ThoughtWorks "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

ThoughtWorks Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Oct 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
ThoughtWorks CEO Guo Xiao
Guo Xiao
11 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Travel can be taxing to work life balance over time(in 44 reviews)

  • "uma empresa aberta, que escuta feedbacks e busca entender o que as pessoas est(in 33 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (3)

    "A great consultant company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Consultant in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ThoughtWorks full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - consultant has a lot of says on what they want to do - great work life balance - management care a lot about the consultants - working with smart people - agile powerhouse - never send you alone to a client

    Cons

    - no clear career progression - pay review with no clear structure - might require a lot of travel.. but i don't have to do one even after 3 years

    ThoughtWorks2017-03-15
  2. Helpful (19)

    "So much promise but so political"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at ThoughtWorks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Tries hard with ethics and Social impact programs are great. - Generous with employee events - Great professional experiences if you can get on the right projects - Great people to work with generally

    Cons

    - No work-life balance - Long hours are expected for extra-curricular work - Rampant politics & cliques

    Advice to Management

    Nurture your new hires as much as the old timers. Put a stop to the endless political nonsense, you're better than that.

    ThoughtWorks2016-11-02
  3. Helpful (6)

    "Great place to work, as long as you can keep up with the pace."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Graduate Developer in Sydney
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ThoughtWorks

    Pros

    Intelligent people, good and efficient processes. Salaries are reasonable and there is a good benefits package including a new work laptop, paid home internet access and snacks and drinks supplied in the office. Lots of travel involved if you want it. The more experience you have, the more you can move around with ThoughtWorks. However, if you're in high demand, you might be asked to travel more than you bargained... for. Most of the time though, resource management caters to the needs of those who want to stay in their home city or those who want to travel more. There is also an annual weekend away to a location in your home country with all offices in that region.

    Show More

    Cons

    Lots of people with strong opinions, which can be a good point as well. Although you can learn a lot from the bright minds at this company, sometimes you can feel overwhelmed by the fact that everyone has such a strong point on view on any such topic. There can be a lot of stubbornness as well. This can result in an arrogant workplace where your colleagues don't acknowledge that they have to work within the existing... frameworks before they can truly 'revolutionise IT.' The working hours are sustainable, although the job requires more than just your standard hours at work. Most people are also involved in lots of 'after hours' education and learning which means it can be difficult if you really want to maintain a good work/life balance.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep on doing the great job you are doing, inspiring others and pushing the IT Revolution. The internal emails you send to the whole company really make me feel like we are all part of a global team. I would, however, try to tone down the message given to ThoughtWorkers that we only do interesting work, or only Agile work. It makes current and new employees disillusioned everytime they have to roll onto a project... that doesn't live up to these expectations. No matter what you think, we actually do listen to what you have to say.

    Show More
    ThoughtWorks2008-07-06
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Its For The People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Hyderābād
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ThoughtWorks full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Do you want a work-life balance? This is the place

    Cons

    If you compare salary with other companies like SAP, Amazon, its way too less

    ThoughtWorks2019-08-21
  5. "Thoughtworks Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Manager in Pune
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ThoughtWorks full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good work life balance and perks.

    Cons

    Biased management. favourism is currently prevailing.

    Advice to Management

    dont talk about capabilities, just support your employees

    ThoughtWorks2019-08-14
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to explore different career paths"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Applications Developer in Gurgaon, Haryana
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ThoughtWorks full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    ThoughtWorks is a great company to explore yourself & try out different career paths. Very open environment to talk about your expectations & aspirations (Though you will get honest reality check as well which can potentially shake you). Great work life balance & control on your career.

    Cons

    ThoughtWorks is going through a change phase and exploring avenues to grow faster which may unsettle few things.

    Advice to Management

    Keep this culture going and beware of growth not diluting it.

    ThoughtWorks2019-05-14

    ThoughtWorks Response

    June 10, 2019ThoughtWorker

    Thank you for your review and feedback. You've touched upon a few important tenants of our culture - open, honest and timely feedback, transparency and openness and empowering each ThoughtWorker to own their career path. We wish you the best and will make sure we pass on your feedback to our leadership team. - Darshana

    Show Less
  7. Helpful (13)

    "Leadership needs to grow up beyond cheap politics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Gurgaon, Haryana
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at ThoughtWorks full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great learning environment both tech and culture. Client facing experience is good if that is your are looking for. Most of your colleagues would be nice and helpful. Work life balance is one of the best.

    Cons

    Few people trying to control the whole office and making it into dictator rule. Bootlicking is highly appreciated. Favouritism is becoming a prominent feature in the office. If you are not good at it, they will make sure either you become good in it or you leave the company. During your initial 6 months they will make you feel you are a complete idiot and whatever you know is completely worthless. Then they will... try to make you a service based puppet who knows only one thing, that is follow orders.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If you can then come out of your outdated mindset. Luring people with onsite of 2 weeks wont make an employee stay. Respect them and treat them with values that you write on your posters. And if cheap politics is all you want to do then contest an election and not ruin a brand that has high esteem in market.

    ThoughtWorks2019-05-09

    ThoughtWorks Response

    June 10, 2019ThoughtWorker

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We're glad to know that you found the work interesting and were able to learn and grow technically. It, however, sounds like you had a really frustrating experience, and I’m sorry you didn’t leave with a better impression of ThoughtWorks. We pride ourselves of an open and transparent culture and hence your feedback is important to us. Rest assured we have passed on your feedback to our leadership team. - Darshana

    Show Less
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Awesome place to work and Great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Applications Developer in Hyderābād
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ThoughtWorks full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Flat hierarchy - An open and friendly developer community - Amazing Travel opportunities - Opportunity to work with like minded people - Great work life balance

    Cons

    - Salary is average, but learning experience and opportunities beats the salary.

    ThoughtWorks2019-04-29

    ThoughtWorks Response

    June 11, 2019ThoughtWorker

    Thank you for your honest and balanced review about ThoughtWorks! - Darshana

  9. "Creative Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Business Analyst in Hyderābād
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ThoughtWorks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Ideas are given importance and you can openly share them with peers Nice projects in place to work with Work- life balance is good - Its purely on us to prioritise and plan our work , company is very flexible in accommodating the needs of employee. Gives the plat form to think through the career path and helps in fine tuning it . People are supportive , we need to be vocal for things which we need and want, if... they are really worth it company makes it happen

    Show More

    Cons

    Project can get very busy and demanding Self learning time can be challenging

    ThoughtWorks2019-04-25
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Awesome place to learn, grow and have fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Applications Developer in Hyderābād
    Recommends

    I have been working at ThoughtWorks full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I have been with ThoughtWorks for 2+ years now. -> A lot of people to reach out to for help or advice -> Work life balance -> Fun, along with work -> Events like Geek Night, lunch and learn etc. which help grow your knowledge -> Zero hierarchy -> Opportunity to work of variety of tech stacks -> You will drive your career path -> Awesome colleagues -> Diverse and inclusive... ->People encourage & guide you to reach the next level.

    Show More

    Cons

    -> A lot of food around, can make you fat. -> You need to wait for good opportunities, at times. (Luck based)

    ThoughtWorks2019-04-04
Found 36 reviews