TranscribeMe Transcriber Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

TranscribeMe Transcriber Reviews

Updated 16 Apr 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 28 reviews

2.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
36%
Recommend to a Friend
47%
Approve of CEO
Alexei Dunayev
11 Ratings
  1. "It's not worth the effort you put in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Transcriber 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at TranscribeMe for less than a year

    Pros

    It might be okay if you get in. I doubt it though,

    Cons

    - it takes longer than 3 hours to actually do the exam. - the clips they give you are very low quality - almost impossible to get 100 per cent on the audio section of the exam. 97 per cent apparently isn't good enough (pathetic) - I reiterate because this is important: the work you put in isn't worth the money you would get.

    Advice to Management

    Have more leeway for the exam questions. Your exam is whack.

    TranscribeMe2019-04-16
  2. "Terrible Website"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Transcriber 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at TranscribeMe for more than a year

    Pros

    There literally are none, it's a terrible company.

    Cons

    Completely impossible to pass their multiple choice test.

    Advice to Management

    Rethink your entrance exam because it has absolutely nothing to do with having a good level of english but rather with your absolutely inflexible and uptight multiple choice hellish questions.

    TranscribeMe2019-04-16
  3. Helpful (17)

    "Qualification exam is completely bogus"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Transcriber in Cleveland, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at TranscribeMe part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Based off the quality and cohesiveness of the qualification exam, I don't think many exist.

    Cons

    Well for starters, the exam interface was very basic. Some of the grammar questions were kind of gray, meaning the right or wrong answer could be disputed. Also, the exam fails you even if you score a 100 on everything except for ONE SINGLE QUESTION. It would've been nice to know that before wasting an hour and a half of my time on this exam.

    Advice to Management

    Please make your qualification exam somewhat doable. Also, make sure the applicants are aware of what's asked of them, instead of them blindly going into the exam.

    TranscribeMe2019-02-16
  4. "Loving It!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Transcriber in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TranscribeMe for less than a year

    Pros

    The pros are that I get to work when I want to. I'm never assigned files that I don't want to work on. I get to pick and choose the quality of audio and the length of audio by either accepting or rejecting it in my queue. So I'm never "stuck" with an excessively long audio nor a hard-to-understand audio if I don't want it.

    Cons

    The pay is not the greatest at first. But if you do your best and your work is very good, you'll be given many other opportunities within TranscribeMe to earn even more responsibility and money.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work. Your business model is refreshing and exciting!

    TranscribeMe2018-07-16
  5. "Flexible hours, friendly coworkers, but somewhat low pay."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Transcriber 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at TranscribeMe for less than a year

    Pros

    You can work whatever hours you want (provided there is work to do), room to grow in the company and make more money as you put more into it. The group on the internal social media is a lot of fun and very helpful. You can do as much or as little as you want.

    Cons

    The work pays per audio hour, which translates to a low hourly rate. If you want to get much out of it you need to invest a bit of time in improving your skills and getting on special teams.

    TranscribeMe2018-06-19
  6. Helpful (30)

    "Fabulous Work from Home Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Transcriber 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TranscribeMe part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I'm a stay-at-home parent, and this job is absolutely perfect for me. I get to put my copyediting skills and writing degree to use, and the hours are completely flexible. The admins offer so much positive support and feedback, and I have been able to advance quickly to a position of better pay and wider opportunities. I adore working here. If you're a grammar nerd like me, this is the perfect way to make some side money.

    Cons

    It's true that there are sometimes lulls in available work during the summer months and over the weekends. However, since I advanced to special teams, that has rarely been a problem for me. It does start slowly as you begin to learn the ropes. Since you are paid for audio hour and not working hour, this has been discouraging to some newbies. I found that the more you work, the faster and more accurate you become, and...

    Show More
    TranscribeMe2017-10-12
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Transcriber"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Transcriber 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at TranscribeMe for less than a year

    Pros

    The pros are that you can work at home, the schedule is flexible and it increases your skills as a typist. You are not obligated to transcribe. You can transcribe all day or you can hop in whenever you are ready to make money. It's really easy work.

    Cons

    The workload isn't always steady. It comes and goes. Some days you can be transcribing one audio right after the other. Then there are days when you will maybe get one or two. The work is easy but very tedious. I wouldn't recommend this job if you are looking to make a lot of money and quit your day job. It's more about supplementing your income. Never hurts to make extra cash. Another downfall is that it takes a while...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get your QA team to work faster at reviewing our work. It's a little annoying when you are trying to reach your monetary goals and see that your work still hasn't been reviewed.

    TranscribeMe2017-12-13
  8. Helpful (3)

    "A review of TranscribeMe"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Transcriber 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TranscribeMe for more than a year

    Pros

    - Work at your own schedule. - Friendly staff who are always there to support you and encourage your growth.

    Cons

    - Work is not always available - Pay could be better, especially for difficult audio.

    TranscribeMe2017-11-28
  9. Helpful (7)

    "Wages are a joke"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Transcriber 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at TranscribeMe

    Pros

    It was easy to get started (except for the test, which was very hard), but the insultingly low pay makes this absolutely not worth it.

    Cons

    This is a sweatshop "job" (more like volunteer position). I don't understand where all the positive reviews are coming from. It is hard, time-consuming work that people should be adequately compensated for (anything approaching minimum wage would be a good start). You will do hours of work and see no pay (they require you to accumulate $20 in your account before they pay you; I worked probably 5-10 hours and didn't even...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get real. Pay your employees a decent wage for their services. Please stop deceiving people, acting like a legitimate company when you are not.

    TranscribeMe2017-12-05
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Great opportunity to make extra money."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Transcriber in Stockton, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at TranscribeMe part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    My overall experience was that they are very welcoming and they put great effort into communicating with employees in different platforms. It’s not difficult work, but it does take effort on your part to learn their guidelines. Work can be slow, especially when you start, but once you put in the hours and effort, they do take notice and put you in different projects which opens up more work. You work when you want and...

    Show More

    Cons

    The pay is not great but it’s a legitimate company. How much you make depends on what you put in. If you pay attention to detail and are a fast typist it’s not a bad deal.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    TranscribeMe2017-10-12
Found 28 reviews