TransferWise Reviews

Updated 29 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.6
89%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
TransferWise CEO Kristo Käärman
Kristo Käärman
252 Ratings
Pros
  • "Fast paced work environment teaches skills that may otherwise take much longer(in 51 reviews)

  • "Great people that you get to work with(in 22 reviews)

Cons
  • "Autonomous teams means that often you need to "lobby" with other teams to get things done(in 30 reviews)

  • "Cross-team efforts are not so easy to coordinate as all teams are autonomous(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great company with great oportunities to grow within the company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at TransferWise

    Pros

    Young Start-up Good environment Nice colleagues

    Cons

    Decision making is not shared

    TransferWise2018-10-15
  2. "Great company who hired a middle aged guy like me."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Agent in Budapest
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A great company with a clear mission that is trying to change the world. Decent salary, good benefit, great team. Very open and transparent. You do have to buy into the goal of TransferWise. They have made WFH during the recent crisis very easy despite the difficulties. Open attitude and very good support for personal development and growth within the company. Just won office of the year in Hungary. Great training about products and services

    Cons

    Fast paced environment, lots of changes to keep up with but it is manageable. Learning curve is steep. Have to work variable shifts.

    TransferWise2020-05-28
  3. "Living my best life!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Support Associate in Tallinn
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people, great salary, understanding leads, wonderful work ethic, pizza Thursdays!

    Cons

    Stressful at times A bit hectic Information heavy.

    TransferWise2020-05-26
  4. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Compliance in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Lots of passionate and intelligent people - Diverse and inclusive environment (and actively trying to be better)

    Cons

    - Flat structure can mean communication is at times hindered

    TransferWise2020-05-21
  5. "Best job I ever had"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Compliance Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Customer-focused and solution oriented! Hiring and management is consistent with the company culture they advertise. Stock options is also a great motivator

    Cons

    Things change fast, constant check the facts because yesterday's truth is no more.

    TransferWise2020-05-18
  6. "Overall good company and culture but could be a lot better."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Support Specialist in Tallinn
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at TransferWise full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I worked at Transferwise full-time for more than a year. Lots of nice people, bossy people too. We had individual responsibility and great autonomy to get things done! Shifts were ok, good balance between morning/evening/night schedules.

    Cons

    Crazy fast environment with constant changes that people need to keep up. Not so remote anymore. I saw people getting promoted because of friendships inside the company. There’s a lot more like this behind the curtain. Not so much transparency as they claim to have as a company.

    TransferWise2020-05-29
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great in the beginning but..."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Support Associate in Tampa, FL
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of PTO Great insurance Fun people

    Cons

    Micro-management Just another call center job Too much emphasis on numbers not results

    Continue reading
    TransferWise2020-05-27
  8. "My wonderful team"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - KYC Agent 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time

    Pros

    TransferWise provides staff with a very conducive work environment where team work excels. As an employee, you have the opportunity to grow and develop yourself while ensuring customers satisfaction. For me, TransferWise is the best place to be as i have been able to expand my network meeting very amazing people that have added value to my life.

    Cons

    There are no downsides for me.

    TransferWise2020-05-13
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Please increase salary overall"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Support in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at TransferWise full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    PTO, STOCKS, Medical are amazing.... But unfortunately they don't pay bills

    Cons

    You start at 14/ hour hard to believe but is true... after tax and 401k + medical goes to 10....

    Continue reading
    TransferWise2020-05-25
  10. "A Special Place to Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Support in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work, very supportive, everyone is willing to help out when you need help.

    Cons

    Pay, but buoyed by advancement opportunity if you work hard.

    TransferWise2020-05-12
Found 427 reviews