Thomas Jefferson University Hospital Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Thomas Jefferson University Hospital Reviews

Updated 13 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 237 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
66%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Thomas Jefferson University Hospital CEO Stephen K. Klasko, M.D., M.B.A.
Stephen K. Klasko, M.D., M.B.A.
84 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "There is no room for growth in our department so it tends to get stale(in 7 reviews)

  • "Low pay, short staffed, little focus on RN satisfaction(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great pace to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Clinical Dietitian in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thomas Jefferson University Hospital full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    My department works very hard to achieve optimum patient care, great benefits and PTO accrual

    Cons

    No cons, great place to work!

    Thomas Jefferson University Hospital2019-08-05
  2. "Ok place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse - Operating Room in Philadelphia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Thomas Jefferson University Hospital full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Hourly rate with evening shift differential of $4/hr, 6 weeks ETO yearly for FT employee, specialties

    Cons

    Very poor management, no work/life balance, old facilities with a lot of broken equipment

    Thomas Jefferson University Hospital2019-08-14
  3. "For research it is not good learning place and not good training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Tech in Philadelphia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Thomas Jefferson University Hospital full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It is not good research area compare with U.penn and FCCC

    Cons

    It is not for research, it is for hospital, I agree it. it MAYBE(?) a good hospital, but not good for research. the mind is bound by people who do not understand scientific research, They just ask you do it but didn't share you how can do it! let's say, they told you at the expense of a mouse in addition to carbon dioxide, also be used to dislocate the cervical spine. They just show how do adult mice, but didn't show...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Not in its place, not in its politics

    Thomas Jefferson University Hospital2019-08-12
  4. "Honestly not the worst job I’ve had but definitely not the best."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Certified Medical Assistant in Philadelphia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Thomas Jefferson University Hospital full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay is just ok. I mean other places pay more for the same position.

    Cons

    The medical Assistant does more than the nurses and the MA gets paid 10xs less. Honestly not the worst job I’ve had but definitely not the best. They have nurses are there only to look pretty and compliment the doctors. The MA does all the dirty work and fetches the patients .all of them . All the nurses do is pre chart and give instructions after the visit .

    Advice to Management

    Do better. Make the nurses at least do the medication reconciliation.

    Thomas Jefferson University Hospital2019-07-16
  5. "Poor staffing, unsafe conditions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Philadelphia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Thomas Jefferson University Hospital full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    There are a lot of opportunities for seminars and learning

    Cons

    They have a very low tuition reimbursement, they treat RN's very poorly, little too no difference between a new nurse and a nurse who has been working there for 20+years

    Advice to Management

    Hire more CNA's, increase tuition reimbursement, increase pay rates

    Thomas Jefferson University Hospital2019-07-11
  6. "Not a bad place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Critical Care Technician 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thomas Jefferson University Hospital full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits, decent pay, lots of other opportunities

    Cons

    Staffing, rotating schedule uneven for days and nights

    Thomas Jefferson University Hospital2019-06-24
  7. "Evs manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - EVS Manager in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Thomas Jefferson University Hospital full-time

    Pros

    Staff not properly trained

    Cons

    No time to take break

    Advice to Management

    Better training

    Thomas Jefferson University Hospital2019-06-24
  8. "great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Thomas Jefferson University Hospital full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    great benefit with good location, surrounded by great professionals

    Cons

    no bad things about this place

    Thomas Jefferson University Hospital2019-06-10
  9. "It’s ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Dietary Aide 
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Thomas Jefferson University Hospital part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    My residents and some coworkers

    Cons

    I was only part time so i did a lot of filling in the full time employees

    Thomas Jefferson University Hospital2019-06-21
  10. "Heading in the right direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thomas Jefferson University Hospital part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    CEO is doing great things for the organization. Minimum wages raised to $15. Nurse wages finally got a significant much-needed bump to become competitive.

    Cons

    Needs some organization at mid-level to commit to shared vision. Some other aspects of compensation packages (tuition reimbursement, etc) need to catch up- barely puts a dent in current tuition costs.

    Thomas Jefferson University Hospital2019-05-30
Found 237 reviews