ThoughtWorks Reviews

Updated 5 Jun 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
68%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
ThoughtWorks President and CEO Guo Xiao
Guo Xiao
11 Ratings
  1. Helpful (12)

    "Cliquey, management has a lack of experience, not professional enough"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at ThoughtWorks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good collaborative space for technical people, good graduate program.

    Cons

    Management and recruitment lack professionalism, people skills, and knowledge in leadership or structure. Old fashioned, drawn out, opinionated processes that involve too many people to be effective. Too many bad attitudes, politics, negativity, and hiring like a cult (only people that "fit" rather than based on actual technical talent). Too politically correct to the point personalities are stifled and people become disillusioned.

    Continue reading
    ThoughtWorks2015-08-18
  2. "Friendly company with a fast, fast pace"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ThoughtWorks full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Working with many bright forward thinking people. You are free to set your own mark!

    Cons

    Can be lots pressure when working on the client's sites

    ThoughtWorks2015-04-03
  3. Helpful (11)

    "Its strengths are its weaknesses. Maybe it'll work out for you, but it didn't for me."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at ThoughtWorks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I always had confidence in our ability to deliver and quickly develop our client's trust. It's a real credit to the recruitment process, a conscious effort not to use 'key selection criteria' or put people into competency boxes. My colleagues and I never stopped learning or growing. There's a training allowance, a book allowance and plenty of opportunity to learn from others. The tech radar and other internal projects end up being educational as well. ThoughtWorks makes a concerted effort to create a sense of belonging amongst consultants, regular events, funded lunches, nice offices, training and many after-hours events provide an opportunity to get involved. Some will say cult-like but I didn't see it that way. There's a lot, but it felt optional and inclusive. An organisation that puts rubber to the road on social and economic justice issues. There are continuous stories of the positive impact that ThoughtWorkers are having in places less fortunate. Some great stories to tell from across the world. Marketing does a creative and professional job of putting it all together, the paid gigs and the social impact programs.

    Cons

    Having clients accuse the group of being arrogant. "ThoughtWorks asks us to be customer-centric but refuses to empathise with our own situation" was something I heard often. In fairness, they hire highly talented people, but some come with an extra dose of hubris that few appreciate. Despite an abundance of meetings to discuss and ideate the future of ThoughtWorks, the leadership group failed at articulating a common purpose or prioritised goals. The result was conflicting messages and little understanding of what was expected, let alone measures of success or the opportunity to change direction. There is very little bureaucracy which is good, but the vacuum has been filled with office politics. Take care, it wasn't always clear who was really in charge and whose interests their agenda served. Voice of the customer was completely absent. The business tolerates poor, often unprofessional, behaviour between employees and clients alike. It's not rife, but can be unpleasant to endure and disappointing to witness. After twenty years operating what seems to be the same model, I don't believe ThoughtWorks knows what it, or its customers want. Even worse, it may not care.

    Continue reading
    ThoughtWorks2014-10-27
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Awesome opportunities"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Consultant in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ThoughtWorks full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    ThoughtWorks is a company that really delivers on what it promises from a cultural perspective. Opportunities to lead are available from within your office, country or globally.

    Cons

    I have not yet met a senior consultant who has moved to ThoughtWorks to get a pay rise. The culture and opportunities generally exceed the payroll anyway.

    Continue reading
    ThoughtWorks2014-09-09
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Nice people and culture, pay ok"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ThoughtWorks full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It attracted a lot of nice people, and relatively without much office politics. Employees are smart, culture is very open and transparent, with some focus on good causes for the society, and did some nice projects.

    Cons

    Could be challenging for those who don't buy the company's culture and social focus. Pay for technical persons is ok but not very competitive for the talented consultants.

    Continue reading
    ThoughtWorks2014-07-27
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Great professional growth, but a lot of arrogance"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ThoughtWorks full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It's a great place to work. Some exciting projects, dedicated training budget and you get to work with some truly brilliant people. Has a mission and vision that staff actually believe in. Very flexible with re-locating to other offices and countries. While your career path is ambiguous, it allows you to transition to any role you want.

    Cons

    ThoughtWorks has a reputation for having arrogant staff, and it's true. A lot of ThoughtWorkers fail to appreciate why a client has wound up in their current state and speak down to them and try to re-architect everything. This arrogance occasionally shows towards other staff, with new hires being dismissed or belittled because it is perceived that their outside experience does not count. Expect to travel, even if you're in a major hub like Sydney. While most clients are good, we still work with clients who are not culturally aligned or technologically exciting, but pay the bills.

    Continue reading
    ThoughtWorks2014-03-09
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great Company to pick up and learn new tools and technologies"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior QA Consultant in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ThoughtWorks full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    - Freedom to try new things - Get to learn new tools and technologies - Work with talented and smart people - Great employee benefits

    Cons

    - Would have liked to be paid more - Travel can get hectic

    ThoughtWorks2013-01-28
  8. "Love it - I've had great opportunities, challenges and workmates"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ThoughtWorks full-time

    Pros

    - work with smart people who are actively engaged in their work and the world - lots of variety, different clients, different engagement types - good level of autonomy - great benefits including training, book budget, phone, internet - excellent opportunities for travel

    Cons

    - can ask a lot of you in terms of hours and energy - smart people, told they are smart, can be somewhat arrogant - can be easy to lose perspective of what life is like at other employers

    ThoughtWorks2012-10-01
  9. Helpful (2)

    "We love it here"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Business Analyst in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ThoughtWorks full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    We are all equals. I feel empowered, informed and cared for. I am left to do my job (consulting) in a way that makes sense to me. I get out there and am exposed to real life problems. I get the support I need to get stuff done. The people in our HQ are angels. They preform miracles on a daily basis to support all the crazy stuff we need to do for our clients.

    Cons

    It is hard work dealing with so many passionate and clever people. Some days I just want to sit by myself to take a breath. It is not perfect but by far the best place I've been at. ThoughtWorks expects a lot of me.

    Continue reading
    ThoughtWorks2012-08-10
  10. "Awesome people, Awesome Culture, Awesome management"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Tester in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ThoughtWorks full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people, Great Consultants, thought leaders, travelling

    Cons

    Way ahead of the IT market hence we are slowed down by the lack of maturity in IT field by other companies and consultancies

    Continue reading
    ThoughtWorks2012-08-06
Found 702 reviews