Topshop Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Topshop Reviews

Updated 18 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
54%
Recommend to a Friend
43%
Approve of CEO
Topshop CEO Mary Homer
Mary Homer
258 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good discount / Discount on concessions(in 75 reviews)

  • "30% staff discount, during staff appreciation periods you could get up to 20% off marked down items(in 72 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours and over time was compulsory for some workers(in 37 reviews)

  • "Management did not seem to like new part-time staff(in 26 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Strong support system"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Advisor in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Topshop full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic management, strong support system, fun and enjoyable, great staff discount

    Cons

    Minimum wage, busy environment, sometimes under staffed

    Topshop2017-06-21
  2. "Working here keeps you ahead of the trend game."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant 

    I worked at Topshop part-time

    Pros

    A great way to get your foot into the fashion industry by getting through the retail front. Plenty of friends were made. Shifts and work load weren't too strenuous. Flexible if time was needed to be taken off.

    Cons

    Christmas and holiday periods were a nightmare.

    Topshop2019-10-10
  3. "Worst manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Topshop part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good casual rate for uni students Free to wear any style/brand of clothing

    Cons

    Some managers and and team leaders can be very b1tchy and bullying

    Advice to Management

    Management staff needs training for right behaviour

    Topshop2019-09-09
  4. "Good place to work but fast paced"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate 

    I worked at Topshop full-time

    Pros

    great people to work with and great discount

    Cons

    management not very supportive at times

    Topshop2019-07-26
  5. "Fine"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales 

    I worked at Topshop part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Most people made for a fun atmosphere

    Cons

    - Poor and stand-off management from some

    Topshop2019-08-05
  6. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Casual Sales Associate 
    Recommends

    I worked at Topshop part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice people, fair shifts, good training

    Cons

    Treated like a child at times

    Topshop2019-07-08
  7. "Great team - not right for aus"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Topshop full-time

    Pros

    Topshop was great in that we were able to work to fun initiatives with a really fun team!

    Cons

    I was a sales assistant but the issue with the company was that we were sent the worst stock- wasn't considered for our city, and any direction came from general managers and not from head office. We made up all our own competitions because we weren't given anything from the higher ups

    Topshop2019-04-17
  8. "Terrible Managers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Social Media Manager in Sydney

    I worked at Topshop part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice product, opportunities to move upward in the company.

    Cons

    Managers fostered an environment of bullying. Everything was about 'making the sale' instead of making customers feel welcomed and comfortable when in store and using our online platforms.

    Advice to Management

    Take employee complaints of bullying seriously. Make sure upper management are treating people with respect and kindness.

    Topshop2019-04-26
  9. "Worked for half a year"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Topshop part-time

    Pros

    Decent pay Sociable team 20-30% discounts Lively work environment

    Cons

    Management is hit or miss

    Topshop2019-04-14
  10. "Amazing team, but operational difficulties"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Assistant in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Topshop part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Colleagues who became lifelong friends, fast-paced environment, opportunity to work across multiple departments, quality product

    Cons

    Disorganised operational structure, change of management upwards of 5 times in 3 year period, inconsistent casual shift allocation, issues with shifts outside of availability, lack of management support on the shop floor, physically exhausting, lack of training

    Advice to Management

    Create consistent training program and improve simple operations such as availability and rosters. Listen to staff feedback and roster in response to busyness.

    Topshop2019-03-07
Found 979 reviews