to learn for me as an undergraduate engineer

    Cons

    Mostly had to work away from home. Just the nature of the construction industry, it certainly isn't for everyone

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work.

    Thiess2015-05-06
  2. "Disappointing Finish"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mechanical Engineer in Brisbane
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Thiess full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Reasonable well paid Good IT support Some lovely people Reasonable flexible Good cafe

    Cons

    Boy's club management still prominent Lacking in diversity Poor staff retention Poor training Gloomy future Need to win more projects

    Advice to Management

    Long road ahead - industry is not looking good Retain as many skilled and experienced employees as possible

    Thiess2015-04-02
  3. "Wonderful Place to learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Thiess full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Salary is good, nice work environment

    Cons

    Project based job. Have to relocate to survive

    Advice to Management

    Review staff retention policies

    Thiess2014-07-17
  4. "Satisfactory Work Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Planner in Brisbane
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thiess full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay is good. Senior Management is supportive. Allowed to express Opinions. Skill Recognition.

    Cons

    Need to improve on Project based Staff's training. Relocation for the Project. Staff retention post project completion.

    Advice to Management

    Staff training and retention policies needs to be reviewed based on performance of employee.

    Thiess2014-07-27
  5. "Worst company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Document Controller in Brisbane
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Thiess full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people on site- except the inner circle crew

    Cons

    Unorganized, and only place Iv been asked to do less work...

    Advice to Management

    Recognize the right people not the "in crowd" who get promotions even though they have no idea what they are doing..

    Thiess2014-04-06
  6. "Satisfactroy experience , enjoyed thoroughly the team culture and company values."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Environmental Advisor in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thiess full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A good employer who looks after the employees good team environment, great work life balance one of the best pays

    Cons

    Struggling under the current market condition, reputation under scrutiny particulalrly in VIC

    Advice to Management

    try all avenues to retain staff

    Thiess2013-08-27
  7. "Work hard and see rewards"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Specialist in Brisbane
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thiess full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - internal opportunities - remunerated for work completed - hard work rewarded

    Cons

    - long hours - core systems and processes still being developed

    Advice to Management

    Need to encourage more flexible work arrangements and promote diversity.

    Thiess2013-07-08
  8. "Excellent company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operator in Newcastle

    I worked at Thiess full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Company for moving up the ranks.

    Cons

    It's encouraged that workers particapate in O/T shifts, but at the end of the week it's worth it.

    Thiess2012-07-30
  9. "Thiess"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graduate Engineer in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Thiess full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Cooperative working environment, People work as a team, good graduate mentoring and training.

    Cons

    Long working hours. There are a lot of people in the company who provide bureaucratic roles but who actually provide very little benefit for the company.

    Advice to Management

    Allow people to get access to different roles

    Thiess2012-07-15
  10. "A great place that provide opportunities to be part of significant projects and allow career growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student Engineer in Wonthaggi
    Recommends

    I have been working at Thiess

    Pros

    - Great work culture - Significant amount of work on hand - Opportunities to grow within the company - Several personal development programs

    Cons

    - There have been a fair few times when work gets delayed due to improper planning and/or double handling of tasks.

    Advice to Management

    - The leadership team at Thiess, I believe, is efficient. - I have been lead by a good leadership team that has listened to my needs in terms of career paths/growth, and allowed me to take on challenges and tasks to expand and develop my skill sets at this very early stage of my career.

    Thiess2012-04-27
Found 70 reviews